Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment· [2024] KEELC 7012 (KLR)

Mwasima Mbuwa Welfare Association v Teita Estate Sisal Limited & 8 others (Land Case Petition E004 of 2024) (Environment and Land) [2024] KEELC 7012 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court of Kenya
23 October 2024
11,749 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~47 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The court ruled Teita Estate legally owns the disputed Taita Taveta land because the community failed to prove it qualified as community land.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Mwasima Mbuwa Welfare Association, a society registered under the Societies Act claiming to represent the Dawida/Taita community of Mwatate, Taita Taveta County, petitioned the Environment and Land Court at Voi seeking declarations that seven parcels of land (L.R. Nos 3880/5, 3880/3, 3880/4/R, 6924, 11378, 3881 and 9487) vest in it as community land, a permanent injunction against Teita Estate Limited's dealings with the parcels, certiorari to quash the estate's titles, mandamus compelling State respondents to implement an allegedly Parliament-endorsed survey report, and exemplary damages. The 1st Respondent traced an unbroken chain of title from grants to Sir Charles Sydney Goldman through Teita Concessions Limited, Teita Sisal Estates Limited and T & T Sisal Company Limited to itself, relying on a presidential exemption from Land Control Act requirements in 1973. The County Government, the survey and lands officials, and the National Assembly all opposed the petition, contending the parliamentary recommendations had been implemented and that the Nduku Investigation Report relied on by the Petitioner had been expunged as erroneously included. The court framed five issues: jurisdiction under constitutional avoidance, whether the parcels are community land, ownership, alleged rights violations, and entitlement to remedies. It held the petition was properly before the court, but the Petitioner produced no evidence that the parcels qualify as community land under Article 63 and the Community Land Act; the 1st Respondent proved lawful acquisition and bona fide ownership; the parliamentary and survey recommendations had been implemented; and no constitutional violation was established. The Amended Petition dated 10th June 2024 was dismissed with each party bearing its own costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Doctrine of constitutional avoidance / jurisdiction

Holding

The petition was properly before the court notwithstanding the constitutional avoidance objection

Reasoning

The court accepted that constitutional petitions must be pleaded with particularity and must raise constitutional questions flowing from the Constitution, but after perusing the entire petition, it was satisfied the petition was properly before the court. Whether it would succeed was a separate question.

p. 18
02

Whether the suit properties are community land

Holding

The Petitioner failed to prove the parcels qualify as community land under Article 63 and the Community Land Act

Reasoning

Article 63(2) defines community land and Sections 5, 7 and 13 of the Community Land Act prescribe recognition, mapping, registration and proof of communal ownership based on customary use. The Petitioner adduced no evidence meeting these requirements; encroachment by members does not convert private land into community land.

p. 19
03

Registered and beneficial ownership of the suit properties

Holding

The 1st Respondent is the bona fide and legal owner of the suit parcels

Reasoning

The court traced the root of title from the original grants to Sir Charles Sydney Goldman through transfers to Teita Concessions, Teita Sisal Estates, T & T Sisal Company and ultimately the 1st Respondent, including the presidential exemption under Section 24 of the Land Control Act. The chain was unbroken and lawful.

p. 21
04

Alleged violation of constitutional rights

Holding

No constitutional violation by any Respondent was established

Reasoning

Evidence showed the Parliamentary Committee and joint survey recommendations had been implemented - land excised for Singila Majengo Settled Scheme, Mwandoto Primary School excision completed, and public roads in undisrupted use. The Nduku Investigation Report, on which the Petition was founded, had been expunged and could not be considered. The Petitioner adduced no controverting evidence.

p. 22
05

Entitlement to remedies

Holding

The Petitioner, having failed to prove violations, was not entitled to any of the reliefs sought

Reasoning

Reliefs in a constitutional petition follow from proved violations. Since the Petitioner failed to discharge the burden of proof to the required standard and produced no cogent evidence of infringement, none of the eleven prayers in the Amended Petition could be granted.

p. 22

Legal principles established

#
  • A party alleging ownership of community land must adduce evidence demonstrating the land qualifies as community land under Article 63 of the Constitution and Sections 5, 7 and 13 of the Community Land Act
  • A registered title is only to be upheld where it can properly trace its root without a break in the chain
  • He who alleges must prove - the burden of proof rests on the party asserting the claim (Section 107(1)(2) of the Evidence Act)
  • A constitutional petition must be pleaded with specificity, clarity and particularity

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Amended Petition dated 10th June 2024 is dismissed
  2. 2.Each party to bear own costs

