Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment (Plaint dated 15th August, 2023 with two Notices of Motion dated 15th August, 2023 and 25th September, 2023)· [2024] KEELC 4275 (KLR)

Mombasa Water Products Limited v Kenya Commercial Bank Limited (Environment & Land Case E007 of 2023) [2024] KEELC 4275 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
16 May 2024
13,885 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~56 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The Environment and Land Court stopped KCB from auctioning Mombasa Water Products' land, ruling the bank skipped required notice, valuation and advertising steps before selling.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff, registered owner of Plot No. MN/I/12003 valued at approximately Kshs. 62,000,000, charged the property to secure a loan facility of Kshs. 15,800,000 from the Defendant bank. After default, the parties litigated in HCCC No. 40 of 2015 (Mombasa), which ended in a consent order adopted on 18th April, 2018 requiring the Plaintiff to procure a purchaser within 60 days, failing which the bank could auction after at least 15 days' advertisement. Two subsequent suits by the Plaintiff's tenant (CMCC 109 of 2019 and CMCC E9 of 2020) were struck out for want of pecuniary jurisdiction. In August 2023, after a director notified the bank of pending compensation exceeding Kshs. 2 billion from the National Land Commission, the bank advertised the suit property for sale on 17th August, 2023. The Plaintiff applied for a temporary injunction, alleging breach of the consent order, defective 45 days' notice under Rule 15(d) of the Auctioneers Rules, and absence of a current valuation as required by Section 97 of the Land Act. The bank applied to strike out the suit as res judicata, an abuse of process, and for want of the ELC's jurisdiction. The Court framed four issues and held: (i) it has jurisdiction under Article 162(2)(b) and Sections 3 and 13 of the ELC Act; (ii) the suit was not res judicata as none of the former suits involved final adjudication on the merits, and a new issue (the Articles 10 and 46 violation claim) was raised; (iii) the Plaintiff established a prima facie case warranting an injunction; and (iv) costs to the Plaintiff, in the cause. The Plaintiff's application was allowed, the Defendant's dismissed, and the suit set down for hearing on 7th October, 2024.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Environment and Land Court at Mombasa has jurisdiction over a dispute arising from a banker-customer charge over land

Holding

The Court has jurisdiction because the reliefs sought concern the chargee's statutory power of sale over titled land, falling squarely within Article 162(2)(b) and Section 13 of the ELC Act.

Reasoning

The Court traced its jurisdiction to Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution and Sections 3 and 13 of the Environment and Land Court Act, 2011, which confer power to determine disputes relating to land, titles and instruments granting enforceable interests in land. Relying on Motor Vessel Lillian 'S' and Samuel Kamau Macharia, it held that jurisdiction flows from the Constitution and statute. It found the reliefs sought (concerning sale of the charged suit property) fell within the ELC's ambit, and the objection was 'lame, baseless and unfounded'.

p. 19
02

Whether the Plaintiff's suit was res judicata to HCCC No. 40 of 2015 and the two struck-out magistrate's court suits

Holding

The suit was not res judicata because none of the former suits involved a final adjudication on the merits by a competent court.

Reasoning

Applying Section 7 of the Civil Procedure Act and the Maina Kiai elements, the Court found the magistrate suits were struck out purely for want of pecuniary jurisdiction (hence not heard and finally determined on merits by a competent court) and the High Court suit was compromised by consent without adjudication. Further, the present suit raised a new issue - the alleged violation of Articles 10 and 46 arising from the hasty advertisement of sale after the 4th August, 2023 compensation letter - which was never litigated before.

p. 10
03

Whether the Plaintiff was entitled to a temporary injunction restraining the sale of the suit property

Holding

Yes. The Plaintiff established a prima facie case with probability of success given the apparent non-compliance with statutory notice and valuation requirements, and the application succeeded.

Reasoning

Applying Giella v Cassman Brown and Mrao Ltd, the Court found the Plaintiff was the registered owner of the suit property, and that the 2023 advertisement of sale appeared to breach the 2018 consent order (requiring advertising for at least 15 days at the reserve price), the 45 days' notice under Rule 15(d) of the Auctioneers Rules (notice wrongly addressed), and Section 97(2) and (3) of the Land Act read with Rule 11(b)(x) (no current valuation). On these facts the Plaintiff established a prima facie case and the application was allowed.

p. 24
04

Costs of the two applications

Holding

Costs follow the event; the successful Plaintiff is entitled to costs of both applications, to be in the cause.

