Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially Allowednot stated in the judgment text· [2024] KEELC 3594 (KLR)

Fort Properties Limited v Kenya National Highways Authority & another; Co-operative Bank of Kenya Limited & another (Garnishee) (Constitutional Petition 29 of 2020) [2024] KEELC 3594 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court of Kenya
24 April 2024
26,472 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~106 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Environment and Land Court let Fort Properties seize Kshs 738 million from KeNHA's bank account, confirming state corporations are not shielded from debt enforcement.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This ruling of the Environment and Land Court at Mombasa (Naikuni J, delivered 24 April 2024) determined three consolidated interlocutory motions arising from Fort Properties Limited's attempts to execute a judgment of 28 October 2021 against Kenya National Highways Authority (KeNHA) and the National Land Commission for compensation arising from the compulsory acquisition of land for the Mombasa Port Area Road Development Project. KeNHA's application dated 14 June 2023 sought review of the 15 May 2023 garnishee order nisi ruling and the unfreezing of Kshs. 738,758,414.87 frozen at Co-operative Bank, contending that Section 68 of the Kenya Roads Act, Section 21 of the Government Proceedings Act and Order 29 of the Civil Procedure Rules barred attachment of its funds. The court dismissed it, holding that no error apparent on the face of the record or other sufficient ground for review existed, and that KeNHA, as an independent state corporation able to sue and be sued in its own name, is not 'the Government' shielded from execution. The Petitioner's application dated 15 June 2023 seeking that the garnishee order nisi be made absolute was allowed in full, as the garnishee neither appeared nor disputed the debt. KeNHA's application dated 15 September 2023 seeking to deem its 2021 Notice of Appeal properly filed or to extend time to appeal was dismissed for inordinate, unexplained delay, applying the Leo Sila Mutiso parameters. Costs of all three applications were awarded to the Petitioner and the 1st Garnishee, payable by KeNHA, and the garnishee order absolute was directed to be satisfied within 30 days.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the 1st Respondent demonstrated grounds to review the ruling of 15th May 2023 and secure unfreezing of its account

Holding

The application dated 14th June 2023 was dismissed. The court found nothing contradictory in the orders of 23rd May and 5th June 2023, no discovery of new matter, no error apparent on the face of the record, and no sufficient reason for review; the unfreezing order was unnecessary.

Reasoning

The court held the extracted orders mirrored the ruling of 15th May 2023 and the prayers of the application dated 11th August 2022, which was allowed. The 1st Respondent filed documents affirming money existed in its account, and the garnishee did not dispute liability. Review under Section 80 CPA and Order 45 Rule 1 requires new and important matter, error apparent or sufficient reason, none of which was shown, though the application was filed timeously.

p. 44
02

Whether Kenya National Highways Authority is shielded from garnishee execution by Section 68 of the Kenya Roads Act, Section 21 of the Government Proceedings Act and Order 29 of the Civil Procedure Rules

Holding

No. KeNHA is a state corporation capable of suing and being sued in its own name and is not 'the Government' for purposes of the Government Proceedings Act; Section 68 restricts but does not make attachment illegal, and the Director-General was duty-bound to pay without delay.

Reasoning

Following Ikon Prints and the Kisya Investments dicta, the court reasoned that a body corporate with perpetual succession dependent on government funding is nonetheless an independent juridical body. Since the Authority admitted partial indebtedness and had not paid the balance despite command to pay without delay, garnishee proceedings against its funds were a permissible execution route and not a nullity.

p. 35
03

Whether the garnishee order nisi issued on 5th June 2023 should be made absolute

Holding

Yes. The application dated 15th June 2023 was allowed in its entirety; the order nisi was made absolute for payment within 30 days.

