Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2024] KEELC 1487 (KLR)

Samuel Kimotho & Others v Attorney General (1st defendant) [plaintiffs' suit against the Kenya Prisons Service marking of their parcels]

Environment and Land Court of Kenya
15 March 2024
4,245 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~17 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Landowners in Nakuru lost their titles because their parcels sat on gazetted prison land that was never legally available for private allocation in the first place.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiffs, registered proprietors of parcels created out of Njoro/Ngata Block 16 (tracing the chain from Patricia Stewart Peters in 1967 through Martin Luther Olweny Owuor, Boma Investments Limited and the Catholic Diocese of Nakuru), sued after officers of the 1st defendant marked their properties with 'X' and 'K.P.S' signage on 22nd February 2021. They sought a declaration of ownership, a permanent injunction against trespass, demolition and interference, general damages, costs and interest. The defendants contended the land belonged to Kenya Prisons Services under gazette notice No. 361 of 22nd June 1961 and that the plaintiffs' titles were fraudulently obtained. After a site visit facilitated by three surveyors, the court found the disputed parcels fall within L.R 452/1/4 as defined by beacons on FR26/146 of 1925, on which a gazetted prison building stood. It held the 1961 gazettement affected the buildings and the land beneath them, rendering the land public land occupied by a state organ under Article 62 of the Constitution and unavailable for private allocation. The Commissioner of Lands' 1967 alienation was ultra vires section 3 of the Government Lands Act and un-procedural, so the subsequent titles were tainted with illegality and the plaintiffs were not bona fide purchasers for value without notice. Applying Dina Management Ltd v County Government of Mombasa, the court declined to sanction the illegality on the basis of indefeasibility. The suit was dismissed with no costs, the plaintiffs being regarded as victims of the Commissioner of Lands' mistakes and misrepresentations.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether L.R 452/1/4 was unalienated government land available for allocation

Holding

No - the parcel was public land occupied and used by the prisons department, with gazetted prison buildings, and was therefore not available for private allocation.

Reasoning

The court conducted a site visit with three surveyors and confirmed the disputed parcels fall within L.R 452/1/4 defined by beacons on FR26/146 of 1925. It found the 1961 gazette notice covered the buildings and the land beneath them. Land occupied by state organs was presumed to belong to those organs even without formal alienation by the Commissioner of Lands, and the Commissioner was under a duty to protect such unalienated government land.

p. 6
02

Whether the plaintiffs held indefeasible titles as bona fide purchasers for value without notice

Holding

No - the plaintiffs' titles were tainted with illegality at the root; the first alienation by the Commissioner of Lands in 1967 was un-procedural and illegal, so no valid title could be passed down the chain, and the plaintiffs cannot claim bona fide purchaser status.

Reasoning

Relying on Dina Management Ltd v County Government of Mombasa, the court held that title is an end product of a lawful process. The Commissioner had no authority under section 3 of the Government Lands Act to alienate the land, the PDP approval of 14th May 1998 was an act of illegality, and the plaintiffs were presumed to have read the gazette notice. Section 62 of the Constitution defines such land occupied by a state organ as public land, and Article 40(6) does not protect unlawfully acquired property.

p. 8
03

Whether gazette notice No. 361 of 22nd June 1961 vested land or merely established prison buildings

Holding

The gazette notice affected both the prison buildings and the land on which they stood; it was not an alienation but a declaration that the land was being used for a public purpose by a state organ and was not available for private alienation.

Reasoning

The court held it was unreasonable that the gazettement would affect the buildings alone, since the buildings stood on the suit land. The notice was characterised not as vesting title but as a statement of public use under a state organ. Consequently the 1967 alienation creating L.R 11788 was illegal, and even the grant itself acknowledged that public land had been merged with private land.

p. 7

Legal principles established

#
  • A court cannot, on the basis of indefeasibility of title, sanction an illegality; a title is indefeasible only if the first allocation was legal, proper and regular, and a proprietor with an irregularly acquired root of title cannot pass valid interest to successors or claim bona fide purchaser protection.
  • Under section 3 of the Government Lands Act, the power to alienate unalienated government land was the preserve of the President and the Commissioner of Lands had no authority to alienate it (save for delegated limited purposes).
  • A gazette notice under section 3 of the Prisons Ordinance declaring prison buildings affects the building plus the land where the building is situate, making the land public land occupied by a state organ and unavailable for alienation for private use.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The suit is dismissed.
  2. 2.No costs are awarded against the plaintiffs; the dismissal is with no costs as the plaintiffs are victims of the mistakes and misrepresentations by the Commissioner of Lands.
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court in a plaint seeking declaration of ownership and permanent injunction (not expressly stated in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Samuel Kimotho & Others v Attorney General (1st defendant) [plaintiffs' suit against the Kenya Prisons Service marking of their parcels]", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/1487/eng@2024-03-15

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.