Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2023] KEELC 233 (KLR)

Caleb & another v Ochieng & another (Environment & Land Case 86 of 2016) [2023] KEELC 233 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
26 January 2023
1,719 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~7 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kisumu court gave a family land they had occupied openly for over 30 years, ruling that the new registered owner's later purchase could not defeat their long-standing possession.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiffs, Duncan Omondi Caleb and Mary Atieno Ayeto, sued Shem Onyango Ochieng and Aggrey Aluda Edege claiming the whole of Kisumu/Kasule/6584 and a portion of Kisumu/Kasule/2033 by adverse possession. They contended that the 1st plaintiff's father, Caleb Joseph Wadenya, agreed on 2nd July 1984 to buy the land from Rosemary Adoyo Ochieng and that the family entered, built a home, fenced the land and occupied it openly and peacefully from 1984 - over 33 years - without interruption. The land, originally Kisumu/Kasule/1244/2745, was later sold to the 1st defendant, who subdivided it into 6584, 6585 and 6586 and demanded rent from the 1st plaintiff, precipitating the suit. The 1st defendant asserted he was an innocent purchaser for value in 2012 who had subdivided and sold to third parties, but called no evidence at trial. Applying sections 7, 13 and 38 of the Limitation of Actions Act and the authorities in Wambugu v Njuguna, Mtana Lewa v Kahindi Ngala Mwagandi and Mbira v Gachuhi, the court held that the plaintiffs' open, continuous, non-permissive possession for well beyond the statutory 12 years dispossessed the registered owner, and that the defendants' later purchase did not defeat the accrued right. Judgment was entered for the plaintiffs: they were to be registered as owners of the suit property, the defendants' names cancelled from the register, a permanent injunction issued restraining interference with the plaintiffs' occupation, and costs awarded to the plaintiffs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiffs acquired title to the suit land by adverse possession

Holding

Yes. The plaintiffs and their predecessor entered and occupied the land openly and peacefully from 1984, exceeding the 12-year limitation period, and the defendants' subsequent purchase did not disturb that possession

Reasoning

The court found on uncontroverted evidence that Caleb Joseph Wadenya agreed to buy the land in 1984, that the plaintiffs entered into possession that year, and that possession continued openly and without interruption for over 33 years. Section 7 bars recovery actions after 12 years; section 13 makes adverse possession the exception; section 38 permits an order for registration of the adverse possessor. The defendants called no evidence, and the later purchase by the 1st defendant did not interrupt the plaintiffs' possession.

p. 2
02

Whether the defendants' status as registered proprietors/innocent purchasers defeats the claim

Holding

No. Registration of the 1st defendant following purchase did not extinguish the accrued adverse-possession right; he took subject to the plaintiffs' possession

Reasoning

Relying on Wambugu v Njuguna and Mtana Lewa v Kahindi Ngala Mwagandi, the court reasoned that adverse possession arises from the owner's inaction over the statutory period and that acts of possession inconsistent with the proprietor's enjoyment dispossess him. The 1st defendant bought in 2012, long after possession had run, and his demand for rent prompted the suit rather than interrupting possession.

p. 4
03

Whether the plaintiffs proved their case in the absence of defence evidence

Holding

Yes. The defendants did not call any evidence, so the plaintiffs' evidence stood uncontroverted

Reasoning

Although the 1st defendant filed a replying affidavit asserting innocent purchase for value in 2012 and onward sale to third parties, he adduced no oral evidence at the hearing. The plaintiffs' testimony, including that of PW2, a retired chief of the area, was therefore uncontested and the court accepted the claim of continuous occupation since 1984.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • A purchaser's subsequent acquisition and registration of land does not defeat a right of ownership already accrued by adverse possession
  • Adverse possession requires dispossession or discontinuance by the title holder for the statutory period, and the claimant's possession must be non-permissive, open, notorious, exclusive and adverse without interruption for twelve years

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Declaration that the plaintiffs' father bought the suit property in 1984 and that the plaintiff established his house on the property in 1984
  2. 2.Declaration that a portion of Kisumu/Kasule/2033 forms part of the portion occupied by the plaintiffs
  3. 3.Order that the plaintiffs be registered as owners of the suit property and the names of the defendants be cancelled from the register
  4. 4.Permanent injunction restraining the defendants from entering, encroaching upon or interfering with the plaintiffs' quiet occupation, possession and entitlement of the property
  5. 5.Costs of the suit to the plaintiffs

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Limitation of Actions ActSection 7
  • Limitation of Actions ActSection 13
  • Limitation of Actions ActSections 9, 10, 11 and 12
  • Limitation of Actions ActSection 12(3)
  • Limitation of Actions ActSections 37 and 38

Cases cited (3)

  • Wambugu v Njuguna
    [1983] KLR 172
  • Mtana Lewa v Kahindi Ngala Mwagandi
    [2015] eKLR; Malindi App No 56 of 2014
  • Mbira v. Gachuhi
    (2002) 1 EALR 137
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction under Section 38 of the Limitation of Actions Act (claim for adverse possession of registered land); judgment does not cite a specific constitutional provision

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Caleb & another v Ochieng & another (Environment & Land Case 86 of 2016) [2023] KEELC 233 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2023). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2023/233/eng@2023-01-26

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.