Reasoning

The court found there was no dispute about the debt and no contest that the 1st Garnishee held funds in the 1st Respondent's account. The order nisi had been served on the garnishee, who neither attended to show cause nor disputed liability; under Order 23 Rule 4 the court could make the order absolute where the debt is undisputed.

p. 45
04

Whether leave should be granted to deem the Notice of Appeal properly filed or extend time to file notice of appeal

Holding

No. The application dated 15th September 2023 was dismissed with costs.

Reasoning

The judgment was delivered on 28th October 2021 and the application filed 15th September 2023, a delay of about one year and eleven months. New advocates came on record in June 2023 but filed the application in September without explaining that delay. Applying Leo Sila Mutiso, the inordinate unexplained delay and the partial satisfaction of the decree weighed against extension.

p. 47
05

Costs of the three applications

Holding

Costs awarded to the Petitioner and the 1st Garnishee, payable by the 1st Respondent, applying the principle that costs follow the event under Section 27(1) of the Civil Procedure Act.

Reasoning

The court invoked its discretion under Section 27(1) of the Civil Procedure Act, noting the 1st Respondent's failure to satisfy the decree dragged the Petitioner back to court. All three applications were determined in the Petitioner's favour (two dismissals of KeNHA's applications and one allowance of the Petitioner's application).

p. 47

Legal principles established

#
  • A litigant is entitled to enforce a judgment by garnishee proceedings where the judgment debtor fails to comply, and where the garnishee admits or does not dispute the debt the court may make the order absolute.
  • Kenya National Highways Authority, being a state corporation with capacity to sue and be sued in its own name, is not 'the Government' for purposes of the Government Proceedings Act, Cap. 40, and its judgments are not judgments against the government.
  • Section 68 of the Kenya Roads Act restricts but does not prohibit execution against the Authority; where the Director-General fails to pay without delay, attachment is permissible.
  • A garnishee order nisi may be made absolute where the garnishee does not appear or does not dispute the debt due from him to the judgment debtor.
  • An erroneous view of evidence or law is a ground of appeal, not a ground for review; review requires discovery of new matter, error apparent on the face of the record, or other sufficient reason, without unreasonable delay.
  • Extension of time to appeal is discretionary and depends on length of delay, reason for delay, chances of appeal succeeding and prejudice to the respondent.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.That the Notice of Motion application dated 14th June, 2023 be and is hereby found to lack merit hence is dismissed in its entirety with costs to the Petitioner/Respondent.
  2. 2.That the Notice of Motion application dated 15th June, 2023 be and is found to have merit hence allowed in its entirety with costs to the Petitioner/Applicant.
  3. 3.That the Notice of Motion application dated 15th September, 2023 be and is hereby found to lack merit hence dismissed in its entirety with costs to the Petitioner/Respondent.
  4. 4.That the garnishee order nisi issued on 5th June 2023 be and is hereby made absolute and the funds be paid out to the Decree Holder's account (Fort Properties Limited, NCBA, Account No. 670365XXXX, Moi Avenue Mombasa Branch) within the next thirty (30) days from the date of the Ruling.
  5. 5.That costs of the Notices of Motion application dated 14th June, 2023; 15th June, 2023 and 15th September, 2023 be awarded to the Petitioner and 1st Garnishee to be paid by the 1st Respondent.

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Civil Procedure Act, Cap 21Sections 1A, 1B, 3A, 3B, 26, 27(1), 80
  • Civil Procedure Rules, 2010Order 21 Rules 8(2), 22; Order 23 Rules 1, 2, 3, 4, 10; Order 29 Rules 1(1), 2(2)(c), 4(1); Order 40; Order 41; Order 45 Rule 1; Order 51 Rule 1; Order 22 Rule 42
  • Kenya Roads Act, No. 2 of 2007 (Cap 409)Sections 3, 4, 5, 68(a) & (b)
  • Government Proceedings Act, Cap 40Sections 2, 3, 12(1), 19, 20, 21(1), (2), (3), (4), (5)
  • Government Proceedings (Amendment) Act, 2015not specified
  • Constitution of Kenya, 2010Articles 10, 40, 47, 67(1), 67(2), 159(2), 162(2)(b) [implied by court], 253
  • High Court (Organization and Administration) ActSection 10
  • Appellate Jurisdiction ActSection 7
  • State Corporations Act, Cap 446Section 3(1)
  • National Land Commission Act, No. 5 of 2012Section 30
  • Land ActPart VIII
  • Anti-Corruption and Economic Crimes Act (ACECA)Section 61A

