Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in the extract provided· [2022] KEELC 3820 (KLR)

Karanja v Kabuchia & 3 others (Environment & Land Case 356 of 2017) [2022] KEELC 3820 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
16 June 2022
1,948 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~8 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court cancelled fraudulently created land titles and ordered 10 acres returned to a buyer's estate, because the defendants offered no evidence at trial.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff, son and legal representative of the late Francis Karanja Gicheru, sued for rectification of the land register, pleading that his deceased father bought 10 acres out of Nyandarua/Njabini/288 from the late Mburu Karanja in 1980 with Land Control Board consent and took possession, but the transfer was never effected. A decree in the deceased's favour in Nyahururu PMCC No. 307 of 1997 could not be executed because the green card for parcel 288 went missing; it later emerged that the parcel had been subdivided into titles 4081–4089, some transferred to the defendants. The plaintiff alleged fraud by the 1st defendant. The 2nd–4th defendants filed a joint defence denying the sale, pleading they took lawful titles free of cautions or restrictions, and the 2nd defendant pleaded innocent purchaser for value without notice. The defendants did not attend the trial; their case was closed without evidence. The court framed four issues: proof of the claim, the innocent-purchaser defence, entitlement to reliefs, and costs. It found the claim proved on a balance of probabilities: the deceased's entitlement had been determined in the first suit, and the vendor's 2002 subdivision and transfers to his sons and the 2nd defendant were fraudulent. The 2nd defendant's innocent-purchaser plea failed for want of evidence. Judgment was entered for the plaintiff: cancellation of titles 4081–4089, restoration of parcel 288, excision of 10 acres registered in the plaintiff's name as legal representative, and dispensation with production of the original title deeds. Notably, despite the plaintiff's success, each party was ordered to bear its own costs owing to the defendants' non-attendance.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff proved the claim on a balance of probabilities

Holding

Yes. On uncontroverted evidence, the deceased bought 10 acres out of parcel 288 in 1980 with Land Control Board consent, took possession, but the vendor fraudulently subdivided and transferred portions to the defendants.

Reasoning

The prior suit (Nyahururu PMCC No. 307 of 1997) had determined the deceased's entitlement to 10 acres out of parcel 288. The defendants tendered no evidence at trial. The subdivision in 2002 and transfers to the defendants, despite the earlier sale and possession, were held fraudulent as against the deceased's estate.

p. 3
02

Whether the 2nd defendant was an innocent purchaser for value without notice

Holding

No. Having pleaded the defence, he gave no evidence of payment of consideration or lack of notice of the deceased family's possession.

Reasoning

The burden lay on the 2nd defendant to establish the defence of bona fide purchaser for value without notice. He did not testify or tender any evidence. The court therefore could not find that he paid consideration or was unaware of the deceased family's possession of the suit property, and the defence failed.

p. 4
03

Entitlement to reliefs

Holding

The plaintiff was entitled to rectification of the register, cancellation of titles 4081–4089, and excision and registration of 10 acres in his name as legal representative.

Reasoning

Having found the claim proved and the innocent-purchaser defence unsupported, the court held the plaintiff entitled to the reliefs sought in the plaint, including the alternative that the Land Registrar dispense with production of the original title deeds which had gone missing.

p. 4
04

Costs

Holding

Although costs normally follow the event, each party was to bear his own costs because the defendants did not attend the hearing.

Reasoning

The court applied section 27 of the Civil Procedure Act as explained in Hussein Janmohamed & Sons v Twentsche Overseas Trading Co Ltd, but exercised its discretion to depart from the general rule given the defendants' non-attendance at the hearing.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • Costs follow the event unless the court, for good reason, directs otherwise
  • A party pleading bona fide purchaser status without notice must tender evidence to establish it; the plea fails in the absence of evidence
  • Fraudulent subdivision and transfer of land already sold and possessed by a purchaser amounts to fraud

Court orders

#
  1. 1.An order for rectification of the land register by cancellation of title Nos Nyandarua/Njabini/4081 – 4089 and restoration of the original title No Nyandarua/Njabini/288
  2. 2.The County Land Surveyor and Land Registrar to undertake an excision of 10 acres out of Title No Nyandarua/Njabini/288 and cause it to be registered in the name of the plaintiff, Joseph Gicheru Karanja, as legal representative of the estate of the late Francis Karanja Gicheru
  3. 3.The Land Registrar Nyandarua County to dispense with production of the original title deeds for parcel Nos 4081 – 4089 during rectification of the register
  4. 4.Each party shall bear his own costs

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Law of Succession Actsection 54
  • Civil Procedure Actsection 27

Cases cited (1)

  • Hussein Janmohamed & Sons v Twentsche Overseas Trading Co Ltd
    [1967] EA 287
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over rectification of the land register, following a direction by the trial court in Nyahururu PMCC No. 307 of 1997 that the matter be presented before this court

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Karanja v Kabuchia & 3 others (Environment & Land Case 356 of 2017) [2022] KEELC 3820 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2022). Not stated in the extract provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2022/3820/eng@2022-06-16

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.