Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment· [2024] KEELC 1205 (KLR)

Kenya Pipeline Company Ltd v Judiciary of Kenya & 2 others (Environment & Land Case 264 of 2019) [2024] KEELC 1205 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court of Kenya
22 February 2024
6,962 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~28 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Environment and Land Court confirmed that an allotment letter grants no land ownership, dismissing Kenya Pipeline's claim against the Judiciary's registered Upper Hill title.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff, Kenya Pipeline Company Limited, claimed LR No 209/19723 (IR 122478) in Upper Hill, Nairobi, seeking declarations that the property was irregularly allotted and registered to the 1st Defendant (the Judiciary), reinstatement of its allotment, a permanent injunction, and vacant possession. It relied on allotment letters of 8th January 1988 and 15th February 1990 and a Director of Surveys confirmation registering the plot as LR No 209/12044. The 1st and 3rd Defendants contended that the Plaintiff's allotment became redundant when it built its headquarters at its Nairobi Terminal, that the Plaintiff agreed to exchange the suit plot for LR No 9042/693 Embakasi, and that following a Cabinet resolution and the revocation of an irregular allocation to Kenya (RTF) Ltd (Gazette Notice No 3460 of 1st April 2010), the land was resurveyed and granted to the Permanent Secretary, National Treasury as Trustee of the Judiciary for 99 years from 1st March 2010. The court framed four issues: bona fide ownership, impeachability of title, entitlement to reliefs, and costs. Applying the Torino Enterprises principle that an allotment letter confers no interest in land, and Section 26 of the Land Registration Act, the court found the Plaintiff never acquired title, never possessed or developed the land, and accepted an alternative plot in exchange, making it estopped. No fraud against the 1st Defendant was pleaded or proved. The plaintiff's suit was dismissed in its entirety, with each party bearing its own costs given the public-entity nature of the dispute.

Key legal issues

#
01

Who is the bona fide owner of LR No 209/19723 (IR 122478)?

Holding

The 1st Defendant (Judiciary), holding a title dated 13th April 2010 registered in the name of the Permanent Secretary, National Treasury as Trustee, is the bona fide and legal owner

Reasoning

Both parties claimed through allocation, requiring examination of the root of ownership. The Plaintiff produced only allotment letters, never obtained a title, never took possession, and never developed the property. It accepted an alternative Embakasi plot in exchange, returning the suit land to the pool for re-allocation. Kenya (RTF) Ltd's intervening irregular allocation was revoked and the land re-surveyed and allocated to the Judiciary pursuant to a Cabinet resolution.

02

Whether the 1st Defendant's title is impeachable

Holding

The title is not impeachable; the Plaintiff pleaded and proved no fraud or grounds under Section 26 of the Land Registration Act

Reasoning

Section 24 vests absolute ownership in a registered proprietor, and Section 26 permits impeachment only for fraud or irregular acquisition. The Plaintiff bore the burden under Section 107 of the Evidence Act but led no evidence of fraud. The property was resurveyed and lawfully allocated to the Judiciary following the revocation of the irregular allocation to Kenya (RTF) Ltd; impeachment would offend Article 60 land policy principles.

p. 12
03

Whether the Plaintiff is entitled to the reliefs sought

Holding

The Plaintiff failed on a balance of probabilities and is estopped from claiming the suit property after accepting the alternative plot

Reasoning

Having only held an allotment letter, never taken possession or developed the land, and having accepted the Embakasi plot in exchange, the Plaintiff could not demonstrate proprietary rights entitling it to cancellation of the 1st Defendant's title, reinstatement of allotment, injunction or vacant possession. The claim failed in its entirety.

p. 12
04

Costs

Holding

Each party to bear own costs despite the Defendants' success

Reasoning

While costs follow the event and the successful 1st and 3rd Defendants would ordinarily be entitled to costs, the court exercised its discretion because the dispute involved public entities and burdening taxpayers with costs was unwarranted.

p. 13

Legal principles established

#
  • An allotment letter is incapable of conferring an interest in land; title only comes into existence once the letter is issued, its conditions are met and a title document issues
  • A certificate of title is prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership and can only be impeached on grounds such as fraud under Section 26 of the Land Registration Act
  • A party relying on an assertion bears the burden of proving it on a balance of probabilities

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Plaintiff's claim as contained in the plaint is dismissed in its entirety
  2. 2.Each party to bear own costs of the suit
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction over a dispute relating to ownership of land (LR No 209/19723 (IR 122478), Upper Hill, Nairobi); no specific constitutional or statutory provision invoking jurisdiction is cited in the judgment

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kenya Pipeline Company Ltd v Judiciary of Kenya & 2 others (Environment & Land Case 264 of 2019) [2024] KEELC 1205 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/1205/eng@2024-02-22

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.