Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2024] KEELC 4039 (KLR)

Kamau v NCBA Bank Kenya PLC & 3 others (Environment & Land Case E020 of 2024) [2024] KEELC 4039 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
14 May 2024
2,141 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~9 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court ruled that a man claiming personal ownership of a company's property could not stop the bank from selling it.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff, Boniface Kihiu Kamau, moved the court by Notice of Motion dated 22nd January 2024 seeking an interlocutory injunction to restrain the Defendants from selling, auctioning or interfering with Apartment No. B4 (Cape Garden Apartments) on L.R. No. 2/702, Nairobi. He claimed to be the sole beneficial owner, having purchased the property in 2010, and alleged that the 2nd Defendant, his estranged wife, had fraudulently charged it to the 1st Defendant to secure personal loans, using a guarantee by the 3rd Defendant company, Neema Shelters Ltd, without approval. The 1st Defendant replied that the property is registered in and charged by Neema Shelters Ltd; that the Plaintiff lacks locus standi under section 103 of the Land Act, relief being available only to a chargor, qualifying spouse or bankruptcy trustee; and that proper statutory notices issued after default on an Kshs. 18.7 million facility approved by board minutes at which the Plaintiff was present and which he executed as director. The 2nd Defendant confirmed the company owned the property and that the loan repaid a prior facility for land at Mavoko. The court, dismissing the application, held that the company is a separate legal person whose property rights belong to it alone, so the Plaintiff cannot sue on its behalf (Foss v Harbottle); that section 103 of the Land Act denies him standing since he is neither chargor nor a consent-protected spouse, and equity follows the law; and that the 1st Defendant was protected by the rule in Turquand's case having relied on the company's minutes and resolution. The Plaintiff also failed to establish a prima facie case, the first sequential hurdle under Giella v Cassman Brown as reinforced in Nguruman. The application was dismissed with costs to the 1st and 2nd Defendants.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Plaintiff, claiming beneficial ownership, could resist the chargee's statutory power of sale over property registered in and charged by a company

Holding

He could not: the company is the chargor and owner, and the Plaintiff, being neither chargor nor a consent-protected spouse, has no standing under section 103 of the Land Act; his suit is not legally plausible under Foss v Harbottle.

Reasoning

The court held that Neema Shelters Ltd, the registered owner and chargor, is a separate legal person with its own property rights. Neither the Plaintiff nor the 2nd Defendant, though directors and shareholders, can sue on its behalf. Section 103 of the Land Act confines applications for relief against a chargee's section 90(3) remedies to the chargor, joint chargors, a qualifying spouse, or a bankruptcy trustee. The Plaintiff himself conceded the property was not matrimonial property, so equity follows the law and his claim fails.

p. 4
02

Whether the 1st Defendant was entitled to rely on the company's minutes and resolution without further inquiry

Holding

Yes - the rule in Royal British Bank v Turquand protected the 1st Defendant, which could assume the company's internal requirements had been complied with once furnished with the minutes and resolution.

Reasoning

Applying Palmer's Company Law exposition of the rule in Turquand's case, the court held that outsiders dealing with a company need not investigate indoor management. The chargor had provided minutes of a directors' meeting approving the charge and guarantee, at which the Plaintiff was present and in which he participated by executing the charge instrument as a director. The Plaintiff's insinuation that internal procedures were not followed therefore could not vitiate the transaction as against the 1st Defendant.

p. 4
03

Whether the Plaintiff satisfied the conditions for an interlocutory injunction

Holding

No - having failed to establish a prima facie case, the application fails at the first sequential hurdle and the court need not consider irreparable injury or balance of convenience.

Reasoning

Restating Giella v Cassman Brown, the court noted per Nguruman Ltd v John Bonde Nielsen that the three conditions are separate, distinct and logical hurdles to be surmounted sequentially. Following Nicholas Njeru Muturi v Thome Dynamics Ltd, where no prima facie case is shown the inquiry ends. Since the suit property belongs to the 3rd Defendant company and the Plaintiff cannot sue on its behalf, no prima facie case exists, and the 1st Defendant retains its statutory right of sale to recover the outstanding amounts.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • A company is a legal person with its own corporate identity, separate from its directors and shareholders, and with property rights and interests to which alone it is entitled; directors and shareholders cannot sue on its behalf (rule in Foss v Harbottle).
  • Under section 103 of the Land Act, relief against a chargee's remedies under section 90(3) may be sought only by the chargor, joint chargors, a qualifying spouse who was required to consent but did not, or a bankruptcy trustee - and equity follows the law.
  • A party dealing with a company in good faith, having been provided with minutes and a resolution approving the transaction, need not inquire into its indoor management (rule in Royal British Bank v Turquand).
  • The Giella conditions for an interlocutory injunction are sequential hurdles; if a prima facie case is not established, the court need not consider irreparable injury or balance of convenience.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Plaintiff's Notice of Motion dated 22nd January 2024 seeking an interlocutory injunction is dismissed
  2. 2.Costs of the application awarded to the 1st and 2nd Defendants

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Actsection 96(2)
  • Land Actsection 103
  • Land Actsection 90(3)

Cases cited (6)

  • Moir vs Wallersteiner
    (1975) ALL ER 849
  • Foss vs Harbottle
    [1843] 2 Hare 461
  • Royal British Bank vs Turquand
    (1885) E & B 327
  • Giella vs Cassman Brown & Co. Ltd
    (1973) EA 358
  • Nguruman Ltd vs John Bonde Nielsen & 2 others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Nicholas Njeru Muturi vs Thome Dynamics Limited & another
    [2022] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over an interlocutory application in a suit concerning charged land (Land Act, 2012, sections 90(3) and 103 invoked)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kamau v NCBA Bank Kenya PLC & 3 others (Environment & Land Case E020 of 2024) [2024] KEELC 4039 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/4039/eng@2024-05-14

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.