Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the excerpt ( suit involving L.R No. 7785/97)· [2022] KEELC 3183 (KLR)

HFC Limited v Kampala International University & 11 others (Environment & Land Case E204 of 2020) [2022] KEELC 3183 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court of Kenya
26 May 2022
7,398 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~30 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Environment and Land Court struck out a bank's claims against ten third parties, confirming lenders can only sue those who actually signed the charge.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This ruling by the Environment and Land Court at Nairobi (Oguttu Mboya J) determined three interlocutory matters simultaneously: the Plaintiff's Notice of Motion dated 8th October 2020 seeking temporary injunctions and possession orders over L.R No. 7785/97; the 5th Defendant's Notice of Motion dated 14th April 2021 seeking to strike out the Plaint; and the 5th Defendant's preliminary objection that the suit offended Section 90 of the Land Act. The court framed four issues. On the first, it held that a chargee's remedies are statutorily circumscribed and, by the doctrine of privity of contract, the Plaintiff chargee had no cause of action against the 2nd to 12th Defendants with whom it had no contractual relationship. The preliminary objection and the striking-out application were accordingly allowed and the suit against the 2nd to 12th Defendants struck out. On the second issue, the court found a prima facie case against the 1st Defendant, since disbursement of the Kshs 54 million facility and default (arrears of Kshs 38,247,182.28) were not contested, while questions of restructuring and assignment of the charge awaited plenary hearing. On the third issue, the court held the loss quantifiable and hence not irreparable, refusing the injunction. On the fourth issue, the court declined to order alternative security, holding it would amount to rewriting the charge contract. The suit remains maintainable against the 1st Defendant only; costs were awarded to the 5th Defendant, with costs of the Plaintiff's application to abide the outcome against the 1st Defendant.

Key legal issues

#
01

Cause of action against 2nd–12th Defendants

Holding

Suit against them struck out — no cause of action disclosed.

Reasoning

A chargee's remedies are statutorily circumscribed under Section 90 of the Land Act and lie only against the chargor and guarantors. The doctrine of privity of contract binds only parties to the charge instrument. The Plaintiff had no contractual relationship with the 2nd–12th Defendants, and cannot expand statutory remedies beyond what is provided.

p. 10
02

Prima facie case against 1st Defendant

Holding

Established — issues of fact (assignment, restructuring) to await plenary hearing.

Reasoning

The disbursement of the loan facility and the default in repayment are not contested by the 1st Defendant. The disputed questions of whether Housing Finance Company of Kenya was restructured into the Plaintiff and whether the charge was assigned are issues of mixed fact and law unsuitable for summary determination at interlocutory stage.

p. 13
03

Irreparable loss

Holding

Not established — the loss is quantifiable in monetary terms.

Reasoning

The Plaintiff quantified the arrears at Kshs 38,247,182.28 as at 31st March 2020 and seeks recovery of the same in the Plaint. Where damages are an adequate remedy and the respondent is capable of paying, an interlocutory injunction should not issue, however strong the claim appears.

p. 13

Legal principles established

#
  • A chargee's statutory remedies under Section 90 of the Land Act lie only against the chargor and guarantors; privity of contract bars claims against third parties.
  • A court cannot re-write a contract between the parties.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Notice of Preliminary Objection dated 13th April 2021 and the Notice of Motion Application dated 14th April 2021 be and are hereby allowed.
  2. 2.The Plaintiff's suit as against the 2nd to the 12th Defendants be and is hereby struck out.
  3. 3.The Notice of Motion Application dated 8th October 2020 be and is hereby Dismissed.
  4. 4.Costs of the Preliminary objection, the Application dated 14th April 2021 as well as the suit be and are hereby awarded to the 5th Defendant only.
  5. 5.Costs of the Application dated 8th October 2020 shall abide the outcome of the suit between the Plaintiff and the 1st Defendant.

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land ActSection 90

Cases cited (20)

  • Giella v Cassman Brown & Company Ltd
    [1973] EA 358
  • Mrao Ltd v First American Bank of Kenya Ltd & 2 others
    [2003] eKLR
  • Ngugi Gichune Njoroge v Cooperative Bank Ltd & another
    [2015] eKLR
  • Kariuki v National Bank of Kenya Ltd
    [2006] 1 EA 96
  • Joel Kipkurui Arap Koech v Alice Wambui Magandu & 3 others
    [2018] eKLR
  • Mukisa Biscuits Manufacturing Company Ltd v Westend Distributors Ltd
    [1969] EA 696
  • Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission v Jane Cheperengerer & 2 others
    [2015] eKLR
  • Hassan Ali Joho & another v Suleiman Saaid Shabal & 2 others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Hassan Nyanje Charo v Khativ Mwashetani & 3 others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Jones v Humphrey
    [1902] 2 KB 10
  • Forster v Barker
    [1910] 2 KB 636
  • Re-Steel Wing Company Ltd
    [1921] 1 CH 349
  • Walter & Sulivan Ltd v Murphy & Sons Ltd
    [1955] 2 QB 584
  • Agricultural Finance Corporation v Lengetia Ltd
    [1985] eKLR
  • Paul Gitonga Wanjau v Gatuthis Tea Factory Company Ltd & 2 others
    [2016] eKLR
  • D.T. Dobie & Company (Kenya) Limited v Joseph Mbaria Muchina & another
    [1980] eKLR
  • Savings & Loans (K) Limited v Kanyenje Karangaita Gakombe & Another
    [2015] eKLR
  • Nguruman Limited v Jan Bonde Nielsen & 2 others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Kenya Commercial Finance Co. Ltd v Afraha Education Society
    [2001] Vol. 1 EA 86
  • National Bank of Kenya Ltd v Pipeplastic Samkolit (K) Ltd & another
    [2001] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction over land disputes (Environment and Land Court), Art 162(2)(b) Constitution

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "HFC Limited v Kampala International University & 11 others (Environment & Land Case E204 of 2020) [2022] KEELC 3183 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2022). Not stated in the excerpt ( suit involving L.R No. 7785/97). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2022/3183/eng@2022-05-26

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.