Kagwanja v Town Clerk Town Council of Molo & 4 others (Environment & Land Case 85 of 2013) [2024] KEELC 722 (KLR)
The bottom line
#The Environment and Land Court in Nakuru ordered Geoffrey Kagwanja evicted from a Molo plot, ruling a fulfilled letter of allotment confers ownership.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Whether the 5th Defendant proved entitlement to eviction and permanent injunction over LR No. 533/101 Molo Township
Yes - the 5th Defendant proved on a balance of probability that the parcel was allocated to him and that the Plaintiff encroached on it; eviction and permanent injunction were granted
The 5th Defendant produced an allotment letter dated 23rd August 1996, a payment receipt of 31st August 2000 satisfying the Kshs 41,287 condition, the survey map FR No 56/90, and evidence of rate payments. The Plaintiff's encroachment with wooden structures was not disputed. The Plaintiff failed to prove compliance with his own allotment conditions or a valid subsisting licence.
Whether the Plaintiff established the root of his title/allotment to Plot 7218/V/216
No - the Plaintiff failed to explain the nexus between his licensed plot and the suit parcel, did not produce the enclosed plan, and admitted his allotment offer lapsed for non-payment within 30 days
The Plaintiff entered under a nine-month temporary occupation licence over land 'shown edged red on Plan No 7218/V/216' - a plan number, not a plot number. He produced no enclosed plan, no evidence his 1995 application for allotment was received or acted upon, and admitted he had no proof of paying the Kshs 96,250 required within 30 days, conceding the offer lapsed. The licence had long expired with no proof of rent payment between 1975 and 2015.
Whether the Plaintiff proved fraud against the 5th Defendant
No - the Plaintiff alleged fraud but failed to prove it
The Plaintiff pleaded particulars of fraud in his defence to the counterclaim, alleging the 5th Defendant's allotment letters were fraudulently issued. However, he admitted he had not reported the matter to police, produced no report showing the documents were fraudulent, and did not show how the 5th Defendant participated in the alleged fraud.
Whether the 5th Defendant was entitled to mesne profits
No - the claim failed for want of proof of specific amounts
Although the Plaintiff's encroachment from 2007 was proved, mesne profits are special damages requiring specific pleading and strict proof. The 5th Defendant led no evidence of the rents and profits the Plaintiff actually received or could have made during occupation, so the prayer was declined despite success on the counterclaim generally.
Legal principles established
#- A letter of allotment, once the allottee meets the conditions therein, confers an absolute right of ownership and the land cannot be reallocated unless the first allocation is validly and lawfully cancelled
- Mesne profits are a form of special damages which must be specifically pleaded and strictly proved
- Costs follow the event under Section 27 of the Civil Procedure Act
Court orders
#- 1.An order of eviction and demolition of all the illegal structures on the suit parcel i.e Parcel No. 533/101 Molo Township Commercial Plot issued against the Plaintiff
- 2.The eviction order to take effect after 90 days from the date of the judgment
- 3.An order of permanent injunction restraining the Plaintiff from entering, remaining in, trespassing, developing, cultivating and/or in any way dealing with Parcel No. 533/101 Molo Township Commercial Plot
- 4.The 5th Defendant to have costs of the suit and of the counterclaim
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Environment and Land Court jurisdiction over land disputes (civil suit and counterclaim; specific constitutional/statutory article not stated in judgment)
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Later judgments citing this (1)
#Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.
- Ikiao & another v Kamencu (Environment & Land Case E008 of 2022) [2024] KEELC 4325 (KLR)[2024] KEELC 4325 (KLR)22 May 2024
Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Kagwanja v Town Clerk Town Council of Molo & 4 others (Environment & Land Case 85 of 2013) [2024] KEELC 722 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Environment and Land Case (as printed in the judgment text; exact case number not shown). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/722/eng@2024-02-15
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.