Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNotice of Motion dated 23rd January, 2024 in the main suit (not stated in extract)· [2024] KEELC 3829 (KLR)

Nyoike v Chief Land Registrar & 4 others (Environment & Land Case E197 of 2023) [2024] KEELC 3829 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
14 May 2024
2,196 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~9 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court cancelled a land buyer's access orders after the Land Registrar proved his title documents were forgeries, protecting a widow's 22-year ownership.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This ruling by the Environment and Land Court at Nairobi (M.D. Mwangi, J) determines the 5th Defendant's Notice of Motion dated 23rd January 2024, by which Mary Njeri Munjogu, personal representative of the Estate of Fredrick Gacanja Munjogu, sought a temporary injunction restraining the Plaintiff from taking possession of, trespassing on, constructing on, or dealing with L.R. No. 12672/186 in Runda Gardens Estate. Earlier, on 19th December 2023, the court had granted the Plaintiff ex parte orders including unrestricted access to the suit property, unaware of subsequent facts. The Registrar confirmed on oath that the registered owner on Certificate of Title I.R. 89480 is Fredrick Gacanja Munjogu, and that the Plaintiff's purported transfers, day book and searches were forgeries with no supporting records at the Ministry of Lands. The 5th Defendant held confirmed grants distributing the property wholly to her. The court held that a confirmed grant is equivalent to a High Court decree and vests the property in the beneficiary, and that it has unfettered discretion under sections 3 and 3A of the Civil Procedure Act, Order 40 rule 7 and Article 159 of the Constitution to discharge or vary injunction orders in the interests of justice. Applying Giella v Cassman Brown, the court found a prima facie case under section 26 of the Land Registration Act, irreparable loss given the 5th Defendant's 22 years of occupation, and the balance of convenience in her favour. The court discharged Order 3 of 19th December 2023, granted the interlocutory injunction against the Plaintiff, and awarded costs against him.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the interlocutory injunction sought by the 5th Defendant meets the Giella v Cassman Brown criteria

Holding

The 5th Defendant established a prima facie case under Section 26 of the Land Registration Act, irreparable loss, and the balance of convenience tilted in her favour

Reasoning

The confirmed grant vested the suit property wholly in the 5th Defendant, and the Registrar confirmed the Plaintiff's documents were forgeries without supporting records. She had been in occupation for 22 years, so interfering with her possession would cause irreparable loss, and the balance of convenience favoured her.

p. 5
02

Whether the orders of 19th December 2023 should be discharged

Holding

Order No. 3 granting the Plaintiff unrestricted access was discharged as untenable in light of the uncontroverted evidence

Reasoning

The Chief Land Registrar confirmed on oath that the registered owner is Fredrick Gacanja Munjogu and that the Plaintiff's title, transfers, day book and searches were forgeries unsupported by Ministry of Lands records. The earlier orders were issued oblivious of these facts and maintaining them would be against the ends of justice.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • A confirmed grant and distribution vests the distributed property on the beneficiary, equivalent to a decree of the High Court
  • The court has an unfettered discretion to discharge, vary or set aside an injunction order where the ends of justice so demand

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Discharge of Order number 3 granted on 19th December, 2023 allowing the Plaintiff or his authorized agents unfettered and unrestricted access into the suit property
  2. 2.Interlocutory injunction pending the hearing and determination of the suit restraining the Plaintiff, whether by himself, his agents, servants or anyone acting at his behest, from taking possession, trespassing, occupying, undertaking any construction on, or dealing with the suit property in any manner likely to adversely affect the 5th Defendant's interest
  3. 3.Costs of the application against the Plaintiff

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Civil Procedure Actsections 3 and 3A
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 40 Rules 1, 2, 3, 4, 7 and 9; Order 1 rule 10
  • Land Registration Actsections 26 and 61(2)
  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 159

Cases cited (3)

  • St. Patrick’s Hill School Ltd v Bank of Africa Kenya Ltd
    [2018] eKLR
  • Benl Development Ltd v First Community Bank Ltd
    [2021] eKLR
  • Giella v Cassman Brown & Company Ltd
    [1974] EA
Jurisdiction invoked
Sections 3 and 3A of the Civil Procedure Act, Order 40 rule 7 of the Civil Procedure Rules and Article 159 of the Constitution

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Nyoike v Chief Land Registrar & 4 others (Environment & Land Case E197 of 2023) [2024] KEELC 3829 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Notice of Motion dated 23rd January, 2024 in the main suit (not stated in extract). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/3829/eng@2024-05-14

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.