Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the extract (ELC suit, Nairobi)· [2023] KEELC 758 (KLR)

Rest Villa Limited v Kenya Power & Lighting Company Ltd & 4 others (Civil Suit 448 of 2013) [2023] KEELC 758 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
15 February 2023
7,354 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~29 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A title certificate alone doesn't prove land ownership in Kenya; courts require a clear, unbroken chain showing how the title was acquired.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, claiming to be the registered proprietor of LR Nairobi/Block 37/167 and Nairobi/Block 37/168 (allegedly a conversion of LR No 209/11590), sued the Kenya Power & Lighting Company Limited, the county government, the Commissioner of Lands and the registrars. It sought declarations that its titles were bona fide and authentic and that the 1st defendant's title to LR No 209/11590 was fraudulent, null and void, together with damages of Kshs 620,000,000/-, special damages of Kshs 368,080/-, general and exemplary damages and costs. It complained of a forceful demolition and removal of its assets by the 1st defendant's auctioneers on July 6, 2007 pursuant to an eviction order of February 5, 2007. The 1st defendant countered that it held an RTA title to LR No 209/11590 issued in 1993 following a 1992 government allotment for a power substation, upheld by the High Court (Mbogholi Msagha J) and by the Court of Appeal in Civil Appeal No 206 of 1998, and never cancelled; the plaintiff's titles were declared null and void in ELC No 199 of 2007. The court framed the sole issue as whether the plaintiff was entitled to the orders sought. Applying Munyu Maina v Hiram Gathiha Maina and Hubert L Martin v Margaret J Kamar, it held the plaintiff failed to prove the root of its title - no sale agreement, transfer documents, proof of consideration or stamp duty, allotment letter to its predecessor, or physical possession - whereas the 1st defendant traced its title through allotment, payment and unimpeached judicial affirmation. The suit was dismissed with costs to the 1st defendant.

Key legal issues

#
01

Proof of root of title

Holding

The plaintiff failed to prove the root of its title; mere production of certificates of lease was insufficient

Reasoning

The plaintiff produced only certificates of lease, searches, a ruling and correspondence. It did not produce the sale agreement, transfer documents, proof of payment of consideration or stamp duty, the title of its predecessor Njima Investment Limited, or a letter of allotment to that predecessor. PW1 could not recall the purchase price and admitted the plaintiff had not taken physical possession. In contrast, the 1st defendant produced its allotment letter, fee receipts and title, upheld by the Court of Appeal and by the court in ELC 199 of 2007.

p. 12
02

Resolution of duplicity of titles

Holding

Of the two competing titles over the same land, only the 1st defendant's title to LR No 209/11590 was shown to be lawful and to trace its root without a break

Reasoning

The court applied the principle that no land should be registered more than once and that one title must be genuine and one unlawfully or mistakenly issued. The 1st defendant's 1993 title was issued following a 1992 government allotment, was affirmed by the Court of Appeal in Civil Appeal No 206 of 1998, and has never been cancelled. The plaintiff's titles arose from an alleged illegal conversion, and ELC 199 of 2007 declared them null and void.

p. 12

Legal principles established

#
  • When a registered proprietor's root of title is challenged, the proprietor must go beyond the title instrument to prove the legality of the acquisition
  • Where two or more titles exist over the same land, the court must investigate the root of title and uphold the title that conformed to procedure

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The amended plaint dated October 5, 2021 is dismissed
  2. 2.Costs of the suit awarded to the 1st defendant

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Government Land Act (repealed)Section 4
  • Registration of Titles Act (repealed)Section 23(1)
  • Civil Procedure Rules (former)Order XX rule 53

Cases cited (2)

  • Munyu Maina v Hiram Gathiha Maina
    Civil Appeal No 239 of 2009
  • Hubert L Martin & 2 others v Margaret J Kamar & 5 others
    [2016] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over disputes relating to title to land

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Rest Villa Limited v Kenya Power & Lighting Company Ltd & 4 others (Civil Suit 448 of 2013) [2023] KEELC 758 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2023). Not stated in the extract (ELC suit, Nairobi). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2023/758/eng@2023-02-15

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.