Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment· [2024] KEELC 5130 (KLR)

Ahamed v Kenya National Highways Authority & 2 others; Lead Property Developers & 2 others (Third party) (Environment & Land Case 333 of 2013) [2024] KEELC 5130 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
10 July 2024
25,164 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~101 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The court cancelled a Nairobi land title and dismissed a KES 1.6 billion claim because the land was public road reserve, void from the original allocation.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, registered proprietor of L.R No. Nairobi/Block 72/3079, sued for Kes.1,599,000,000 compensation and declarations that his Article 40 property rights were violated following the demolition by KeNHA of apartments he was constructing on the property. The Attorney General counterclaimed, seeking cancellation of the title on the ground that the land was public land reserved as a road/transport corridor for the Southern Bypass. The court traced the root of title to a letter of allotment dated 18th June 1999 issued to Baimet Contractors, a business name. It held the allotment was a nullity: issued to a non-entity without legal capacity; generated without a duly prepared and approved Part Development Plan; and its 30-day terms were only acted upon years later, by which time it had lapsed and was incapable of revival. It further found that the property fell within the transport corridor captured in the 1985 structure plan, designating it alienated public utility land unavailable for allocation. Consequently, the plaintiff, who purchased from Lead Properties Ltd, could not be a bona fide purchaser for value since a void root title cannot pass valid title. The special damages heads failed: construction and consultancy claims belonged to Idgrata Developers Ltd, a separate juristic person; the imported finishes were evidenced only by pro-forma invoices without proof of payment; the loss-of-profits claim rested on a sale agreement executed after demolition; and marketing costs were admitted to be undocumented. The plaintiff's suit was dismissed, the 2nd Defendant's counterclaim allowed with title revocation, a declaration that the land is public utility under KeNHA custody, and a permanent injunction; third-party claims were dismissed and costs awarded accordingly.

Key legal issues

#
01

Validity of the allotment to the 2nd third party

Holding

The allocation was a nullity: the letter of allotment was issued to a business name (a non-entity), without an approved PDP, and its time-bound terms were not complied with punctually

Reasoning

The letter of allotment dated 18th June 1999 was issued to Baimet Contractors, a business name with no legal capacity to hold an allotment. No approved and authenticated PDP preceded or accompanied it, and payments under it were made years outside the 30-day compliance window, so the allotment lapsed. The doctrine of ex nihilo nihil fit applies - nothing arises from a nullity.

p. 26
02

Whether the Plaintiff was a bona fide purchaser for value

Holding

No - the root title was void, and the plaintiff's predecessor had no valid title to pass

Reasoning

A bona fide purchaser must demonstrate that his predecessor in title held a valid and legal title. Having found the 2nd third party's title void ab initio, every derivative title, including the plaintiff's, collapses. Further, the property featured in the Ndungu Report and gazette notice on irregular allocations, undermining any claim of honest purchase without notice.

p. 35
03

Whether the suit property fell within the road reserve/transport corridor

Holding

Yes - the property was captured in the 1985 structure plan as part of the trans-African highway corridor and was thus alienated public utility land unavailable for allocation

Reasoning

Evidence of DW1 and DW2 established the 1985 structure plan showing the road and railway reserves and transport corridor. Once land is reserved for public use it ceases to be unalienated government land under the repealed Government Lands Act and falls outside the Commissioner of Lands' power of allocation.

p. 38
04

Entitlement to compensation of Kes.1,599,000,000

Holding

Refused - no claim lay against the vendor (only a third party), compensation from the 1st Defendant using public funds would contravene Article 201, and all heads of special damages were unproven

Reasoning

Claims for construction costs and consultancy fees were incurred by Idgrata Developers Ltd, a separate juristic person from the plaintiff; the imported finishes were supported only by pro-forma invoices with no proof of payment; the loss-of-profits claim rested on a sale agreement executed after the demolition; marketing costs were admitted to be undocumented. The valuation of Kes.300,000,000 could only sound against the vendor, against whom no claim was pleaded.

p. 41
05

The 2nd Defendant's counterclaim

Holding

Proved - title to be revoked, land declared public utility under KeNHA custody, permanent injunction issued

Reasoning

On the findings on issues 1 and 3, the certificate of lease is illegal and falls within Section 26(1)(b) of the Land Registration Act, which protects only lawfully acquired titles regardless of the holder's culpability. The land must revert to public land as part of the transport corridor.

p. 42

Legal principles established

#
  • A letter of allotment issued to a business name (a non-entity) is a nullity ab initio
  • A letter of allotment issued before preparation and approval of a PDP cannot found a valid title
  • An allotment letter not timeously accepted and paid for lapses and cannot be revived by conduct
  • A void root title cannot birth a valid title through subsequent transactions; a bona fide purchaser claim requires a lawful root
  • Land designated as a transport corridor in a structure plan is alienated public utility land, not unalienated government land available for allocation
  • Indefeasibility under Section 26(1)(b) of the Land Registration Act does not protect a title founded on illegality

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Plaintiff's suit be and is hereby dismissed
  2. 2.Costs of the suit be and are hereby awarded to the Defendants
  3. 3.The counterclaim by the 2nd Defendant be and is hereby allowed - the Defendant to the counterclaim ordered to surrender the certificate of title/certificate of lease in respect of L.R No Nairobi/Block 72/3079 to the chief land registrar for immediate cancellation and/or revocation
  4. 4.A declaration issued that L.R No Nairobi/Block 72/3079 constitutes and forms public utility (road reserve) and falls under the custody of Kenya National Highways Authority
  5. 5.An order of permanent injunction issued against the Defendant to the counterclaim, her agents, servants, employees and/or anyone claiming under her from entering upon, remaining on and/or otherwise dealing with L.R No Nairobi/Block 72/3079
  6. 6.Cost of the counterclaim shall be borne by the Defendant to the counterclaim
  7. 7.The 1st Defendant's claim against the 1st Third party at the foot of the third-party notice be and is hereby dismissed
  8. 8.The 1st Third party claim vide third party notice against the 2nd third party be and is hereby dismissed
  9. 9.The 2nd third party claim as against the 3rd third party be and is similarly dismissed
  10. 10.The Third parties shall each bear own costs of the proceedings
  11. 11.Any other reliefs not expressly granted are hereby declined
  12. 12.[Obiter]: the Plaintiff at liberty to pursue whatever reliefs, if any, against the 1st third party, subject to the Limitation of Actions Act
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over the suit land, including the 2nd Defendant's counterclaim

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Ahamed v Kenya National Highways Authority & 2 others; Lead Property Developers & 2 others (Third party) (Environment & Land Case 333 of 2013) [2024] KEELC 5130 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/5130/eng@2024-07-10

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.