Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment (Plaint dated 22nd October, 2012)· [2024] KEELC 1751 (KLR)

Obanyi v Lubanga (Substituted With Rogers L Nandwa & Juvenile Mandela Nandwa) & 2 others (Environment & Land Case 35 of 2012) [2024] KEELC 1751 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
11 April 2024
12,234 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~49 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court ruled that when a title lists two owners without stating shares, the survivor automatically inherits the whole property.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff sued the 1st and 2nd Defendants (administrators of the estate of Stephen Makuku Nandwa, with Rogers L. Nandwa and Juvenile Mandela Nandwa substituted for the deceased 1st Defendant Margaret Lubanga) and the District Land Registrar, Nakuru, claiming ownership of Njoro/Ngata Block 1/1223. She alleged that the property, jointly registered in her name and the deceased's on 14th November 2002, was fraudulently transmitted to the Defendants through Succession Cause No. 307 of 2009 (Kakamega High Court) after they reported the title lost, without her knowledge or consent. She sought a declaration of ownership, surrender of the Defendants' title, cancellation and correction of the register, withdrawal of a tenancy termination notice against her tenant, and an injunction. The Defendants denied fraud, asserting the Plaintiff had no interest and failed to prove the root of her title; the Registrar acknowledged an omission of the Plaintiff's name. The court framed three issues: ownership, fraud/irregularity, and costs. Applying Sections 101 and 102 of the Registered Land Act and the doctrine of survivorship, the court found that where the title does not specify shares, proprietorship is joint, and on the deceased's death in 2004 his interest vested in the Plaintiff. Although the Defendants' registration flowed from succession proceedings, it was irregular because it ignored the Plaintiff's proprietary interest; fraud itself was not strictly proved, and the court declined to interrogate the succession proceedings. Judgment was entered for the Plaintiff with a declaration of ownership, an order for surrender and cancellation of the Defendants' title, rectification of the register in her favour, and costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Plaintiff is the legitimate owner of Njoro/Ngata Block 1/1223

Holding

Yes. The property was registered in the joint names of the Plaintiff and the deceased in 2002; the title did not specify the nature of co-tenancy and no shares were stated, so the proprietorship was joint; on the deceased's death in 2004 his interest vested in the Plaintiff by survivorship

Reasoning

The court examined Exhibit P1 (title deed) and the green card showing registration of the Plaintiff and the deceased as proprietors on 14/11/2002. Since the title did not specify shares, under Section 101(1) of the Registered Land Act the proprietorship was joint. Section 102 provides that on the death of a joint proprietor, the interest vests in the survivor. The court relied on the doctrine of survivorship (jus accrescendi) as explained in Isabel Chelangat v Samuel Tiro, holding that upon the deceased's death all rights transmitted to the Plaintiff.

p. 19
02

Whether the certificate of title issued to the 1st and 2nd Defendants was fraudulently or corruptly acquired

Holding

The registration of the 1st and 2nd Defendants was irregular but not proven fraudulent; it followed succession orders but failed to take into account the Plaintiff's proprietary interest evidenced by the official search of 2/7/2009 and the original title she held

Reasoning

The court found the Plaintiff did not discharge the burden of proving fraud to the strict standard required, noting the transfer was pursuant to orders in Succession Cause No. 307 of 2009. The court declined to interrogate the succession proceedings. However, it found the 1st and 2nd Defendants knew from the 2009 official search that the property was jointly owned, the affidavit alleging loss of title omitted the joint registration, and the medical report on the deceased's incapacity lacked a nexus to lack of capacity at the time of transfer and its author was not called as a witness.

p. 21

Legal principles established

#
  • Where an instrument of transfer to two or more persons does not specify the nature of their co-ownership rights, the presumption under Section 91(2) of the Land Registration Act is tenancy in common in equal shares; but under the Registered Land Act, where no shares are specified the proprietorship is joint
  • On the death of a joint proprietor, the deceased's interest vests in the surviving proprietor(s) by operation of law (jus accrescendi / right of survivorship)
  • Fraud must be specifically pleaded, and the particulars and the fraudulent conduct distinctly alleged and distinctly proved

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that the Plaintiff is the legitimate owner of parcel of land Njoro/Ngata Block 1/1223 having become the sole owner after the death of Stephen Makuku Nandwa
  2. 2.The 1st and 2nd Defendants ordered to surrender the title of Njoro/Ngata Block 1/1223 to the 3rd Defendant for cancellation
  3. 3.The 3rd Defendant ordered to correct the register in respect of Njoro/Ngata Block 1/1223 by deleting the names of the 1st and 2nd Defendants and replacing them with the name of the Plaintiff
  4. 4.The Plaintiff awarded costs of the suit
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land disputes (suit by plaint); no specific constitutional provision invoked for jurisdiction

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Obanyi v Lubanga (Substituted With Rogers L Nandwa & Juvenile Mandela Nandwa) & 2 others (Environment & Land Case 35 of 2012) [2024] KEELC 1751 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment (Plaint dated 22nd October, 2012). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/1751/eng@2024-04-11

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.