Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2024] KEELC 4964 (KLR)

Kenya Agricultural Research Institute (KARI) v Farah Ali, Chairman Isahakia Self Help Group (Sued on His Own Behalf and on Behalf of Members of the Group) & another (Environment & Land Case 103 of 2019) [2024] KEELC 4964 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
27 June 2024
6,173 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~25 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court cancelled a 2010 land allocation, ruling that land set aside for a state institution is public land that cannot be given to private parties.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff, a state research corporation (KARI, formerly the Government Research Station under the Ministry of Agriculture), sued over land parcel LR 5211 at Naivasha, seeking a declaration that a letter of allotment dated 7th December 2010 issued by the 2nd Defendant in favour of the 1st Defendant (the Isahakiah community) was null and void, delivery of vacant possession, an injunction, and costs. The 1st Defendant counterclaimed, alleging ancestral occupation of the land and five other parcels and claiming damages for trespass; the 2nd Defendant admitted issuing and later revoking the allotment upon discovering it was based on misrepresentation. The court found, on documentary evidence including a 1952 Commissioner of Lands letter and council rates receipts, that the suit land had been set apart in 1904 for government stock farm and research purposes and continuously used and occupied by the Plaintiff. It held that such land is public land under Article 62(1)(b) of the Constitution and could not be alienated to a private party; the 2010 allotment was therefore void ab initio. A letter of allotment confers no indefeasible title under Sections 25 and 26 of the Land Registration Act, and the cancellation of the allotment violated neither fair hearing nor Article 40 property rights, an illegally issued allotment being a nullity (Mcfoy v United Africa Co Ltd). The counterclaim failed for want of proof under Section 107 of the Evidence Act. Judgment was entered for the Plaintiff: the counterclaim was dismissed, the allotment declared null and void, vacant possession ordered, an injunction issued, and costs of suit and counterclaim awarded against the 1st defendant only.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether LR 5211 was set apart for KARI's research use and constituted alienated public land

Holding

The court found the suit property was set apart in 1904 for the Veterinary Department as a government stock farm and continuously used and occupied by the Plaintiff, making it public land under Article 62(1)(b).

Reasoning

PW1 produced a 1952 letter from the Commissioner of Lands confirming the land was set aside in 1904 for government stock farm purposes, plus rates demand notices and payment receipts from Naivasha County Council dating back to 1998, and evidence of long-standing development including paddocks, staff quarters, cattle yards and a school. The court held this documentary evidence outweighed the 1st Defendant's undocumented oral claims of ancestral occupation.

p. 8
02

Whether the 2010 letter of allotment to the 1st Defendant was valid

Holding

The letter of allotment was null and void ab initio because the land was already alienated and held by a State organ, and the Commissioner of Lands lacked authority to alienate committed land.

Reasoning

Relying on James Joram Nyaga and Paul Nderitu Ndung'u, the court held that under Section 3 of the former Government Lands Act, the Commissioner could only alienate unalienated government land; land already committed to a public purpose was itself alienated and could not be re-allocated. Since the suit land had been committed to agricultural research since 1904, the 2010 allocation to the 1st Defendant was a nullity.

p. 10
03

Whether a letter of allotment confers ownership or indefeasible title

Holding

A letter of allotment is not evidence of title and does not attract indefeasibility under Sections 25 and 26 of the Land Registration Act, which protect registered titles only.

Reasoning

The court rejected the 1st Defendant's submission that it was the registered proprietor by virtue of the allotment letter, terming it the most wrong submission in the suit. Indefeasibility attaches to registered titles, not letters of allotment, many of which never mature into titles. Here the allotment was also cancelled by the 2nd Defendant due to misrepresentation, and no title ever issued to the 1st Defendant.

p. 10
04

Whether the cancellation of the allotment letter violated the 1st Defendant's right to fair hearing and property rights

Holding

The cancellation did not violate the 1st Defendant's rights; and in any event, an illegally issued allotment is a nullity, so the propriety of its cancellation was of no consequence.

Reasoning

The court noted no evidence that the 1st Defendant ever challenged the Commissioner's cancellation in court, so the cancellation stands. Further, applying Mcfoy v United Africa Co Ltd, an illegal act is null and void ab initio; since the allotment was illegally issued, there was never a valid allotment capable of protection under Article 40 or revocable in breach of fair hearing rights.

p. 10
05

Whether the 1st Defendant's counterclaim for ancestral/community land over five parcels was merited

Holding

The counterclaim failed; the 1st Defendant did not discharge the burden of proving its asserted historical facts.

