Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the ruling· [2024] KEELC 4136 (KLR)

Randolph M Tindika v Oballa Victor Benson Olwande & 12 others

Environment and Land Court
20 March 2024
1,444 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~6 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Environment and Land Court ruled that documents filed by an advocate without a practising certificate remain valid in court, dismissing the application with costs.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a ruling of the Environment and Land Court (A.E Dena J) dated 20 March 2024 in an application dated 18 September 2023 filed by Randolph M Tindika, the Plaintiff, in a land dispute over Kwale/Ng'ombeni/1104. The Applicant sought an order that Oballa Victor Benson Olwande of Olwande Oballa Advocates had no right of audience before the court for failure to take out a practising certificate for 2022 and 2023, and that all pleadings, affidavits and documents filed by that advocate be struck out and expunged from the record. The application was supported by an affidavit exhibiting Law Society of Kenya search results showing the advocate's practising status as inactive. The application was unopposed; the affected Defendants had already instructed Gichuki Thiaka Advocates via a Notice of Change filed 19 September 2023, and the Attorney General declined to participate. The court examined sections 2, 9, 34 and 34B of the Advocates Act and confirmed the advocate had not taken out a practising certificate for 2022 and 2023. However, applying section 34B and the Supreme Court's decision in National Bank of Kenya v Anaj Warehousing as adopted by Angote J in Samwel Gioche, the court held that documents prepared by an advocate without a current practising certificate cannot be invalidated on that ground alone; the remedy is professional misconduct. The application was dismissed with costs payable personally by Mr Oballa.

Key legal issues

#
01

Effect of failure to take out a practising certificate on the validity of documents filed in court

Holding

Such documents remain valid and are not liable to be expunged

Reasoning

Section 9 of the Advocates Act prescribes the qualifications to practise, and section 2 defines an unqualified person. However, section 34B, introduced in 2017, provides that failure to take out a practising certificate constitutes professional misconduct but does not affect the validity of any legal document, defined to include pleadings, affidavits and applications. The court applied the Supreme Court's reasoning in National Bank of Kenya v Anaj Warehousing as adopted by Angote J in Samwel Gioche.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • A legal document, including pleadings, drawn or prepared by an advocate without a valid practising certificate is not invalidated by that fact; the sanction is professional misconduct under section 34B of the Advocates Act

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The application dated 18/9/2023 is dismissed
  2. 2.The costs of the application shall be paid by Oballa Victor Benson Olwande
  3. 3.The Defendants' documents on record remain valid and are not to be expunged from the record
Jurisdiction invoked
Advocates Act (Chapter 16, Laws of Kenya), sections 2, 9, 34 and 34B

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Randolph M Tindika v Oballa Victor Benson Olwande & 12 others", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the ruling. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/4136/eng@2024-03-20

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.