Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2024] KEELC 3721 (KLR)

El Kithiri (Administrator of the Estate of Faraj Abeid) v Timimi (Environment & Land Case E130 of 2022) [2024] KEELC 3721 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
24 April 2024
1,782 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~7 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court ordered a family member's name reinstated on a Mombasa land title because it was removed without consent or proof of error.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, son of the late Faraj Abeid Said (deceased 3rd October 1983), sued the defendant claiming that in 2013 the defendant, without the plaintiff's knowledge, procured the removal of his late father's name from the title of L.R No. Mombasa/Block XVI/1113, originally registered on 2nd March 1995 in the names of Faraj Abeid Said, Mohamed Karama Abeid and Yusuf Karama Timimi. He sought reinstatement of the 1995 title and cancellation of the title issued on 27th February 2013 in the names of the defendant and his late brother. The defendant contended that Faraj Abeid's inclusion in the 1995 title was an erroneous entry, and that he and his brother legitimately applied to the Registrar for rectification, which was effected on 27th February 2013. The court, applying Section 79 of the Land Registration Act as explained in Mary Ruguru Njoroge v John Samuel Gachuma Mbugua & 4 others (2014) eKLR, held that the Registrar's rectification powers extend only to errors not materially affecting a proprietor's interests or with the consent of all affected parties. The defendant admitted the plaintiff was not involved; no evidence proved the entry was a mistake, and Faraj Abeid was a family member with a direct connection to the registered proprietors. The 2013 certificate therefore could not be treated as conclusive evidence of indefeasible ownership under Section 26(1). Judgment was entered for the plaintiff: the Land Registrar was ordered to reinstate Faraj Abeid Said's name within 90 days, with no order as to costs given the family relationship.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the rectification removing Faraj Abeid Said from the title complied with Section 79 of the Land Registration Act

Holding

The rectification did not meet the standards of Section 79; all affected parties were not involved and no error was proved

Reasoning

Section 79(1) permits rectification only in formal matters not materially affecting proprietors' interests, with consent of all affected parties, or upon resurvey. The defendant admitted he did not involve the plaintiff in the application to remove his father's name. No evidence showed the entry was a mistake, and the lapse of nearly 18 years between the original title and rectification compounded the irregularity.

p. 3
02

Whether the 2013 certificate of title is indefeasible under Section 26(1)

Holding

No - it cannot be treated as conclusive evidence of absolute ownership because it followed a non-compliant rectification

Reasoning

Section 26(1) makes a certificate of title prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership, subject to challenge on grounds of fraud or misrepresentation or illegal/unprocedural acquisition. Since the rectification process was procedurally flawed and unproven, the resulting title could not be conclusive.

p. 3
03

Whether the entry of Faraj Abeid's name in 1995 was erroneous

Holding

The defendant failed to prove it was an error; Faraj Abeid was the registered proprietor's relative with a direct connection

Reasoning

The reason given on the green card was that the inclusion was erroneous, but no evidence was adduced showing a mistake such as a typographical slip or wrong name. Faraj Abeid was the maternal uncle of the defendant, indicating a genuine connection among the registered proprietors, and the defendant admitted his grandfather owned a third of the property.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • The Registrar's power to rectify under Section 79(1)(a) of the Land Registration Act extends only to errors or omissions that do not materially affect the interests of any registered proprietor
  • A certificate of title obtained through a non-compliant or fraudulent rectification cannot stand as conclusive evidence of indefeasible ownership

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Land Registrar is directed and ordered to effect rectification of the register of L.R Title No. Mombasa/Block XVI/1113 and include the name of Faraj Abeid Said within 90 days from the date of the judgment
  2. 2.No order as to costs as the parties are from one family

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Registration ActSection 79(1)(a), (b), (c)
  • Land Registration ActSection 79(2)
  • Land Registration ActSection 79(3)
  • Land Registration ActSection 26(1)

Cases cited (1)

  • Mary Ruguru Njoroge vs John Samuel Gachuma Mbugua & 4 others
    (2014) eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction under the Land Registration Act, No. 3 of 2012 (Sections 79 and 26)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "El Kithiri (Administrator of the Estate of Faraj Abeid) v Timimi (Environment & Land Case E130 of 2022) [2024] KEELC 3721 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/3721/eng@2024-04-24

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.