Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment (a restriction on the register references ELC Case No. 100 of 2017)· [2024] KEELC 1328 (KLR)

Njoroge v Kinuthia & another (Environment & Land Case 101 of 2017) [2024] KEELC 1328 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
14 March 2024
8,709 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~35 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court cancelled two land transfers, ruling a buyer cannot claim protection if he knew the seller was not the true owner.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, a Kenyan resident in Switzerland, sued the 1st defendant (her niece) and the 2nd defendant seeking a declaration that the transfers of land parcel Nakuru Municipality Block 22/718 to the 1st defendant on 12/04/2016 and to the 2nd defendant on 11/5/2016 were null and void, rectification of the register, a permanent injunction, mesne profits and costs. She alleged she left her original title deed with the 1st defendant for safekeeping, only for the 1st defendant to fraudulently cause the property to be transferred to herself and then sold to the 2nd defendant. The 2nd defendant defended the suit as a bona fide purchaser for value, asserting the 1st defendant had been gifted the property, that he conducted due diligence, repaid a K-Rep Bank charge, obtained land control board consent and paid stamp duty. The 1st defendant never entered appearance. The court found no deed of gift was ever produced, the plaintiff's passport showed she was abroad when the 2013 charge was allegedly executed, and the parcel file containing the transaction documents could not be traced at the lands registry. Because the 2nd defendant knew during negotiations that the land was registered in the plaintiff's name yet contracted with the 1st defendant without ensuring the plaintiff's personal involvement, he failed the test of a bona fide purchaser without notice; the rule nemo dat quod non habet applied. Judgment was entered for the plaintiff jointly and severally against the defendants: the two transfers were declared null and void, the plaintiff was declared the lawful owner, the register was ordered rectified by cancelling the defendants' entries and title, and a permanent injunction was issued. The mesne profits claim failed for lack of sufficient evidence. The defendants were ordered to pay the costs of the suit.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the 1st defendant acquired a valid title to the suit property (the alleged gift)

Holding

No; no deed of gift or transfer from the plaintiff to the 1st defendant was proved, so the 1st defendant's acquisition was irregular and fraudulent and could confer no good title

Reasoning

The 2nd defendant himself admitted he never saw any deed bequeathing the property to the 1st defendant, and his advocate trusted only the word of Mr. Munene. The plaintiff denied gifting the property and only left the title deed for safekeeping. The Land Registrar could not trace the parcel file containing the transaction documents. The 1st defendant never entered appearance or participated in the hearing, so the allegations of fraud against her were essentially unrebutted.

p. 10
02

Whether the 2nd defendant qualified as a bona fide purchaser for value without notice

Holding

No; he knew during negotiations that the land was registered in the plaintiff's name, yet he contracted with the 1st defendant without ensuring the plaintiff was personally involved, so his title is impeached and fit for cancellation

Reasoning

A bona fide purchaser must prove valid and legal title, due diligence to determine the lawful owner, and payment of valuable consideration, and where root of title is challenged must go beyond the instrument of title. The 2nd defendant admitted he negotiated with the 1st defendant while the land was still registered in the plaintiff's name; a mere phone call through the 1st defendant, whose identity the plaintiff's voice he could not verify, did not suffice. Since the 1st defendant had no valid title, nemo dat applied.

p. 13
03

Whether the plaintiff proved the fraud alleged against the defendants

Holding

Yes, on the transfer transactions; the plaintiff's passport showed she was out of the country when the charge was allegedly executed, and no evidence supported the alleged gift

Reasoning

The burden of proving fraud lay on the plaintiff to a standard higher than balance of probabilities. Her passport stamps showed she was absent in 2013 when the charge to K-Rep Bank was allegedly executed. Although part of the purchase price was deposited into her bank account, the evidence showed the 1st defendant operated the account and withdrew the monies, with no evidence the plaintiff personally received any funds. The missing parcel file further undermined the defendants' transactions.

p. 11
04

Whether the plaintiff was entitled to mesne profits

Holding

No; the claim failed for lack of sufficient evidence

Reasoning

Although the plaintiff claimed Kshs.37,000/= monthly rental income in the plaint, she testified at trial that the monthly rent from the houses was Kshs.7,000/=. This inconsistency, and the absence of supporting evidence quantifying the profits lost, meant the court could not award mesne profits despite finding for the plaintiff on liability.

p. 14

Legal principles established

#
  • Allegations of fraud must be pleaded and strictly proved to a standard higher than a balance of probabilities, though not beyond reasonable doubt
  • A title cannot be valid if it was acquired from a person who had no valid title; a proprietor whose root of title is challenged must prove the legality of the acquisition beyond the instrument of title
  • A person selling property registered in another's name cannot pass good title, and a purchaser who knows the seller is not the registered owner and does not insist on dealing with the true owner is not a bona fide purchaser without notice

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that the transfer of title number Nakuru Municipality Block 22/718 to the 1st defendant on 12/04/2016 and the transfer to the 2nd defendant on 11/5/2016 are null and void
  2. 2.A declaration that the plaintiff is the lawful owner of title number Nakuru Municipality Block 22/718
  3. 3.The District Land Registrar, Nakuru to rectify the land register by cancelling the entries regarding the two transfers and the title deed issued to the 2nd defendant and reinstating the plaintiff as the registered proprietor
  4. 4.A permanent injunction restraining the defendants from disposing of, charging, leasing, or in any other manner interfering with the title number Nakuru Municipality Block 22/718
  5. 5.The claim for mesne profits fails for lack of sufficient evidence
  6. 6.The defendants shall meet the costs of the suit

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Registration ActSection 26(1) and (2)
  • Law of Contract ActSection 3(3)

Cases cited (9)

  • Elizabeth Kamene Ndolo vs George Matata Ndolo
    [1996] eKLR
  • Weston Gitonga & 10 others vs Peter Rugu Gikanga & another
    [2017] eKLR
  • Kinyanjui Kamau v George Kamau Njoroge
    [2015] eKLR
  • Ndolo v Ndolo
    (2008) 1 KLR (G&F) 742
  • Katende vs Haridas and Company Limited
    [2008] EA 173
  • Samuel Kamere v Lands Registrar, Kajiado
    Civil Appeal No. 28 of 2005 [2015] eKLR
  • Dina Management Limited v County Government of Mombasa & 5 others
    (Petition 8 (E010) of 2021) [2023] KESC 30 (KLR)
  • Munyu Maina vs Hiram Gathiha Maina
    Civil Appeal No. 239 of 2009 [2013] eKLR
  • Attorney General v Halal Meat Products Limited
    [2016]
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land title and registration disputes (not expressly stated in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Njoroge v Kinuthia & another (Environment & Land Case 101 of 2017) [2024] KEELC 1328 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment (a restriction on the register references ELC Case No. 100 of 2017). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/1328/eng@2024-03-14

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.