Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2024] KEELC 4018 (KLR)

Mustafa (The administratix of the Estate of Alia Bilkhekhan (Deceased) v Vaad Limited (Environment & Land Case E179 of 2023) [2024] KEELC 4018 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
30 April 2024
1,478 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~6 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Nairobi landowner who proved her title in an undefended trespass case won ownership, an injunction, KES 1 million damages and costs.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintifi, administratix of the Estate of Alia Bilkhekhan (deceased), sued the Defendant by plaint dated 15th March 2023 seeking a declaration that she is the rightful and bona fide owner of LR. No. 35/1/125 Eastleigh within Nairobi County, a permanent injunction against trespass and interference, damages for trespass, and costs. She pleaded that from about July 2021 the Defendant, without colour of right, entered the suit property and began constructing, excavating and digging. The Defendant filed no response and did not participate at trial, so the suit proceeded as an undefended cause. The Plaintifi testified as the sole witness and produced a copy of her title deed. The court framed two issues: whether she had proved her case to the required standard, and whether she was entitled to the reliefs sought. Relying on Kirugi v Kabiya and Gichinga Kibutha, the court held that even in formal proof the burden of proving the case on a balance of probabilities remains on the plaintiff. Applying sections 24(a) and 26(1) of the Land Registration Act on indefeasibility of title, it found the uncontroverted evidence sufficient to establish ownership and trespass. On quantum, the court adopted the trespass damages principles in Kenya Power & Lighting Co Ltd v Ringera and awarded Kshs. 1,000,000 as general damages, considering the locality of the property, the duration of the trespass and Article 40(3) of the Constitution. Judgment was entered accordingly with costs to the Plaintifi, dated 30th April 2024.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether an undefended claim must still be proved to the required standard

Holding

Yes; failure by the defendant to contest does not absolve the plaintiff of the duty to prove the case on a balance of probabilities.

Reasoning

The court relied on Kirugi v Kabiya and Gichinga Kibutha v Caroline Nduku, holding that uncontroverted evidence does not automatically entitle a claimant to judgment; the claimant must discharge the burden of proof regardless of the opponent's absence from the contest.

p. 2
02

Whether the Plaintifi proved ownership of the suit property

Holding

Yes; the title deed was produced in evidence, was uncontroverted, and established the Plaintifi as absolute owner under sections 24(a) and 26(1) of the Land Registration Act.

Reasoning

The court applied the indefeasibility provisions of the Land Registration Act, finding that the produced title deed and uncontroverted testimony on trespass from July 2021 proved the Plaintifi's ownership and the Defendant's unjustified entry.

p. 3
03

Quantum of general damages for trespass

Holding

An award of Kshs. 1,000,000 as general damages was sufficient, taking into account the locality of the property, duration of trespass, and Article 40(3) of the Constitution.

Reasoning

The court adopted the trespass damages principles from Kenya Power & Lighting Co Ltd v Ringera, including nominal damages absent actual loss, damages for loss of use, diminution in value or cost of restoration, and aggravated or exemplary damages in oppressive circumstances.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • Even in an undefended suit heard as formal proof, the burden remains on the plaintiff to prove the case on a balance of probabilities.
  • Registration of a person as proprietor of land vests absolute ownership in that person.
  • A certificate of title is prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership, challengeable only on fraud, misrepresentation, illegality, unprocedural acquisition or corruption.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that the Plaintifi is the rightful and bonafide owner of the suit property
  2. 2.A permanent injunction as against the Defendant restraining the Defendant by himself, its agents and/or servants from in any way interfering with the suit property known as LR. No. 35/1/125 Eastleigh within Nairobi County
  3. 3.General damages for trespass of Ksh. 1,000,000/- awarded to the Plaintifi
  4. 4.The Plaintifi is awarded costs of the suit

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Registration ActSection 24(a)
  • Land Registration ActSection 26(1)
  • Constitution of Kenya 2010Article 40(3)

Cases cited (9)

  • Rhoda S. Kiilu vs Jiangxi Water and Hydropower Construction Kenya Limited
    [2019] eKLR
  • African Inland Church – Kenya (Registered Trustees) vs Catherine Nduku & 12 others
    [2017] eKLR
  • Nyangeri Obiye Thomas vs Yunike Sakagwa Nyoiza
    ELC Case No. 277 of 2018
  • Kirugi and Another Vs Kabiya & 3 others
    (1987) KLR 347
  • Gichinga Kibutha Vs Caroline Nduku
    (2018) eKLR
  • Nakuru Industries Limited vs S S Mehta & Sons
    [2016] eKLR
  • Kenya Power & Lighting Company Ltd v Ringera & 2 others
    (Civil Appeal E247 & E248 of 2020 (Consolidated)) [2022] KECA 104 (KLR)
  • Duncan Nderitu Ndegwa vs. Kenya Pipeline Company limited & Another
    [2013] eKLR
  • Philip Ayaya Aluchio vs. Crispinus Ngayo
    [2014] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land within Nairobi County; Article 40(3) of the Constitution of Kenya 2010 invoked on the right of ownership to land

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mustafa (The administratix of the Estate of Alia Bilkhekhan (Deceased) v Vaad Limited (Environment & Land Case E179 of 2023) [2024] KEELC 4018 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/4018/eng@2024-04-30

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.