Reasoning

The court applied Sections 107, 108 and 109 of the Evidence Act: he who asserts must prove. DW1's evidence of ancestral settlement from 1887/1897 and grants by the Legco was entirely oral and unsupported by documents; of 500 claimed houses only 15 remained and were being leased by the Plaintiff. The 1st Defendant admitted lacking title and that its allotment was cancelled. The claim over L.R 5210, 5212, 1144 and 11517 had no evidential foundation.

p. 11

Legal principles established

#
  • Land lawfully held, used or occupied by a State organ is public land under Article 62(1)(b) of the Constitution and cannot be allocated to a private party even where the State organ holds no title.
  • A letter of allotment per se is not evidence of title and does not confer indefeasible rights under the Constitution or Sections 25 and 26 of the Land Registration Act.
  • The Commissioner of Lands could not lawfully alienate land already committed/alienated for a public purpose; any such disposition is void ab initio.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The 1st defendant's counterclaim is dismissed
  2. 2.A declaration that the letter of allotment dated 7th December 2010 in respect of Land Reference No. 5211/R in favour of the 1st Defendant is of no legal effect and is null and void ab initio and does not nullify or affect the Plaintiff's interest in and ownership rights to Land Reference No. 5211
  3. 3.The 1st defendant and all its members shall unconditionally deliver up vacant possession of Land Reference No. 5211 to the Plaintiff forthwith
  4. 4.An injunction restraining the Defendants from issuing any certificate of title in respect of, transferring, disposing of or dealing in any manner with Land Reference No. 5211 or any other parcel of land occupied and used by the Plaintiff otherwise than by way of conveyance in favour of the Plaintiff
  5. 5.The costs of the suit and counterclaim to be borne by the 1st defendant only

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 62(1)(b)
  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 62(2) and (3)
  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 63
  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 40
  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 47
  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 50(1)
  • Government Lands Act (Cap 280) (repealed)Section 3
  • Government Lands Act (Cap 280) (repealed)Section 7
  • Land Registration ActSections 2, 25 and 26(1), 35(3)
  • Evidence ActSections 107, 108, 109
  • Registration of Titles Act (Cap 281) (repealed)Not specified

Cases cited (18)

  • Orix (Kenya) Limited v Paul Kabeu & 2 others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Republic v Rosemary Wairimu Munene, ex-parte applicant v Ihururu Dairy Farmers Co-operative Society Ltd
    JR Application No. 6 of 2014
  • Board of Governors Afraha High School & another v Kenya Commercial Bank
    [2004] eKLR
  • Kenya Commercial Finance Company Limited v Afraha Education Society
    Civil Appeal No. 142 of 1999 (Nakuru) [2001] 1 EA 86
  • Attorney General v Kenya Commercial Bank Limited and others
    HCCC No. 260 of 2004 [2004] eKLR
  • Mitchell & others v Director of Public Prosecution
    [1987] L.R.C 127
  • Geofirey Makana Asanyo v Kenya Agricultural Research Insititute
    HCCC No. 151 of 2003 [2010] eKLR
  • Kuria Greens Limited v Registrar of Titles and another
    HCCC No. 107 of 2010 [2010] eKLR
  • Ali Mohamed Dagane (granted power of attorney by Abdullahi Mohamed Dagane, suing on behalf of the estate of Mohamed Haji Dagane) v Hakar Abshir & 3 others
    [2021] eKLR
  • Dina Management Limited v County Government of Mombasa & 5 others
    Petition No. 8 (E010) of 2021
  • Ochako Obinchu v Zachary Oyoti Nyamongo
    [2018] eKLR
  • Rookes v Barnard and others
    [1964] AC 1129
  • Obonyo & another v Municipal Council of Kisumu
    [1971] EA 91
  • Emange Se-Semata Investments Limited v Attorney General & 4 others
    [2012] eKLR
  • Safepak Limited v Henry Wambega & 11 others
    [2019] eKLR
  • James Joram Nyaga & Another v Attorney General & Another
    [2007] eKLR
  • Paul Nderitu Ndung'u v Pashito Holdings Limited & Another
    Nairobi HCCC No. 3063 of 1996
  • Mcfoy v United Africa Co. Ltd
    [1961]
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land and title disputes (Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution); no specific provision cited in the judgment.

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kenya Agricultural Research Institute (KARI) v Farah Ali, Chairman Isahakia Self Help Group (Sued on His Own Behalf and on Behalf of Members of the Group) & another (Environment & Land Case 103 of 2019) [2024] KEELC 4964 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/4964/eng@2024-06-27

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.