Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment provided· [2024] KEELC 605 (KLR)

Muriungi v M’igweta (Environment & Land Case E001 of 2020) [2024] KEELC 605 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
7 February 2024
5,086 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~20 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan buyer who never completed registration lost his land to a buyer who did everything by the book, and his fraud allegations failed for lack of proof.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff sued the defendant claiming that on 23.4.2015 the defendant fraudulently and unlawfully transferred L.R No. Nyambene/Old Kiare/2754 to himself, land the plaintiff said he had bought from the late Zakayo Ekabu M'Ekabu by agreements of 3.7.2007 (amended 16.7.2013) for Kshs.400,000/=, on which he took possession and developed. He sought a permanent injunction and rectification of the register substituting his name for the defendant's. The defendant denied the plaintiff's documents as forged, asserting he purchased the land in 2014, obtained land control board consent, executed a transfer, paid stamp duty, was registered on 23.4.2015 and took open and exclusive possession as an innocent purchaser for value without notice. The court framed seven issues, holding that parties are bound by their pleadings. It found the plaintiff's sale agreements defective - the amended agreement omitted critical terms and referenced an unproduced 2009 agreement; no land control board consent for the plaintiff was proved, his transfer documents were lodged only on 9.5.2019, after the seller's death and after the defendant's registration. Fraud, requiring proof above the ordinary standard, was not established, and the plaintiff's failure to join the land registrar or the deceased's family was fatal. The defendant's documentary trail was unimpeached, and his knowledge of no adverse interest was established. The court held the plaintiff failed to prove possession or substantial developments. The suit was dismissed with costs to the defendant.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff was legally registered as owner of L.R No. Nyambene/Old Kiare/2754

Holding

The plaintiff failed to prove lawful registration; no land control board consent, no registered transfer, and his documents were lodged only on 9.5.2019, after the seller's death and after the defendant's registration

Reasoning

The plaintiff's amended sale agreement was incomplete, silent on critical terms, and referenced a 23.11.2009 agreement never produced. The land control board consent produced lacked the registrar's signature, date of registration and showed a different consideration. He lodged documents only in 2019 after the seller died and the defendant was registered. The court found the plaintiff did not discharge his burden of proving he was first in time and lawfully registered.

p. 6
02

Whether the plaintiff proved fraud or collusion in the defendant's acquisition of title

Holding

No fraud was proved; the defendant produced a complete documentary trail and the plaintiff failed to impeach it or join the land registrar

Reasoning

Allegations of fraud require proof to a higher standard. The plaintiff produced no official search, title or register entries showing he was ever registered and never subjected the defendant's documents to forensic examination. Failure to join the land registrar or the deceased's family, who were central to the transaction, was fatal to the claim of collusion.

p. 7
03

Whether the defendant was an innocent purchaser for value without notice

Holding

Yes; the defendant conducted an official search, obtained land control board consent, executed a transfer, paid stamp duty, was registered on 23.4.2015 and took vacant possession, and no adverse interests were shown to be within his knowledge

Reasoning

The defendant produced the official search, land control board consent, transfer form, stamp duty payments and title deed, completing the transaction before the seller's death. The plaintiff neither placed a caution on the land nor made substantial developments of which the defendant was or ought to have been privy, so the defendant acquired without notice of any adverse interest.

p. 8
04

Whether the plaintiff took vacant possession of the suit land in 2007 and 2013

Holding

The court found the plaintiff had not made any profound developments on the land and the evidence of possession was contradictory and unclear

Reasoning

The evidence of PW 2, 3, 4 and 5 was contradictory and disjointed on the nature, size and status of the plaintiff's developments. The plaintiff failed to call the land surveyor and members of the seller's family present at the alleged subdivision and handover, leaving unclear what portion was bought and whether possession of the whole or part took place.

p. 8

Legal principles established

#
  • Fraud in land transactions must be specifically pleaded and proved to a standard higher than the ordinary balance of probabilities
  • A claimant disputing a title must prove the legality of the acquisition of the title beyond the instrument of ownership
  • A bona fide purchaser cannot benefit from that doctrine where the title was irregularly or illegally procured
  • Parties are bound by their pleadings and issues flow from them; evidence tendered absent pleadings is inconsequential

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The plaintiff's suit is dismissed with costs to the defendant.

