Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2024] KEELC 3292 (KLR)

Oyugi & 2 others v Cheptarus; Oyugi & another (Third party) (Environment and Land Case 211 of 2018) [2024] KEELC 3292 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
23 April 2024
5,686 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~23 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Environment and Land Court cancelled a buyer's title to estate land sold without a grant, ordered him out, and awarded 20 years of rent.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiffs, administrators of the estate of Hezekiah Nelson Oyugi Ogango, sued the defendant seeking injunction, possession and mesne profits over Nakuru Municipality Block 12/30, registered to the deceased in 1984. The defendant claimed he bought the property from Doreen Aribeta Oyugi, a widow of the deceased and 1st third party, for Kshs 2,500,000/- and sought indemnity from her and the Land Registrar (2nd third party). The court framed a single issue: whether the parcel was fraudulently and illegally transferred to the defendant. Relying on the Land Registrar's evidence, the court found two white cards existed for one parcel, the smaller one - showing Doreen's 2001 registration and the defendant's 2002 registration - had no green card root, no transmission documents, and was planted and backdated in the registry. The deceased had died in 1992, his estate undistributed, and Doreen held no grant, so she had no capacity to sell (nemo dat quod non habet). The defendant's title deed dated 23/05/2002 predated his 1/04/2004 sale agreement, an unexplained discrepancy the court treated as evidence of fraud. Applying Section 26(1)(b) of the Land Registration Act as explained in Elijah Makeri, the court held the tainted title null and void regardless of the defendant's personal culpability. On mesne profits, the court applied Peter Mwangi Mbuthia, rejecting the pleaded Kshs 25,000/- rate as unsubstantiated, and awarded Kshs 3,840,000/- (240 months at the defendant's admitted Kshs 16,000/- rate from March 2004), continuing monthly. Judgment was entered for the plaintiffs with declaration, mandatory and permanent injunctions, reinstatement of the estate's registration, mesne profits, and costs against the defendant and Doreen jointly and severally; the 2nd third party got no costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the suit property was fraudulently and illegally transferred to the defendant

Holding

Yes - the transfers to Doreen and then to the defendant were fraudulent and irregular, and the defendant's title is impeachable

Reasoning

The court relied on the Land Registrar's evidence of two white cards for one parcel, one unsupported by any green card or transmission documents and evidently planted and backdated; the death of the registered proprietor before the purported transfer; the absence of any transfer form or grant; and the unexplained discrepancy between the date of the defendant's title (23/5/2002) and his sale agreement (1/04/2004). Under Section 26(1)(b) of the Land Registration Act such tainted title confers no protectable interest.

p. 7
02

Whether Doreen had capacity to sell the estate's property

Holding

No - succession proceedings were unconcluded and she held no grant, so she had no title to pass (nemo dat quod non habet)

Reasoning

Hezekiah died on 7/08/1992 and his estate remains undistributed. Only administrators appointed under a grant can transfer estate property. No transfer documents supported Doreen's 2001 registration. She therefore could not pass any valid title to the defendant.

p. 6
03

Whether the defendant was an innocent purchaser for value

Holding

The defence fails regardless of the defendant's involvement, because Section 26(1)(b) removes protection from any title acquired illegally or unprocedurally

Reasoning

The court adopted Elijah Makeri, holding the title holder need not have contributed to the vitiating factors. The defendant's own documents showed an unexplained date discrepancy, no acknowledgment of payment of the cash sum, no transfer documents or stamp duty receipt, and a disowned search - undermining due diligence.

p. 9
04

Mesne profits

Holding

Awarded at Kshs 16,000/- per month from March 2004 (defendant's admitted last rent payment) totalling Kshs 3,840,000/- for 240 months

Reasoning

The defendant admitted the property generated rent (at Kshs 16,000/-, not the Kshs 25,000/- pleaded). The court took the admission in the defence paragraph 10 as to March 2004 as the last rent payment, computing 240 months at the lower admitted rate rather than the unsubstantiated pleaded rate.

p. 9

Legal principles established

#
  • Under Section 26(1)(b) of the Land Registration Act, a title need not be held by a party to the vitiating factors; a title obtained illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme is impeachable even against an innocent holder
  • A transfer from a deceased's estate can only be effected through a grant executed by duly appointed administrators; a purported transfer without such grant is fraudulent
  • Mesne profits require material demonstrating how the claimed amount was arrived at, though the burden may be discharged by the defendant's own admission of receipt of rent

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that parcel No. Nakuru Municipality Block 12/30 rightfully belongs to the estate of Hezekiah O. Oyugi (deceased)
  2. 2.A mandatory injunction compelling the defendant to vacate the suit land and give vacant possession to the plaintiffs within 90 days of the judgment
  3. 3.A permanent injunction restraining the defendant from remaining on or continuing in occupation of the property after expiry of 90 days or re-entry thereafter
  4. 4.The Land Registrar Nakuru to cancel the registration of the defendant and reinstate Hezekiah O. Oyugi as proprietor of parcel No. Nakuru Municipality Block 12/30
  5. 5.The defendant to pay Kshs 3,840,000/= mesne profits for March 2004 to March 2024, continuing at Kshs 16,000/- per month after March 2024, with interest at court rates till payment in full
  6. 6.Plaintiff's costs of the suit borne jointly and severally by the defendant and Doreen Aribeta Oyugi
  7. 7.The 2nd Third Party not entitled to any costs of the suit

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Succession ActSections 45, 55(1), 71, 82
  • Land Registration ActSection 26 (including 26(1)(b))

Cases cited (10)

  • Re Estate of M'Ajogi M'Ikiugi (deceased)
    [2017] eKLR
  • Diamond Trust Bank Kenya Ltd v Said Hamad Shamisi & 2 Others
    [2015] eKLR
  • Nelson Kivuvani v Yuda Komora & another
    HCC No. 956 of 1991
  • Kimotho v KCB
    [2003] 1 EA 108
  • Elijah Makeri Nyangwara v Stephen Mungai Njuguna & another
    [2013] eKLR
  • Esther Ndegi Njiru & another v Leonard Gatei
    [2014] eKLR
  • Weston Gitonga & 10 others v Peter Rugu Gikanga & another
    [2017] eKLR
  • Levben Products v Alexander Films (SA) (PTY) Ltd
    1957 (4) SA 225 (SR)
  • Party of Independent Candidate of Kenya & another v Mutula Kilonzo & 2 Others
    [2013] eKLR
  • Peter Mwangi Mbuthia & another v Samow Edin Osman
    [2014] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil suit within the jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court (land parcel Nakuru Municipality Block 12/30); no specific constitutional provision cited

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Oyugi & 2 others v Cheptarus; Oyugi & another (Third party) (Environment and Land Case 211 of 2018) [2024] KEELC 3292 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/3292/eng@2024-04-23

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.