Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedEnvironment and Land Appeal 46 of 2019· [2023] KEELC 663 (KLR)

Mary Murugi Muguro v Esther Kavuli Kivuva & Waswa Investment Co. Ltd

Environment and Land Court
8 February 2023
5,282 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~21 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

In Kenya, a land title certificate alone won't protect you in court—you must prove how you actually acquired the property.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a first appeal to the Environment and Land Court at Machakos against the judgment of Hon. C C Oluoch, Chief Magistrate at Mavoko, delivered on 31st May 2019, which had declared Esther Kavuli Kivuva the lawful owner of Title No. Mavoko Town Block (Waswa) 3/4072, ordered cancellation of the title issued to Mary Murugi Muguro, and granted a permanent injunction. The Appellant, the first defendant before the trial court, raised eight grounds contending that the trial court erred in preferring an allotment certificate for Plot 505 over her registered title, in ignoring her evidence of purchase from Waswa Development Co. Ltd, and in holding she had not proved her case. A. Nyukuri J identified a single issue: whether the trial court was justified in concluding the suit property belonged to the Respondent. The court re-evaluated the evidence as required on a first appeal and found the Respondent had traced her root of title to an allocation of the property as shares to Collins Odhiambo Otwire, produced a sale agreement, allotment letters, transfer documents and a valuation report, and proved possession. The evidentiary burden thereby shifted to the Appellant, who gave only a general denial, could not produce a sale agreement, receipts, transfer or Land Control Board consent, and failed to prove first registration. The court held her title was fraudulently, unprocedurally and unlawfully acquired and was impeachable under Section 26 of the Land Registration Act. The appeal was dismissed with costs to the Respondent.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Respondent proved her ownership of the suit property to the required standard

Holding

Yes - she produced a sale agreement, allotment letter, transfer documents, called the vendor as a witness and proved possession, discharging the burden under Sections 107 and 108 of the Evidence Act

Reasoning

The Respondent traced the root of her title to an allocation of the property as shares to Collins Odhiambo Otwire, a Nairobi City Council employee, and produced a sale agreement, allotment letters, transfer documents, the vendor's ID and PIN, and a valuation report with photographs showing fenced, cultivated possession. The vendor himself testified and corroborated her account. The court held that if no further evidence were adduced, the Appellant would lose, so the evidentiary burden shifted to the Appellant.

p. 8
02

Whether the Appellant's title was successfully impeached under Section 26 of the Land Registration Act

Holding

Yes - the registration in the Appellant's name was fraudulent, unprocedural and unlawful as she failed to produce any documents supporting her acquisition

Reasoning

Although the Appellant was the registered proprietor, she gave only a general denial, did not state in evidence in chief how she acquired the property, and could not produce a sale agreement, receipts, transfer or Land Control Board consent. She also failed to prove first registration, which required a certified copy of the register. Her failure to rebut entitled the court to find her title had been acquired illegally or unprocedurally, a ground for impeachment under Section 26(1)(b) of the Land Registration Act.

p. 9
03

Whether Plot No. 505/114 Waswa Estate is the same as Mavoko Town Block (Waswa) 3/4072

Holding

Yes - the valuation report with a Survey of Kenya map showed the plots were one and the same, and the defence never denied identity of the plots

Reasoning

The Respondent produced a valuation report with a map from Survey of Kenya showing Plot No. 4073 also shown as No. 114. The pleadings stated the plot was now known as Mavoko Town Block (Waswa) 3/4072 and the defence and witness statement did not deny that the parties referred to one plot. The point that the parties referred to different properties was raised only in submissions and did not flow from the pleadings.

p. 10

Legal principles established

#
  • A registered proprietor whose title is under challenge must go beyond the title and demonstrate the legality of the acquisition process; a title without a demonstrated root is not protected
  • Once a plaintiff discharges the burden of proof, the evidentiary burden shifts to the defendant to rebut
  • A property already allocated is not available for subsequent allotment unless the earlier allotment is revoked

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The appeal is dismissed
  2. 2.Costs of the appeal awarded to the Respondent

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Registration ActSection 26(1)(a) and (b); Section 7
  • Law of Contract ActSection 3(3)
  • Evidence ActSections 107, 108, 109

Cases cited (9)

  • Elizabeth Pamella Nechesa vs. Rosalia Italia
    Kakamega ELC Civil Suit No. 194 of 2017
  • Elijah Makeri Nyagwara vs. Stephen Mungai & Another
    [2013] eKLR
  • William Kabogo Gitau vs. George Thuo & 2 Others
    [2010] eKLR
  • Esther Ndengi Njiru & Another vs. Leonard Gatei Mbugua
    [2020] eKLR
  • John Muchiri Mbuthia vs. Rebecca Were Mutanda & Another
    [2015] eKLR
  • Ocean Estates vs. Pinder
    [1969] 2 AC 19
  • Abok James Odera t/a A. J. Odera & Associates vs. John Patrick Machura t/a Machira & Co. Advocates
    [2013] eKLR
  • Gitobu Imanyara & 2 Others vs. Attorney General
    [2016] eKLR
  • Raila Amollo Odinga & Another vs. IEBC & 2 Others
    [2017] eKLR
On appeal from
Chief Magistrate's Court at Mavoko
Not stated
Jurisdiction invoked
First appellate jurisdiction over the Chief Magistrate's Court (Memorandum of Appeal dated 3rd October 2019)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mary Murugi Muguro v Esther Kavuli Kivuva & Waswa Investment Co. Ltd", Case Analysis (2023). Environment and Land Appeal 46 of 2019. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2023/663/eng@2023-02-08

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.