Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2024] KEELC 720 (KLR)

Muturi & another v Kibicho & another (Environment & Land Case 1263 of 2015) [2024] KEELC 720 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
25 January 2024
6,211 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~25 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court dismissed a family's claim to a Nairobi plot because they could not prove it was ever allocated to their late father, whose relatives sued in 2015.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
By a plaint dated 10th December 2015, the plaintiffs, suing as Administratrix and Administrator of the Estate of Gerald Muturi Maina, sought a declaration that the defendants' registration as joint proprietors of plot No. A78-2 Umoja Innercore / Nairobi/Block 83/14/476 was null and void, cancellation of the title, a permanent injunction, eviction, general damages, costs and interest. Their case was that the deceased was allotted the plot by the then City Council of Nairobi in 1997, paid rates, and commenced construction, and that the defendants' title was founded on fake documents and an irregular chain of transfers. The defendants denied any dealings with plot A78-2, asserting they purchased Nairobi/Block 83/14/476 for value from Boniface Otieno Okwach, tracing title from the original 1987 lessee Mary Wanjiru, and pleaded bad faith on the plaintiffs' part. The court framed four issues: locus standi, root of ownership, entitlement to reliefs and orders. On the first, it held the plaintiffs, holding a grant of letters of administration issued in 2011, had locus standi. On ownership, the Land Registrar's evidence established the 1987 lease to Mary Wanjiru and a clean chain of four transfers to the defendants, while the plaintiffs produced no allotment letter and no County evidence of allocation. Applying Munyu Maina, Daudi Kiptugen and Milankumar Shah, the court found the defendants had established a good root of title and the plaintiffs had failed to prove theirs. All reliefs were refused and the suit was dismissed on 25th January 2024, with each party ordered to bear their own costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Locus standi of the plaintiffs as personal representatives

Holding

Plaintiffs had locus standi as administrators of the deceased's estate

Reasoning

PW2 produced a grant of letters of administration intestate issued on 14th October 2011 listing the plaintiffs as administrators, and the plaint described them in that representative capacity. Section 82(a) of the Law of Succession Act empowers personal representatives to enforce causes of action surviving the deceased. The defendants' objection therefore failed.

p. 9
02

Root of ownership of the suit property

Holding

Plaintiffs failed to prove the alleged 1997 allocation to the deceased; defendants established a good root of title tracing from the original 1987 lease to Mary Wanjiru

Reasoning

The Land Registrar's evidence confirmed the lease was issued to Mary Wanjiru in 1987 and traced all four registered transfers to the defendants. PW2 conceded no allotment letter existed, and no County witness confirmed any allocation to the deceased. The property having been leased in 1987 could not have been available for allocation to the deceased in 1997.

p. 12
03

Entitlement to the reliefs sought

Holding

Reliefs refused; the claim was not proved to the required standard

Reasoning

Having found the defendants established a good root of title, the court held the plaintiffs had not proved their claim for nullification of title, injunction, eviction or damages. Costs were nonetheless not awarded to the defendants given the plaintiffs sued in a representative capacity and the circumstances of the suit.

p. 12

Legal principles established

#
  • A certificate of title is prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership, challengeable only on fraud or misrepresentation or where acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme
  • A registered proprietor whose root of title is under challenge must prove the legality of the acquisition beyond merely producing the title instrument
  • The process of acquisition of title is material; a document of title not acquired through proper process confers no good title

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The plaintiffs' suit is dismissed
  2. 2.Each party to bear own costs of the suit

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Civil Procedure ActSection 2
  • Law of Succession Act (Cap 160)Sections 3, 45, 82(a)
  • Evidence Act (Cap 80)Sections 107(1), 109, 112
  • Land Registration Act, 2012Sections 24, 26
  • Registered Land Act (repealed)Section 48
  • County Government Act No. 17 of 2012Section 134
  • Stamp Duty ActNot specified
  • Advocates ActNot specified

Cases cited (13)

  • Bhatia versus Gane Bank Limited
    (2014) I FA 154
  • A.J. Limited versus Catering Levy Trustees & 3 Others
  • Elijah Makeri Nyawira versus Stephen Mungai Njuguna & Another
    [2013] eKLR
  • Joseph Kiprotich Bor versus Tabutany Chepkoech Chebusit
    [2022] eKLR
  • Munyu Maina versus Hiram Gathina Maina
    [2013] eKLR
  • Vijay Morjana verus Nansignh Madhusingh Darbar & Another
    [2000] eKLR
  • Kinyanjui Kamau versus George Kamau
    [2015] eKLR
  • Alexander Mutunga Wathome –Vs- Peter Lavu Tumbo & Another
    [2015] eKLR
  • Anne Wambui Ndiritu –vs- Joseph Kiprono Ropkoi & Another
    [2005] 1 EA 334
  • Daudi Kiptugen v Commissioner of Lands & 4 Others
    [2015] eKLR
  • Milankumar Shah & 2 others v The City Council of Nairobi & another
    Nairobi High Court Civil Suit No. 1024 of 2005 (O.S)
  • Augustine Thuo v James Maina Thuita & Another
    [2020] eKLR
  • Kenya Power & Lightning Company Ltd –Vs- Sherifi Molana Habib
    (2018) eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court under the Environment and Land Court Act (not expressly cited in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Muturi & another v Kibicho & another (Environment & Land Case 1263 of 2015) [2024] KEELC 720 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/720/eng@2024-01-25

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.