Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment· [2024] KEELC 4166 (KLR)

Olendo v Odhiambo (Environment & Land Case E003 of 2024) [2024] KEELC 4166 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
23 May 2024
1,617 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~6 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The Siaya Environment and Land Court dismissed a land injunction because the applicant brought no title documents proving ownership of the disputed parcel.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This ruling of the Environment and Land Court at Siaya (Koross, J) determined a notice of motion dated 14/02/2024 in which the plaintiff sought a temporary injunction restraining the defendant from entering, encroaching on or interfering with land parcel South Ugenya/Rangala/556, pending the hearing of the suit. The plaintiff, who described himself as a son and successor of the late Marsiana Anyango Nyaboro, asserted that upon confirmation of a grant of letters of administration on 27/04/2022, half of the suit parcel vested in him, but that the defendant, allegedly a grandson of the deceased, had encroached and cultivated the disputed portion and threatened him with harm. After the matter was reserved for ruling, the defendant raised a preliminary objection, which the court declined to consider because the plaintiff had not been heard on it, noting it raised factual matters touching on probate proceedings in Ukwala PM's Court Succession Cause no. 75 of 2020. The court observed that the plaintiff had invoked the Landlord and Tenant (Shops, Hotels, and Catering Establishments) Act in error, since no landlord-tenant relationship existed; the proper provisions were Section 63(e) of the Civil Procedure Act and Order 40 Rule 1 of the Civil Procedure Rules, with the error excused under Order 51 Rule 10. Applying the Giella v Cassman Brown tests as restated in Nguruman, the court found the plaintiff had failed to establish a prima facie case: he produced no copy of the confirmed grant, title deed, official search or green card. The remaining tests were not considered. The motion was dismissed with costs in the cause, and the matter was set for pretrial directions before the Deputy Registrar on 17/07/2024.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff established a prima facie case for a temporary injunction

Holding

The plaintiff failed the first test; without a copy of the confirmed grant or any documentary evidence of ownership, no apparent infringement of a right was demonstrated

Reasoning

The plaintiff asserted that half of the suit property vested in him upon confirmation of the grant on 27/04/2022 but did not annex the grant or any title document. Section 26 of the Land Registration Act deems a registered owner the proprietor. Having failed the first hurdle, the court held it superfluous to consider irreparable injury and balance of convenience.

p. 4
02

Jurisdictional basis of the application

Holding

The plaintiff erroneously invoked the Landlord and Tenant (Shops, Hotels, and Catering Establishments) Act; the correct provisions were Section 63(e) of the Civil Procedure Act and Order 40 Rule 1 of the Civil Procedure Rules, and the error was excused as a technical mistake under Order 51 Rule 10

Reasoning

There was no landlord-tenant relationship between the parties; the dispute concerned land. The Business Premises Rent Tribunal has original jurisdiction under that Act, with appeals lying to the court under Section 15. Since no landlord-tenant relationship existed, the invocation was wrong, but the procedural mistake did not defeat the motion under Order 51 Rule 10.

p. 2
03

The court's treatment of the defendant's preliminary objection

Holding

The court declined to consider the preliminary objection dated 29/04/2024 because it was raised after the matter was reserved for ruling and the plaintiff had not been heard on it

Reasoning

The right to a fair hearing is fundamental and the plaintiff had not been given an opportunity to respond to the preliminary objection raised after the matter was reserved for ruling. The court also observed that the objection raised matters of fact concerning probate proceedings in Ukwala PM's Court Succession Cause no. 75 of 2020, not pure points of law.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • An applicant for a temporary injunction must sequentially establish a prima facie case, irreparable injury, and that the balance of convenience lies in his favour
  • A party who relies on a confirmed grant of letters of administration to prove ownership must tender the grant in evidence; a registered owner is prima facie the proprietor under Section 26 of the Land Registration Act

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The notice of motion dated 14/02/2024 is dismissed with costs in the cause
  2. 2.Matter to be mentioned before the Deputy Registrar for pretrial directions on 17/07/2024

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Landlord and Tenant (Shops, Hotels, and Catering Establishments) ActSection 15
  • Civil Procedure ActSection 63(e)
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 40 Rule 1
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 51 Rule 10
  • Land Registration ActSection 26

Cases cited (5)

  • Giella vs. Cassman Brown & Co. Ltd
    [1973] EA 358
  • Nguruman Limited vs. Jan Bonde Nielsen & 2 Others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Kenya Commercial Finance Co. Ltd V. Afraha Education Society
    [2001] Vol. 1 EA 86
  • Mrao Ltd vs. First American Bank of Kenya Ltd & 2 Others
    [2003] KLR
  • Airland Tours & Travel Limited vs. National Industrial Credit Bank
    Nairobi (Milimani) HCCC No. 1234 of 2002
Jurisdiction invoked
Order 40 Rule 1 of the Civil Procedure Rules (inherent civil jurisdiction of the High Court/ELC); the plaintiff had erroneously invoked the Landlord and Tenant (Shops, Hotels, and Catering Establishments) Act

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Olendo v Odhiambo (Environment & Land Case E003 of 2024) [2024] KEELC 4166 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/4166/eng@2024-05-23

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.