Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2024] KEELC 24 (KLR)

Ngugi v Kamau & another (Environment & Land Case E083 of 2021) [2024] KEELC 24 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
15 January 2024
3,147 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~13 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Environment and Land Court confirmed a registered title holder's right to evict occupiers who could not prove their claim to the land.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, registered proprietor of LR No. 30568 IR 228053 (approx. 0.6510 hectares in Juja, South West of Thika Municipality), sued the defendants for permanent injunction, eviction, demolition of structures, enforcement orders, mesne profits and damages, alleging they cut her fence and erected business structures on the land in 2019. The defendants contended the land was Government land forming part of a road reserve of the old Thika Road, allegedly allocated to them by the late area Member of Parliament, Hon Francis Munyua Waititu, after their original marketplace was destroyed during construction of the Thika Superhighway. They filed no counterclaim and no written submissions. The court framed three issues: ownership of the land, lawfulness of the defendants' occupation, and entitlement to reliefs. Applying Article 40(1) of the Constitution and Sections 24 and 26(1) of the Land Registration Act, the court found the plaintiff the registered proprietor, her title being prima facie and indefeasible and unimpeached by any counterclaim or evidence. The court held that a Member of Parliament had no land-allocating powers and that the alleged allocation was an illegality on already-alienated private land; the road reserve allegation was unproved. The suit partially succeeded: permanent injunction, eviction, demolition, enforcement and police-assistance orders were granted, nominal damages of Kshs 1,000,000 were awarded jointly and severally for unlawful occupation, and mesne profits were refused for want of evidence. Costs were awarded to the plaintiff, with a 90-day stay of execution to allow the defendants to vacate peacefully. Judgment delivered virtually at Thika on 15 January 2024 by B M Eboso, Judge.

Key legal issues

#
01

Ownership of the suit land

Holding

The plaintiff is the registered proprietor of the suit land, having inherited it from her late husband who was allotted it in 1999; the defendants adduced no counterclaim or evidence to impeach the title

Reasoning

The plaintiff produced a letter of allotment dated 12/2/1999, payment receipts, a deed plan, and a Certificate of Title issued in 2021. Section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act makes a certificate of title prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership. The defendants neither brought a counterclaim nor tendered evidence to impeach the title or show the land was a road reserve. The court therefore found for the plaintiff on ownership.

p. 5
02

Lawfulness of the defendants' occupation

Holding

The defendants' occupation was unlawful; the alleged allocation by the area Member of Parliament was an illegality as MPs have no land-allocating powers

Reasoning

The defendants claimed allocation by the late Hon Francis Munyua Waititu in 2018, but led no evidence that he had land-allocating mandate under any specific law. The land had already been alienated and held as private land by the estate of Elijah Ngugi Njuguna. Their claim that the land was a road reserve was also unproved. Their occupation was therefore unlawful.

p. 5
03

Entitlement to reliefs

Holding

The plaintiff was granted a permanent injunction, eviction, demolition, enforcement orders, and nominal damages of Kshs 1,000,000, but mesne profits were refused for want of evidence

Reasoning

Having proved her case to the required standard, the plaintiff was entitled to prayers (a), (b) and (c), with prayers (d) and (e) available subject to appropriate wording. On mesne profits, no evidence was tendered to enable an informed assessment, so nominal damages were awarded instead, on the principle that nominal damages are awardable for trespass. Costs followed the general principle in Section 27 of the Civil Procedure Act.

p. 6

Legal principles established

#
  • A certificate of title issued by the Land Registrar is prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership and may only be challenged on grounds of fraud, misrepresentation, or illegal, unprocedural or corrupt acquisition
  • A Member of Parliament has no power under any law to allocate land to persons
  • A party alleging that land is a road reserve bears the burden of proving that allegation
  • Nominal damages are awardable on account of unlawful occupation of land (trespass) where mesne profits are not proved

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Permanent injunction restraining the defendants, their agents, tenants, servants and anybody claiming under them from interfering with or occupying LR No. 30568 IR 228053
  2. 2.Eviction of the defendants together with their servants and agents from LR Number 30568 comprised in Title Number IR 228053
  3. 3.Demolition of all structures and/or buildings erected on LR No 30568 comprised in Title No IR 228053
  4. 4.Eviction and demolition to be effected by a duly licensed auctioneer
  5. 5.The Officer Commanding the Area Police Station to ensure law and order during enforcement of the Judgment
  6. 6.Nominal damages of Kshs 1,000,000 against the defendants jointly and severally for unlawful occupation
  7. 7.Defendants to bear costs of the suit jointly and severally
  8. 8.Stay of execution of the Judgment for 90 days to enable the defendants find alternative premises and vacate the land peacefully

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 40(1)
  • Land Registration ActSection 24
  • Land Registration ActSection 26(1)
  • Civil Procedure ActSection 27

Cases cited (4)

  • Eliud Njoroge Gachiri v Stephen Kamau Ng'ang'a
  • John Chumia Nganga v Attorney General & Another
    [2019]eKLR
  • Stephen Olang Misigah v Lush Home Properties Limited
    [2021]eKLR
  • Josephat Thuo Githachuri v Joseph Kibui Mwithiga
    [2020]eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction over a land dispute (Environment and Land Court); Article 40(1) of the Constitution and the Land Registration Act applied

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Ngugi v Kamau & another (Environment & Land Case E083 of 2021) [2024] KEELC 24 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2024). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2024/24/eng@2024-01-15

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.