Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment (Notice of Motion dated 18th April 2024)· [2024] KEELC 4919 (KLR)

African Orthodox Church of Kenya Registered Trustees & another v Orthodox Archbishoprtc of Kenya and Irinoupolis Limited- & another (Environment & Land Case 525 of 2015) [2024] KEELC 4919 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
24 June 2024
6,071 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~24 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court dismissed a stay-of-execution application because the applicants had no permission to appeal and showed no evidence of real loss.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Defendants/Applicants, led by Makarios Andreas Tillyrides, moved the court by Notice of Motion dated 18th April 2024 under Sections 1A, 1B and 3B of the Civil Procedure Act and Order 42 Rule 6 of the Civil Procedure Rules, seeking stay of execution of the court's orders of 29th February 2024 pending appeal, liberty to provide security for costs, and costs. The 1st Plaintiff/Respondent opposed via grounds of opposition, contending the notice of appeal was filed in vacuum absent leave, that no substantial loss was shown, and that the application was res judicata since a prior stay application had been declined. The court framed three issues: validity of the notice of appeal, sufficient cause, and substantial loss. On the first, it held that the validity of a notice of appeal is a matter exclusively for the Court of Appeal, applying the Supreme Court's jurisdictional jurisprudence in the Interim Independent Electoral Commission and Samuel Kamau Macharia cases. On sufficient cause, it found the ruling of 29th February 2024 attracted no automatic right of appeal under Section 75 of the Civil Procedure Act, that no leave was obtained, and that the judgment being executed was an unimpugned consent judgment founded on a mediation agreement, rendering the application ulterior. On substantial loss, applying Kenya Shell Ltd v Kibiru and James Wangalwa, it found no evidence of loss; execution alone is not substantial loss, and the Applicants' burden under Sections 107-109 of the Evidence Act was unmet. The court dismissed the application with costs to the 1st Plaintiff/Respondent and vacated the interim orders previously granted.

Key legal issues

#
01

Jurisdiction to declare a notice of appeal valid

Holding

The court lacks jurisdiction to interrogate or declare the validity of a notice of appeal; that power vests exclusively in the Court of Appeal.

Reasoning

The court reasoned that a notice of appeal, once filed, must be taken as valid by the court affected until invalidated under Rule 86 of the Court of Appeal Rules, 2022. The Applicants' invitation for this court to declare the notice valid was therefore misconceived, since jurisdiction is donated by law and a court cannot assume jurisdiction it does not possess. The court anchored this on the Supreme Court's jurisprudence in the Interim Independent Electoral Commission and Samuel Kamau Macharia cases on the primacy of jurisdiction.

p. 7
02

Sufficient cause for stay of execution pending appeal

Holding

No sufficient cause was established: no leave to appeal was obtained where leave was required, and the judgment sought to be stayed is an unimpugned consent judgment arising from a mediation agreement.

Reasoning

The court found the ruling of 29th February 2024 was not appealable as of right under Section 75 of the Civil Procedure Act read with Order 43 of the Civil Procedure Rules, so leave was required but never sought. Further, the underlying judgment adopted a mediation agreement consented to by both parties, and its terms were never impugned. The court concluded the Applicants were pursuing the stay for ulterior purposes, merely 'playing ping pong games or lottery' with court process.

p. 10
03

Substantial loss

Holding

The Applicants failed to discharge the burden of proving substantial loss; mere commencement or likelihood of execution is not substantial loss.

Reasoning

Relying on Kenya Shell Ltd v Benjamin Karuga Kibiru and James Wangalwa v Agnes Naliaka Cheseto, the court held that substantial loss must be pleaded and substantiated by evidence. The mediation agreement and resultant judgment vested the suit properties in the 1st Plaintiff, whom the deponent of the supporting affidavit represented as Arch Bishop, making the claimed loss illogical and suggesting something ulterior. Only omnibus allegations were offered, which do not discharge the burden under Sections 107, 108 and 109 of the Evidence Act.

p. 11

Legal principles established

#
  • A court affected by a notice of appeal must deem it valid unless invalidated by the Court of Appeal under Rule 86 of the Court of Appeal Rules, 2022; but the validity of a notice of appeal is for the Court of Appeal alone to determine.
  • The right of appeal is a creature of statute; where leave to appeal is required but not obtained, consequential proceedings including an application for stay are legally untenable.
  • Substantial loss is the cornerstone of an application for stay of execution; the fact that execution has been commenced or is likely to be commenced does not by itself constitute substantial loss.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The application dated the 18th April 2024 be and is hereby dismissed with costs to the 1st Plaintifi/Respondent.
  2. 2.The Interim Order(s) which were hitherto granted in favour of the Applicant(s) be and is hereby vacated.
Jurisdiction invoked
Sections 1A, 1B and 3B of the Civil Procedure Act; Order 42 Rule 6 and Order 51 Rule 1 of the Civil Procedure Rules, 2010

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "African Orthodox Church of Kenya Registered Trustees & another v Orthodox Archbishoprtc of Kenya and Irinoupolis Limited- & another (Environment & Land Case 525 of 2015) [2024] KEELC 4919 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment (Notice of Motion dated 18th April 2024). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/4919/eng@2024-06-24

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.