Reasoning

Relying on Section 27(1) of the Civil Procedure Rules on costs following the event, the Court held that since the Plaintiff succeeded in establishing its case in both applications, it was entitled to costs thereof, but ordered them to be in the cause rather than payable immediately.

p. 24

Legal principles established

#
  • The Environment and Land Court has jurisdiction over disputes involving charges over land and threatened statutory power of sale where the reliefs sought touch on title and interests in land, notwithstanding the commercial banker-customer origin of the dispute.
  • Res judicata requires a former suit that was heard and finally determined by a competent court between the same parties; a suit struck out for want of jurisdiction or compromised by consent without adjudication does not found the doctrine.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.That pursuant to Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution and Sections 3 & 13 of the Environment & Land Court Act, Sections 101 of the Land Registration Act and Section 150 of the Land Act, the Court has jurisdiction to hear and determine the issues in question in this matter.
  2. 2.That the Notice of Motion application dated 15th August, 2023 be and is hereby found to be meritorious and is allowed.
  3. 3.That the Notice of Motion application dated 25th September, 2023 be and is hereby found to be unmeritorious and is dismissed.
  4. 4.That the suit be fixed for hearing on 7th October, 2024, with a mention on 8th July, 2024 for Pre-Trial Conference under Order 11 of the Civil Procedure Rules, 2010.
  5. 5.That costs to be awarded to the Plaintiff for the two applications dated 15th August, 2023 and 25th September, 2023 to be in the cause.

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Civil Procedure Rules, 2010Order 40 Rules 1, 2, 3 and 4
  • Civil Procedure Act, Cap. 21Sections 1A, 1B, 3A and 7
  • Civil Procedure Rules, 2010Section 27(1)
  • Constitution of Kenya, 2010Articles 10, 46 and 162(2)(b)
  • Environment and Land Court Act, No. 19 of 2011Preamble; Sections 3 and 13(2)
  • Land Act, No. 6 of 2012Sections 96(2), 97(2) and (3), 99(4) and 150
  • Land Registration Act, No. 3 of 2012Section 101
  • Auctioneers Rules, 1997Rules 11(b)(x) and 15(d)
  • Registered Land Act (Cap. 300) (repealed)Section 74(1)

Cases cited (22)

  • Independent Electoral & Boundaries Commission – Versus - Maina Kiai & 5 Others
    (2017) eKLR
  • Uhuru Highway Development Limited – Versus - Central Bank of Kenya
    [1999] eKLR
  • Giella – Versus - Cassman Brown & Company Limited
    [1973] EA 358
  • Nyangilo Ochieng & another – Versus - Fanuel B. Ochieng & 2 others
    [1996] eKLR
  • Kwale Cement Factory Limited & another – Versus - Bank of Africa Kenya Limited
    [2018] eKLR
  • Benjamin Kaburi Kamuruci – Versus - Stanbic Bank Limited
    [2014] eKLR
  • C.K. Bett Traders Limited & 2 others – Versus - Kennedy Mwangi & another
    [2021] eKLR
  • John Florence Maritime Services Limited & another – Versus - Cabinet Secretary for Transport and Infrastructure & 3 others
    [2015] eKLR
  • Maithene Malindi Enterprises Limited – Versus - Kaniki Karisa Kaniki & 2 others
    [2018] eKLR
  • Henderson – Versus - Henderson
    [1843] 67 ER 313; (1843-60) All ER 378
  • Nguruman Limited – Versus - Jan Bonde Nielsen & 2 others
    CA No. 77 of 2012 (2014) eKLR
  • Mrao Limited – Versus - First American Bank of Kenya Limited & 2 others
    (2003) KLR 125
  • Michel Gitere & another – Versus - Kenya Commercial Bank Limited
    [2018] eKLR
  • Kenleb Cons Limited – Versus - New Gatitu Service Station Limited another
    (1990) eKLR
  • Amos Wangera Njoroge & 9 others – Versus - Serah Wamuyu Muriuki & another
    [2014] eKLR
  • Stek Cosmetics Limited – Versus - Family Bank Ltd & another
    [2020] eKLR
  • The Owners of Motor Vessel Lillian 'S' – Versus - Caltex Kenya Limited
    [1989] KLR 1
  • Samuel Kamau Macharia – Versus - KCB & 2 Others
    Civil Application No. 2 of 2011
  • County Government of Migori – Versus - I N B Management IT Consultant Limited
    (2019) eKLR
  • Hon. (Lady) Justice Kalpana H Rawal – Versus - Judicial Service Commission and others
    Supreme Court of Kenya Civil Application No. 11 of 2016
  • Ocheja Immanuel Dangama – Versus - Hon. Atoi Aidoko Aliaswan and 4 others
    Supreme Court of Nigeria case No. 11 of 2012
  • Mary Musuki Mudachi & another – Versus - Anthony Muteke Mudachi & 2 others; Elijah K. Kimanzi & 6 others (Interested Parties)
    [2021] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution of Kenya, 2010; Sections 3 & 13 of the Environment and Land Court Act, No. 19 of 2011; Section 101 of the Land Registration Act, No. 3 of 2012; Section 150 of the Land Act, No. 6 of 2012

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mombasa Water Products Limited v Kenya Commercial Bank Limited (Environment & Land Case E007 of 2023) [2024] KEELC 4275 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment (Plaint dated 15th August, 2023 with two Notices of Motion dated 15th August, 2023 and 25th September, 2023). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/4275/eng@2024-05-16

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.