Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment text (Mombasa Environment and Land Court suit)· [2022] KEELC 2977 (KLR)

Kenya Anti-Corruption Commission v Bhangra Limited & 4 others (Environment & Land Case 9 of 2008) [2022] KEELC 2977 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
5 May 2022
10,353 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~41 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission, as successor to KACC, sued to nullify the title to Mombasa Island/Block XI/934, alleging the plot was fraudulently carved out of the Tom Mboya (Tudor) Road reserve in Mombasa and alienated through an allotment letter to the 1st defendant and a 99-year lease to the 2nd defendant, later transferred between related companies to the 4th defendant. The 5th defendant was the former Commissioner of Lands. The 1st, 3rd and 4th defendants denied the road reserve claim, asserted they were innocent purchasers for value, and questioned the plaintiff's capacity and the non-joinder of the Government. The court framed three issues: whether the plot came from a road reserve, whether it was lawfully created and allocated, and whether the title deserved protection. Relying on the surveyor who created the plots and corroborating expert and documentary evidence, the court found the plot was excised from the road reserve. It held that neither the Municipal Council (whose power to close roads did not extend to allocation) nor the Commissioner of Lands had any legal power to create a private plot out of a public road, the alteration of roads being reserved to the Minister under section 8 of cap 399. The defendants' claims of innocent purchase failed for want of sale agreements and proof of consideration, and because a road reserve is an overriding interest. Citing KeNHA v Mughal, Niaz Mohamed Jan Mohamed and Milan Kumar Shah, the court declared the title null and void ab initio, ordered its cancellation and amendment of the RIM, and issued a permanent injunction against the 1st–4th defendants. Damages claims were refused. Costs were awarded against all the defendants jointly and/or severally.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the suit property was carved out of the Tom Mboya (Tudor) Road reserve

Holding

The court found it inescapable that the plot was created from the road reserve, based on the evidence of the surveyor who created the plot and other expert witnesses.

Reasoning

The surveyor who conducted the survey creating the plots (PW-3) himself testified the plots were created from the road reserve. His evidence was corroborated by the physical planning officer (PW-2) and the engineering surveyor (PW-4), whose expert consensus was that the plot came from the road reserve. Documentary evidence - the RIM amendment, survey plan F/R No 318/167 and the PDP - showed the road narrowing from 30.48 metres to 15.2 metres where plots were excised. The defendants led no contrary expert evidence.

p. 11
02

Whether the suit property was lawfully created and allocated

Holding

Neither the Municipal Council nor the Commissioner of Lands had power to create a private plot out of a public road reserve; the allocation was illegal on either party's theory.

Reasoning

Alteration of public roads was reserved to the Minister under section 8 of the Public Roads and Roads of Access Act (cap 399) by Gazette order, which was never done. The council's power to close roads under section 185 of the Local Authorities Act did not extend to allocating plots, and the required publications and notices were absent. The Commissioner of Lands had no power to declare a public road extinguished and create a private plot; no allotment letter, application or premium payment supported the lease to Castle Dom Properties Limited.

p. 13
03

Whether the title of the 3rd and 4th defendants was protected as innocent purchasers for value

Holding

The protection was declined; the transfers between related companies without sale agreements or proof of consideration were not innocent, and the title was bad ab initio in any event.

Reasoning

There was doubt about the innocence of the defendants: shared directorship and postal addresses, absence of sale agreements, no proof of payment of consideration or stamp duty for the transfers to Dim Agencies and Lillywhites. The transfers were seen as attempts to launder the tainted title. Under section 143 of the RLA, rectification was available since the registration was obtained by fraud or mistake, and a road reserve is an overriding interest not needing registration.

p. 16
04

Whether the 5th defendant could be sued personally and whether the Government ought to have been joined

Holding

A former Commissioner of Lands can be sued personally per EACC v Judith Marilyn Okungu, but no orders were sought against him; non-joinder of the Government was immaterial since the Government itself had nullified the title by Gazette Notice.

Reasoning

The Court of Appeal in EACC v Okungu settled that the holder of the office of Commissioner of Lands could be sued in his personal capacity; however the plaintiff sought no specific relief against the 5th defendant. On joinder, the Government had shown itself opposed to the alienation by gazetting revocation of the title (Notice No 11533 of October 1, 2010), which was only quashed for procedural reasons, so it could not have protected the title.

p. 19

Legal principles established

#
  • Once land is set aside as a road reserve it is an overriding interest and may not be alienated for private development, whether or not noted in the land register
  • Neither the Local Authority nor the Government could alienate road reserve land held in trust for the public under the Government Lands Act
  • A court may order cancellation of a registration obtained by fraud or mistake under section 143 of the Registered Land Act
  • A former Commissioner of Lands may be sued in his personal capacity for acts done in that office

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Declared that the title to land parcel Mombasa Island/Block XI/934 was unlawfully issued and is null and void ab initio
  2. 2.Ordered the Chief Land Registrar and the Land Registrar, Mombasa, to cancel the title to Mombasa Island/Block XI/934
  3. 3.Ordered the Director of Surveys to amend the Registry Index Map so as to remove plot Mombasa Island/Block XI/934 from the Registry Index Map
  4. 4.Issued a permanent injunction barring the 1st–4th defendants and/or their servants/agents from entering, being upon, developing, dealing or interfering with the land covered by the nullified title
  5. 5.Costs borne jointly and/or severally against all the defendants

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Anti-corruption and Economic Crimes Actsection 7(h); section 23
  • Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission Actsection 3(1)
  • Government Lands Act (repealed)Not specified
  • Registered Lands Act (repealed)section 143
  • Local Authorities Act (repealed)section 185
  • Public Roads and Roads of Access Act, cap 399section 8
  • Local Government Act (repealed)Not specified

Cases cited (4)

  • Kenya National Highways Authority v Shalien Masood Mughal & 5 others
    [2017] eKLR
  • Niaz Mohamed Jan Mohamed v Commissioner of Lands & 4 others
    Mombasa HCCC No 423 of 1996, (1996) eKLR
  • Milan Kumar Shah & 2 others v City Council of Nairobi & others
    Nairobi HCCC No 1024 of 2005 (OS) (unreported)
  • Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission vs Judith Marilyn Okungu & another
    Civil Appeal No 183 of 2014 (2017) eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil suit; successor capacity of the plaintiff under the Anti-Corruption and Economic Crimes Act and the Ethics and Anti-Corruption Commission Act, Act No 22 of 2011, section 3(1)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kenya Anti-Corruption Commission v Bhangra Limited & 4 others (Environment & Land Case 9 of 2008) [2022] KEELC 2977 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2022). Not stated in the judgment text (Mombasa Environment and Land Court suit). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2022/2977/eng@2022-05-05

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.