Njoroge v Mugobelo & 2 others (Environment & Land Case 90 of 2018) [2023] KEELC 827 (KLR)
The bottom line
#A Nairobi landowner won ownership of his Kayole plot, a permanent injunction, and KES 1 million trespass damages because his title was never challenged in court.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Whether the Plaintiff proved ownership of the suit property
Yes - the Plaintiff proved ownership on a balance of probabilities by producing a Certificate of Lease, official search, registered lease and letter of allotment, none of which were challenged by any Defendant
The Plaintiff produced a Certificate of Lease issued October 19, 2016, a certified official search, a registered lease signed by the 3rd Defendant, an allotment letter and a 3rd Defendant letter confirming Nairobi/Block 167/254 (formerly Plot 620) as his. Applying section 26 of the Land Registration Act, title is prima facie indefeasible and none of the Defendants challenged the acquisition process, so ownership stood proved.
Whether the 1st Defendant trespassed on the suit property
Yes - the Plaintiff showed he was the owner in possession and that the 1st Defendant was constructing on Plot 620 (the suit property) and not on Plot 32; the 1st Defendant, who had interlocutory judgment entered against him, adduced no rebuttal
Possession is prima facie established by proof of ownership. Photographs showed construction on the suit property, and a letter from the 3rd Defendant confirmed construction was on plot 620 rather than plot 32. That evidence was unrebuted by the 1st Defendant. Trespass being actionable per se, damages were assessed at Kshs. 1,000,000 rather than the Kshs. 5,000,000 claimed.
Whether the ownership documents relating to Plot 32 should be cancelled as fraudulent and void
No - the Plaintiff failed to produce evidence of the existence of such documents or to show Plot 32 relates to the suit property; the parcels are distinct
The Plaintiff asked for cancellation of alternative ownership documents, particularly for Plot 32, but produced no evidence that such documents existed or that Plot 32 was the same land. The 3rd Defendant's letter confirmed that Nairobi/Block 167/254 (formerly Plot 620) is distinct from Plot 32 (now Nairobi/Block 167/11), the two being 400 metres apart. The claim for cancellation therefore failed.
Legal principles established
#- A certificate of title or lease is prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership, challengeable only on proof of fraud or misrepresentation to which the proprietor is party, or where the title was acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme
- Where a proprietor produces a Certificate of Lease and certified search and no defendant challenges the process of acquisition of the title, ownership is proved on a balance of probabilities
- Trespass to land is actionable per se and proof of ownership is prima facie proof of possession
Court orders
#- 1.A declaration that the Plaintiff is the legal and registered owner of land parcel No. Nairobi/Block 167/254 situated in Kayole Patanisho within Nairobi County
- 2.An order of permanent injunction restraining the Defendants, their agents, servants and employees from trespassing, entering, selling, transferring, alienating, mortgaging, charging, disposing, digging trenches, constructing and/or committing any other acts of waste or otherwise interfering with the Plaintiff's ownership, use, possession, occupation and quiet enjoyment of Land Parcel No. Nairobi/Block 167/254
- 3.The 1st Defendant to pay the Plaintiff damages for trespass of Kshs. 1,000,000
- 4.The 1st Defendant to pay interest on the damages at court rates from the date of judgment until payment in full
- 5.The 1st Defendant to pay the costs of the suit
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Not stated; original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over a dispute concerning title to and trespass on land
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Njoroge v Mugobelo & 2 others (Environment & Land Case 90 of 2018) [2023] KEELC 827 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2023). Not stated in the judgment as supplied. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2023/827/eng@2023-02-09
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.