Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedBusia ELC Civil Suit (original plaint dated 5th June 2007, filed 6th June 2007; suit number not stated in judgment)· [2023] KEELC 324 (KLR)

Otsyula v Ondwasi (Environment & Land Case 26 of 2016) [2023] KEELC 324 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
26 January 2023
4,903 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~20 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The Busia Environment and Land Court confirmed the plaintiff's land title and barred his uncle from trespassing, but refused compensation because no losses were specifically pleaded or proved.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, registered proprietor of land parcel BUKHAYO/MALANGA/4152 (created from the sub-division of BUKHAYO/MALANGA/1415, itself hived from the original parcel BUKHAYO/MALANGA/298 belonging to the late Kefa Ondwasi), sued the defendant, his uncle, claiming permanent injunction, mesne profits and costs for alleged trespass from June 2007. The defendant denied trespass, asserted he had kept to his own boundaries, and contended that the suit land was non-existent because titles issued by the estate administrator, George Alfred Chituyi, had been declared null and void following orders in Busia PMCC Land Case No 62 of 2007 directing rectification of boundaries. The court found that all orders issued in the protracted family litigation concerned only boundary rectification and none cancelled the plaintiff's title; the defendant conceded under cross-examination that the orders did not nullify any title and did not counterclaim for nullification. The court held the suit land existed and the plaintiff held a valid title protected under Article 40(1) of the Constitution and Section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act. Trespass was proved, having continued despite a consent temporary injunction of 5th November 2007 whose breach was established in contempt proceedings before Muchemi J; a permanent injunction issued. The claim for mesne profits failed for want of specific pleading and proof, being special damages. Because the parties are family, each party was ordered to bear their own costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Existence and validity of the plaintiff's title to the suit land

Holding

The suit land BUKHAYO/MALANGA/4152 exists and the plaintiff holds a valid title; no order cancelling either the title to BUKHAYO/MALANGA/1415 or the suit land was found, all orders filed dealing only with boundary disputes

Reasoning

The court examined all orders issued in the various suits, including the orders of 16th May 2003 in Busia High Court Misc Application No 11 of 1997 and the orders of 21st December 2007 in Busia PMCC Land Dispute No 73 of 2007, and found they addressed only boundary rectification, not cancellation of title. The defendant conceded the order did not nullify any title and did not counterclaim for nullification. Invalidating one resultant parcel would doom the other eleven.

p. 9
02

Trespass and entitlement to a permanent injunction

Holding

Trespass by the defendant was proved as far back as 2007, including his disobedience of a consent temporary injunction, and the prayer for a permanent injunction was merited

Reasoning

The consent temporary injunction issued by Wanjiru Karanja J on 5th November 2007 was breached, as found by Muchemi J in a contempt ruling of 14th October 2009. Together with the testimony of the plaintiff and PW2, this constituted sufficient proof of continuing trespass. Because trespass is a continuing tort, the permanent injunction was granted.

p. 10
03

Mesne profits

Holding

The claim for mesne profits was rejected for want of specific pleading and proof

Reasoning

Relying on Section 2 of the Civil Procedure Act and the Court of Appeal decision in Peter Mwangi Mbuthia v Samon Edin Osman, the court held that mesne profits are in the nature of special damages that must be sufficiently pleaded and proved. The plaintiff pleaded no sum and adduced no evidence quantifying the profits allegedly lost.

p. 10

Legal principles established

#
  • A registered proprietor's title is prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership and can only be challenged on the grounds set out in Section 26(1) of the Land Registration Act, namely fraud or misrepresentation to which the proprietor is a party, or acquisition illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme
  • A party challenging a title as null and void must counterclaim for its nullification; lapses in a boundary survey exercise ordered by a court do not, in themselves, invalidate a registered title, especially where other resultant parcels would equally be affected
  • Trespass is a continuing tort which persists until the trespasser is no longer on the land
  • A claim for mesne profits is in the nature of special damages and must be specifically pleaded and proved with material demonstrating how the amount claimed was arrived at

Court orders

#
  1. 1.An order of permanent injunction restraining the defendant, whether by himself, his employees, agents, workers or servants, from trespassing onto or in any other way interfering with the plaintiff's possession and occupation of land parcel NO BUKHAYO/MALANGA/4152
  2. 2.The claim for mesne profits is declined
  3. 3.Each party shall meet their own costs

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Constitution of Kenya, 2010Article 40(1)
  • Land Registration ActSection 26(1)
  • Civil Procedure ActSection 2 (definition of mesne profits)
  • Registered Land Act (repealed)Section 143

Cases cited (1)

  • PETER MWANGI MBUTHIA & ANOTHER -V- SAMON EDIN OSMAN
    2014 eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over disputes relating to title to and occupation of land (a trespass and title dispute over land parcel BUKHAYO/MALANGA/4152); no specific constitutional or statutory provision invoked for jurisdiction

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Otsyula v Ondwasi (Environment & Land Case 26 of 2016) [2023] KEELC 324 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2023). Busia ELC Civil Suit (original plaint dated 5th June 2007, filed 6th June 2007; suit number not stated in judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2023/324/eng@2023-01-26

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.