Gituma v Kamangara (Environment and Land Appeal E006 of 2023) [2024] KEELC 5709 (KLR)
The bottom line
#Kenya's Environment and Land Court dismissed a landowner's appeal because he could not strictly prove fraud against his neighbour's registered title, which stands unless fraud is proven.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Whether the appellant proved the fraud pleaded in his counterclaim
The appellant failed to prove fraud; it is not permissible to leave fraud to be inferred from the facts, and the counterclaim was rightly dismissed.
The appellant pleaded particulars of fraud against the respondent arising from the adjudication and registration of parcel 1236. The court restated the rule that fraud must be specifically pleaded and distinctly proved to a standard higher than a balance of probabilities, citing Kuria Kiarie and Kinyanjui Kamau. The appellant's evidence was that the respondent 'stole' his land during adjudication, and he did not call the adjudication officers. No water-tight evidence was laid to establish the particulars, and the appellant merely invited the court to infer fraud from the facts, which is impermissible. The counterclaim therefore failed.
Whether the respondent proved his case on the evidence tendered
Yes. The respondent's certificate of title was prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership, unimpeached by any proof of fraud, and the trial court was justified in granting eviction and permanent injunction.
The respondent produced a title deed, green card, sketch map, official search and chief's letter, and testified that he bought the land from the appellant before adjudication, paying goats and cash, after which the parcel was registered to him upon adjudication. A court-ordered site visit by the Land Registrar and Sub County Surveyor confirmed both parcels exist distinctly and that parcel 1236 is owned by the respondent; that report was unchallenged. Applying Article 40(1) of the Constitution and Sections 24, 25 and 26 of the Land Registration Act, the court held the title indefeasible absent proved fraud.
Whether the trial court's judgment should be disturbed on appeal
No. The trial magistrate's findings were well founded and the appeal was dismissed.
As a first appeal, the court re-evaluated the evidence, including the appellant's testimony, his sole witness's evidence (which did not speak to the adjudication outcome), the respondent's evidence and that of PW2, and the unchallenged registrar and surveyor's report. The court was satisfied the trial magistrate's findings were justified and found no basis to interfere.
Legal principles established
#- Allegations of fraud must be specifically pleaded, particularised and strictly proved; fraud cannot be left to be inferred from the facts.
- On a first appeal, the court is obliged to evaluate, re-assess and re-analyse the evidence and draw its own conclusions, subject to not interfering with the trial court's findings where they are justified.
- A registered title is prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership under Section 26 of the Land Registration Act unless fraud, corruption or irregularity is proved to the satisfaction of the court.
Court orders
#- 1.The appellant's appeal is dismissed
- 2.Costs of the appeal awarded to the respondent
- 3.The judgment and orders of the trial court (eviction of the appellant and permanent injunction; dismissal of the counterclaim) remain undisturbed
- On appeal from
- Trial court (magistrates' court, Tharaka)
- Not stated in judgment
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appeal from the trial court (appellate jurisdiction over subordinate court land suit)
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Later judgments citing this (1)
#Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.
- Ndungu v Kayani (Environment & Land Case E084 of 2024) [2025] KEELC 1386 (KLR)[2025] KEELC 1386 (KLR)20 Mar 2025
Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Gituma v Kamangara (Environment and Land Appeal E006 of 2023) [2024] KEELC 5709 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/5709/eng@2024-07-25
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.