Cases cited (26)

  • Nyandaro & Co. Advocates v National Water Conservation & Pipeline Corporation and Kenya Commercial Bank Group Ltd
    Misc Civil App. No. 241 of 2019 (eKLR)
  • Ikon Prints Media Company Limited v Kenya National Highways Authority & 2 others
    [2015] eKLR; Petition No. 513 of 2013
  • Kenya National Highways Authority v Ahmednassir Maalim Abdullahi
    [2021] eKLR
  • Communications Commission of Kenya and 5 Others v Royal Media Services and 5 Others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Barclays Bank of Kenya Limited v Kepha Nyabera & 191 others
    (2013) eKLR
  • Jamleck Waweru Karanja v County Government of Nakuru
    [2020] eKLR
  • Republic v Attorney General; Law Society of Kenya (Interested Party): Ex-parte Francis Andrew Moriasi
    (2019) eKLR
  • Republic v Hon. Attorney General; Law Society of Kenya - Nairobi Branch (Interested Party)
    (2023)
  • In the Matter of Interim Independence Electoral Commission
    (2011) eKLR
  • Pravin Bowry v Ethics & Anti-Corruption Commission
    [2015] eKLR
  • Kisya Investments Limited v Attorney General & Another
    [2005] eKLR
  • Five Star Agencies Limited v National Land Commission & National Bank of Kenya
    Court of Appeal No. E290 of 2023
  • Republic vs Permanent Secretary, Ministry of State for Provincial Administration and Internal Security Ex parte Fredrick Manoah Egunza
    [2012] eKLR
  • Republic v Attorney General & another ex-parte Stephen Wanyee Roki
    (2016) eKLR
  • Benjoh Amalgamated Limited & Another v Kenya Commercial Bank Limited
    (2014) eKLR
  • Nyamogo & Nyamogo v Kogo
    (2001) EA 170
  • Timber Manufacturers and Dealers v Nairobi Golf Hotels (K)
    HCCC No. 5220 of 1992
  • Abasi Belinda v Fredrick Kangwanu and Another
    (1963) EA 557
  • The Official Receiver and Liquidator v Freight Forwarders Kenya Ltd
    (2000) eKLR
  • UBA Plc v Ekanem
    (2010) 6 NWLR (Pt. 1190) 207
  • C.B.N v Auto Import Export
  • Buscar EA Ltd t/a Starways Express & another v Patrick Ngala Riziki
    [2019] eKLR
  • Leo Sila Mutiso v Rose Hellen Wangari Mwangi
    Civil Application No. Nai. 255 of 1997 (unreported)
  • Andrew Kiplagat Chemaringo v Paul Kipkorir Kibet
    [2018] eKLR
  • Jasbir Rai Singh v Tarchalan Singh
    (2014) eKLR
  • Cecilia Karuru Ngayo v Barclays Bank of Kenya Limited
    (2014) eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court under Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution (implied); applications brought under Sections 1A, 1B, 3A and 80 of the Civil Procedure Act, Order 45 Rule 1 and Order 23 of the Civil Procedure Rules, 2010, and Section 7 of the Appellate Jurisdiction Act

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Fort Properties Limited v Kenya National Highways Authority & another; Co-operative Bank of Kenya Limited & another (Garnishee) (Constitutional Petition 29 of 2020) [2024] KEELC 3594 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). not stated in the judgment text. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/3594/eng@2024-04-24

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.