Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in judgment (Kakamega ELC suit; plaint dated 31st March 2017)· [2024] KEELC 1731 (KLR)

Majani v County Government of Kakamega, Ministry of Transport, Infrastructure, Public Works & Energy (Environment & Land Case 142 of 2017) [2024] KEELC 1731 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
11 April 2024
2,293 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~9 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan landowner won a trespass case against a county government but lost his crop damage claim because he couldn't prove the exact amounts.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, registered proprietor of parcel Idakho/Iguhu/1852 (pleaded as Kakamega/Iguhu/1852), sued the County Government of Kakamega for encroaching on his land in March 2016 during road construction, seeking a permanent injunction, special damages of KShs 84,000 for destroyed trees and crops, general damages, interest and costs. The defendant denied the averments but conceded at submissions that encroachment occurred, disputing only its extent and valuation. The plaintiff called five witnesses, including two surveyors and two valuers whose loss assessments ranged widely; the defendant called its land surveyor, who found 0.02 hectares encroached on the suit parcel, and its County Valuer, who assessed the encroached land at KShs 92,000. The court framed a sole issue: whether the reliefs sought should issue. It deemed Idakho/Iguhu/1852 the correct parcel number by consensus. Holding that the plaintiff, as registered proprietor under Section 24 of the Land Registration Act, demonstrated his rights and their infringement, the court granted a permanent injunction against further encroachment despite the defendant's argument that no continuing threat existed. Special damages failed because particulars were not pleaded and the reports relied on were mere estimates. General damages for trespass were assessed at KShs 200,000, the court noting the plaintiff's lack of submissions on quantum and that parties are bound by their pleadings. Judgment was entered for the plaintiff with costs, delivered at Kakamega on 11th April 2024 by D. O. Ohungo, Judge.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether a permanent injunction should issue against the defendant

Holding

Permanent injunction granted because the plaintiff demonstrated his registered rights and the defendant encroached on them

Reasoning

The court held that although the defendant argued there was no continuing threat of encroachment, it sufficed that the plaintiff, as registered proprietor under Section 24 of the Land Registration Act, demonstrated his rights and that the defendant threatened them through encroachment. Citing Nguruman and Kenya Power v Habib, the court found the plaintiff entitled to a permanent injunction restraining further encroachment.

p. 3
02

Whether special damages of KShs 84,000 were proved

Holding

Not proved; no award

Reasoning

Special damages must be specifically pleaded and strictly proved with certainty and particularity. The plaintiff did not plead particulars, and the reports of the retired Forest Officer and Agricultural Officer contained unsubstantiated estimates. The maximum awardable sum was the pleaded KShs 84,000, but the evidential standard was not met.

p. 4
03

Quantum of general damages for trespass

Holding

KShs 200,000 awarded as general damages for trespass

Reasoning

Though not specifically pleaded as damages for trespass, the court inferred from submissions that the plaintiff sought damages for trespass. Applying Halsbury's principles, and noting the plaintiff made no submissions on quantum while the defendant offered KShs 100,000, the court exercised its discretion judiciously and assessed general damages at KShs 200,000, disregarding competing valuation figures as context only.

p. 4
04

Correct title number of the suit property

Holding

Court deemed Idakho/Iguhu/1852 the correct title number in view of the parties' consensus, notwithstanding the plaint's reference to Kakamega/Iguhu/1852

Reasoning

The pleadings referred to Kakamega/Iguhu/1852 but all evidence, exhibits, the title deed and both parties' documents referred to Idakho/Iguhu/1852. Relying on the parties' consensus, the court deemed the latter the correct parcel number.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • Special damages must be specifically pleaded and strictly proved with a degree of certainty and particularity
  • An owner of land is entitled to nominal damages where no actual damage is occasioned by trespass; reasonable damages are payable where the trespasser made use of the land
  • Parties are bound by their pleadings
  • A registered proprietor is entitled to the rights, privileges and benefits under Section 24 of the Land Registration Act

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A permanent injunction restraining the defendant by itself, its agents, or servants from further encroachment on the parcel of land known as Idakho/Iguhu/1852
  2. 2.General damages for trespass of KShs 200,000 awarded to the plaintiff
  3. 3.Costs of the suit to the plaintiff

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Registration ActSection 24

Cases cited (9)

  • Park Towers Ltd vs John Muthomo Njika et al
    [2017] eKLR
  • Klillesden Investment Limited vs Kenya Hotel Properties Limited
    HCC No. 367 of 2000
  • Jacob Ernest Ambala Odondi v Violet Shikuku
    [2021] eKLR
  • John K Koech v Peter Chepkwony
    [2019] eKLR
  • Obadiah K. Macharia v Kenya Power & Lighting Company Ltd
    [2016] eKLR
  • Nguruman Limited v Jan Bonde Nielsen & 2 others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Kenya Power & Lighting Co. Limited v Sharif Molana Habib
    [2018] eKLR
  • Richard Okuku Oloo v South Nyanza Sugar Co. Ltd
    [2013] eKLR
  • Raila Amolo Odinga & Another v IEBC & 2 others
    [2017] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over disputes relating to land (use and title to land), Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution (as implied by the court's subject matter; not expressly quoted)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Majani v County Government of Kakamega, Ministry of Transport, Infrastructure, Public Works & Energy (Environment & Land Case 142 of 2017) [2024] KEELC 1731 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in judgment (Kakamega ELC suit; plaint dated 31st March 2017). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/1731/eng@2024-04-11

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.