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Law of Contract ActSection 3(3)
  • Land Registration ActSections 24(a), 26(1), 44, 46, 79(2)
  • Land Control ActSections 6 (six-month consent requirement implied), 20
  • Evidence ActSections 97, 98, 107-112
  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 40 (including Article 40(6))

Cases cited (29)

  • Gitwany Investment Ltd vs Tajmal Ltd & others
    [2006] eKLR
  • Harrison Kiambuthi Wanjiru & another v District Land Registrar Nairobi & 3 others
    [2022] eKLR
  • Elias Njue Ireri v Kubu Benson Nderi and others
    [2019] eKLR
  • Katende v Haridar and Col Ltd
    [2008] 2 E.A 173
  • Weston Gitonga & others v Peter Rugu Gikanga & another
    [2017] eKLR
  • Republic vs Minister for Transport and Communication & 5 others exparte Waa Shop Garbage Collector & 15 others
    [2006] 1 KLR (E & L) 563
  • Sai Office Supplies Ltd v Rosemary Alivista Luseno & another
    [2014] eKLR
  • Samuel Odhiambo Oludhe and others v Jubilee Jumbo Hardware Ltd & another
    [2018] eKLR
  • Republic v Kisumu District Land Office and another
    [2010] eKLR
  • Super Nova Properties Ltd & another v District Land Registrar Mombasa & 2 others (Kenya Anti-corruption Authority) & 2 others (Interested Parties)
    [2018] eKLR
  • Kinyanjui Kamau v George Kamau
    [2015] eKLR
  • Raila Odinga & others v IEBC
    [2017] eKLR
  • David Sironga Ole Tukai v Francis Arap Muge and 2 others
    [2014] eKLR
  • IEBC & another v Stephen Mutinda Mule and others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Twiga Chemicals Industries Ltd v Allan Stephen Reynolds
    [2015] eKLR
  • Housing Company of E.A Ltd vs NSSF Board of Trustees National Social Security Fund and others
    [2018] eKLR
  • Njamunyu v Nyaga
    [1983] KLR 282
  • Beatrice Awino Wotsembo v Dancan David Odekeyo
    [2020] eKLR
  • David Ntirika M'Baracha v Mutuerandu Mungatia Timothy
    [2022] eKLR
  • Aliaza vs Saul
    (C.A 134 of 2017) [2022] KECA 583 (KLB) (24th June 2022) (Judgement)
  • Arithi Developers v West End Butchery
    [2015] eKLR
  • Fredrick Ochieng Ochanjo & another vs Maritha Odera Ochanjo & another
    (2009) eKLR
  • Njihia & another vs Njoroge
    (ELCA 15 of 2021) 2023 KEELC 1742 (KLR) 15th May 2023 (Judgment)
  • Samuel Kamere v Land Registrar Kajiado
    [2015] eKLR
  • Munyu Maina vs Hiram Gathiha Maina
    C.A No. 259 of 2009
  • Isaya Masira Momanyi v Daniel Omwoyo & another
    [2017] eKLR
  • Dina Management Ltd vs County Government of Mombasa & others
    (Petition 8 (E010 of 2021) [2023] KESC 30 (KLR) 21st April 2023 (judgment)
  • Funzi Island Development Ltd & 2 others v County Council of Kwale
    [2014] eKLR
  • Torino Enterprises Ltd vs. Attorney General
    Petition 5 (E006 of 2022) (2023) KESC 79 (KLR) (22nd September 2023) (Judgement)
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over a dispute relating to title to land (L.R No. Nyambene/Old Kiare/2754)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Muriungi v M’igweta (Environment & Land Case E001 of 2020) [2024] KEELC 605 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/605/eng@2024-02-07

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.