Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in judgment (plaint filed 23 May 2014)· [2024] KEELC 5791 (KLR)

Okemwa v Kenya Agricultural and Livestock Research Organisation & another (Environment & Land Case 204 of 2014) [2024] KEELC 5791 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
29 July 2024
5,728 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~23 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, registered proprietor of Kisii Municipality/Block IV/2, sued for removal of a caution lodged by the defendant (KARI) claiming a licencee interest, plus injunctions and damages. The defendant filed a defence and counterclaim against the plaintiff and the Land Registrar, Kisii, alleging the land was public research land alienated fraudulently and unprocedurally, and sought declarations of invalidity, revocation of the plaintiff's Certificate of Lease, rectification of the register and a permanent injunction. The plaintiff testified that she bought the land from Mary Sagini in 2007, was issued a Certificate of Lease, and discovered the caution only in 2011. The defendant called a surveyor, who lacked the relevant survey file and PDP, and Dr. Magenya, who asserted KARI was allocated 100 hectares in 1963 but conceded he had no evidence placing the 2-acre parcel within that allocation or proving fraud. The court, applying Section 26 of the Land Registration Act, held that a certificate of title is prima facie evidence of indefeasible ownership, challengeable only on proof of fraud or illegal, unprocedural or corrupt acquisition, a heavy burden resting on the challenger. The court found the defendant's evidence - general circulars, unexplained electricity bills, a debit note, a visitor's book and a faint development plan - wholly failed to connect the suit land to KARI's alleged allocation or to impeach the title. The counterclaim was dismissed, the caution was ordered removed, the defendant was permanently restrained from interfering with the plaintiff's ownership, but general damages were refused for want of proof. The plaintiff was awarded costs of both the suit and counterclaim.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether KARI proved that the plaintiff's title falls within its alleged 100-hectare allocation

Holding

The defendant failed to adduce any evidence, oral or documentary, showing the extent of its alleged 100 hectares or that the suit land falls within it

Reasoning

Neither DW1 (the surveyor) nor DW2 (Dr. Magenya) produced survey records, a Part Development Plan, or any document delineating the 100 hectares allegedly allocated in 1963. DW2 conceded he had nothing showing the 2-acre parcel fell within the 100 hectares. The defendant's exhibits were general letters and unexplained bills with no bearing on the plaintiff's title.

p. 8
02

Whether the plaintiff's title could be impeached for fraud or illegality

Holding

No - the defendant failed to discharge the heavy burden of proving fraud or irregular acquisition, so the title under Section 26 of the Land Registration Act must be upheld

Reasoning

Fraud must be specifically pleaded and distinctly proved to a heightened standard. The defendant pleaded fraud but led no evidence particularising impropriety in the plaintiff's title. Its exhibits - general circulars, unexplained electricity bills, a debit note, a visitor's book and a faint development plan - had no connection to the plaintiff's title or its alleged fraudulent creation.

p. 9
03

Whether the defendant could maintain a caution claiming a licencee interest

Holding

No - without demonstrating any interest in the plaintiff's title, the defendant cannot maintain the caution, which must be removed

Reasoning

The caution claimed only a licencee interest without identifying the licensor. Having failed to establish any interest in the suit land, the defendant had no basis for the caution. The court ordered its removal and a permanent injunction against interference with the plaintiff's ownership.

p. 9

Legal principles established

#
  • A certificate of title is prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership and may only be challenged on fraud or misrepresentation to which the proprietor is party, or where acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme
  • The burden of proving that a title is bad lies on the person seeking its nullification, and fraud must be specifically pleaded and distinctly proved
  • Fraud must be proved to a standard above a balance of probabilities though not beyond reasonable doubt

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The defendant's counterclaim is dismissed with costs
  2. 2.The Land Registrar is ordered to remove the caution lodged by the defendant over the suit land
  3. 3.The defendant is permanently restrained from interfering with the plaintiff's ownership of the suit land
  4. 4.General damages refused; no award made
  5. 5.The plaintiff to have the costs of both the suit and the counterclaim

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Registration ActSection 26(1)(a) and (b)
  • Government Land Actreferred to in the counterclaim pleadings

Cases cited (6)

  • Nizar Virani t/a Kisumu Beach Resort v Phoenix East Africa Assurance Company Limited
    (2004) 2 KLR 269
  • Vijay Morjaria v Nansingh Madhusingh Darbar & another
    [2000] eKLR
  • Davy v Garret
    (1973) 7 Ch. 473
  • Christopher Ndaru Kagina v Esther Mbandi Kagina & another
    [2016] eKLR
  • Central Bank of Kenya Ltd v Trust Bank Ltd & 4 others
  • Central Kenya Ltd v Trust Bank Limited & 4 others
    [1996] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court under the Environment and Land Court Act over land title and registration disputes

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Okemwa v Kenya Agricultural and Livestock Research Organisation & another (Environment & Land Case 204 of 2014) [2024] KEELC 5791 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in judgment (plaint filed 23 May 2014). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/5791/eng@2024-07-29

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.