Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2024] KEELC 5300 (KLR)

Ngatia v Kaguru (Environment and Land Case Civil Suit 345 of 2008) [2024] KEELC 5300 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
11 July 2024
2,998 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~12 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Nairobi court took away a registered owner's Kangemi land title because a buyer who paid in full and lived there for over 12 years won an adverse possession claim.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, registered proprietor of LR Dagoretti/Kangemi/1067 since a 1997/1998 transfer from Kioi Gichamba, sued the defendant for eviction, demolition of structures, a permanent injunction and general damages, alleging trespass from about 2000. The defendant opposed the suit and counterclaimed, asserting that he purchased the parcel in 1987 from Michael Kubiu (hived from LR Dagoretti/Kangemi/675), took possession that year, built and developed the land continuously, paid the full purchase price by 1993, and thus acquired title by adverse possession. The court identified two issues: whether the plaintiff's title had been extinguished by adverse possession and, if not, whether she was entitled to eviction. It found the defendant's account of entry in 1987 and development from 1988 consistent and corroborated by photographs, while the plaintiff produced no evidence of her own possession or of entry in 2000. Applying Wambugu v Njuguna, Public Trustee v Wanduru and Cathy Alucia Jebor Kiplagat, the court held time ran from payment of the last instalment in 1993, so more than 12 years had elapsed before the 2008 suit. The plaintiff's suit was dismissed and the counterclaim allowed: a declaration of adverse possession, cancellation of the plaintiff's name and registration of the defendant as proprietor. Each party was ordered to bear their own costs. Judgment delivered on 11 July 2024 by Lucy N. Mbugua, J.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff's title was extinguished by adverse possession

Holding

Yes; the defendant entered in 1987 under a sale agreement, paid the full purchase price by 1993, and remained in continuous open possession for over 12 years before suit was filed in 2008

Reasoning

The court found the defendant's entry was under licence (the sale agreement) and that time began running when the last instalment was paid in 1993. By the filing of the suit in 2008, fifteen years had elapsed. The plaintiff never took possession and the owners were inactive, satisfying the prerequisites of adverse possession under Section 7 of the Limitation of Actions Act and Section 28(h) of the Land Registration Act.

p. 6
02

Whether the plaintiff proved her title and right to eviction

Holding

No; she proved registration but could not prove she ever took possession, and no cogent evidence placed the defendant's entry in 2000

Reasoning

The plaintiff relied on her registered title purchased from Kioi Gichamba in 1997/1998. However, the court found no evidence supporting her assertion that the defendant entered only in 2000, while the defendant's evidence of entry in 1987 and continuous development from 1988 onwards was consistent and supported by photographs. Her claim was therefore ousted by limitation.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • Where a claimant is in exclusive possession of land under leave and licence pursuant to a sale agreement, possession becomes adverse when the licence is determined
  • Adverse possession runs from the date of payment of the purchase price where a purchaser takes possession

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Plaintiff's suit dismissed
  2. 2.Declaration that the defendant has acquired parcel LR Dagoretti/Riruta/1067 by way of adverse possession
  3. 3.Cancellation of the plaintiff's name in the title deed LR Dagoretti/Riruta/1067 and the defendant to be registered as owner of the said title
  4. 4.Each party to bear their own costs of the suit

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Registration ActSection 24
  • Land Registration ActSection 26(1)
  • Land Registration ActSection 28(h)
  • Limitation of Actions ActSection 7

Cases cited (10)

  • Mageta Eneterprises Ltd v Tilak Company Ltd
    [2020] eKLR
  • Stephen Njoroge Kiboli v David Mwaele Nguli
    [2019] eKLR
  • William Oduory Mukangah v Michael Radido Aywak; George Obuya Ndambuki & another (Interested Parties)
    [2019] eKLR
  • Regina Wanjiru Mwago & another v Lucy Wairimu Gichuhi & 2 others
    [2019] eKLR
  • Ibrahim Wachira Karaguri v Mary Mwihaki Simon & another
    [2020] eKLR
  • James Maina Kinya v Gerald Kwendaka
    [2018] eKLR
  • Wambugu vs Njuguna
    (1983) KLR 172
  • Peter Mbiri Michuki v Samuel Mugo Michuki
    [2014] eKLR
  • Public Trustee v Wanduru
    (1984) KLR 314
  • Cathy Alucia Jebor Kiplagat v Vincent Komen Krelkut
    [2018] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land disputes (claim in adverse possession, trespass and title)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Ngatia v Kaguru (Environment and Land Case Civil Suit 345 of 2008) [2024] KEELC 5300 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/5300/eng@2024-07-11

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.