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Constitution of KenyaArticles 3(1), 10, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 258, 260, 27, 39, 40, 42, 50, 53, 62(2), 63, 66(2), 95, 174(d)-(g)
  • Societies Act Cap 108 Laws of KenyaNot specified
  • Community Land Act, 2016Sections 2, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 13
  • Environment and Land Court Act 19 of 2021Sections 13(2), 13(2)(d) and 13(7)
  • Land Control ActSection 24
  • Evidence ActSections 107(1)(2)
  • Constitution of Kenya (Protection of Fundamental Rights and Freedoms) Practice and Procedure Rules 2013Not specified
  • Community Land Regulations of 2017Regulations 13 and 26
  • National Assembly Standing OrdersStanding Orders 209 and 216(1) and (5)
  • Registration of Title Ordinance (Chapter 281) (Now Repealed)Not specified
  • Native Lands Trust Ordinance (Chapter 100) (Now Repealed)Not specified
  • Kenya Gazette Supplement Number 7 Volume LXXV (Volume 75) Number 7 of 9th February 1973 Legal Notice Number 7Presidential exemption under Section 24 of the Land Control Act

Cases cited (30)

  • Salomon =Versus= Solomon & Company Ltd
    [1897] AC 22
  • Root Capital Incorporated =Versus= Tekangu Farres Cooperative Society Ltd & Another
    [2016] eKLR
  • Emmanuel Nyongesa & 34 Others =Versus= County Government of Trans Nzoia
    (2021) eKLR
  • Communications Commission of Kenya & 5 Others =Versus= Media Services Limited & 5 Others
    (2014) eKLR
  • Speaker of the National =Versus= A.G & 3 Others
    (2013) eKLR
  • Centre for Rights Education and Awareness (CREAW) & 7 Others =Versus= A. G
    (2011) eKLR
  • Embakasi Properties Limited & Another =Versus= Commissioner of Lands & Another
    (2019) eKLR
  • Muiruri =Versus= Kimemia
    (2002) 2 KLR 677
  • Munya Maina =Versus= Hiram Gathika Maina
    (2013) eKLR
  • Cheub Adan Ali & 3 Others =Versus= Community Land Registrar Northern Eastern Region – Mandera & 2 Others
    (2022) eKLR
  • Chongeiywo & 10 Others (suing as representatives of the Ndorobo/Ogiek Community of Chepkitale, Mt. Elgon) =Versus= Attorney General & 4 Others; Kenya National Commission on Human Rights (Amicus Curia)
    Environment & Land Petition 1 of 2017 (2022) KEELC 13783 (KLR)
  • Dr. Joseph N. K. Ng'ok =Versus= Justice Moyo Ole Kaiwa & 2 Others
    (1997) eKLR
  • Caroget Investment Limited =Versus= Aster Holdings Limited & 4 Others
    (2019) eKLR
  • Moya Drift Form Ltd =Versus= Theuri
    (1973) EA 114
  • Park View Shopping Arcade =Versus= Kangethe & 2 Others
    (KLR) (E & L) 592
  • Federation of Women Lawyers (FIDA KENYA) & 4 Others =Versus= The A. G & 2 Others
    (2016) eKLR
  • Stephen Men Kasio & 14 Others =Versus Kadong Ranch Limited & Others
    (2015) eKLR
  • County Government of Taita Taveta =Versus= Isangaiwich Group Ranch & 3 Others
    (2021) eKLR
  • Speaker of the Senate & another =Versus A. G & 4 Others
    (2013) eKLR
  • Annarita Karimi Njeru vs. Republic
    (1979) eKLR
  • Mumo Matemu vs Trusted Society of Human Rights Alliance
    (2013) eKLR
  • Communication Commission of Kenya vs Royal Media Services & others
    (2014) eKLR
  • Kenya Medical Practitioners Pharmacists and Dentists Union vs University of Nairobi & another
    (2021) eKLR
  • Thort vs Holdsworth
    (1876) 3 CHD 637
  • Nasra Ibrahim Ibren vs IEBC & others
    (2018) eKLR
  • Haki Ziman Abdul Abdulkarim vs Arrow Motors E.A Ltd & another
    (2017) eKLR
  • Fredrick & others vs MEC for Education and Training East Cape and others
    9200 23 L.J 81
  • Turkana County Government & others vs A.G. & others
    (2016) eKLR
  • Hubert L. Martin & 2 Others vs Margaret J. Kamar & 5 Others
    [2016] eKLR
  • Milankumar Shah & 2 others v The City Council of Nairobi & another
    Nairobi High Court Civil Suit No. 1024 of 2005 (O.S)
Jurisdiction invoked
Articles 19, 20, 21, 22, 23 of the Constitution as read with the Constitution of Kenya (Protection of Fundamental Rights and Freedoms) Practice and Procedure Rules 2013

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mwasima Mbuwa Welfare Association v Teita Estate Sisal Limited & 8 others (Land Case Petition E004 of 2024)  (Environment and Land) [2024] KEELC 7012 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/7012/eng@2024-10-23

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.