Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment· [2022] KEELC 2934 (KLR)

Mwakondo & 6 others v Kudoka & 4 others (Environment & Land Case 261 of 2004) [2022] KEELC 2934 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
29 June 2022
1,661 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~7 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Ten Mombasa families won their land after a court cancelled a title obtained fraudulently in the name of a man who had died 17 years earlier.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiffs, ten families who had developed residential houses and resided on plot No. 123 Section I Mainland South for over thirty years, sued the defendants, who claimed as administrators of the estate of Ali Abdalla Kudoka, the alleged original owner. The plaintiffs sought a declaration that the defendants were not lawful owners, an injunction restraining the collection of ground rent, cancellation of the title deed issued on July 6, 2005, survey and subdivision of the land to give each plaintiff title to the portion occupied, and costs. The 1st defendant filed a defence and counterclaim asserting that the land belonged to the deceased and that the plaintiffs were tenants in breach who refused to pay rent from about 1995/2003, and sought vacant possession. The defendants were served but did not attend court or adduce evidence. Applying sections 24(a) and 26(1) of the Land Registration Act and the Elijah Makeri Nyangw'ra decision, the court held that a registered title is indefeasible except on proof of fraud or misrepresentation to which the proprietor is a party, or where it was acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme. Finding that the title was first registered in 2005 in the name of a proprietor who had died in 1988, and while the suit was pending, the court held the title was obtained through fraud and/or misrepresentation to which the defendants were party. Judgment was entered for the plaintiffs with the declaration, injunction, cancellation and subdivision orders, and costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Indefeasibility of title under the Land Registration Act

Holding

A registered proprietor's title is prima facie absolute and indefeasible, but is open to challenge on proof of fraud or misrepresentation to which the proprietor is a party, or where the title was acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme

Reasoning

The court relied on sections 24(a) and 26(1) of the Land Registration Act, which vest absolute ownership in the registered proprietor but carve out exceptions to indefeasibility. It adopted the approach in Elijah Makeri Nyangw'ra, that even a title in innocent hands may be impugned where the acquisition is tainted. The plaintiffs pleaded specific particulars of fraud, including obtaining a title over land in active occupation and while the suit was pending.

p. 3
02

Whether the plaintiffs proved fraud in the issuance of the title deed dated July 6, 2005

Holding

The plaintiffs proved on a balance of probabilities that the title was obtained through fraud and/or misrepresentation to which the defendants were a party

Reasoning

The title was first registered on July 6, 2005 in the name of Ali Abdalla Kudoka, who had died on July 12, 1988, and the registration occurred while this suit was pending and the defendants were aware of the dispute. The defendants were served but did not attend court or adduce any evidence, so the plaintiffs' unchallenged evidence stood. A further title was issued on November 28, 2007 to the administrator of the estate.

p. 4
03

Capacity of the defendants to demand ground rent

Holding

Having established that the title was fraudulently obtained, the defendants were declared not to be the lawful owners with capacity to demand or collect ground rent from the plaintiffs

Reasoning

The defendants had filed suits in the Resident Magistrate's Court at Mombasa demanding arrears of ground rent, basing their claim on the estate of Ali Abdalla Kudoka. Because the court found the title tainted with fraud and ordered its cancellation, the foundation for the ground rent demands fell away, justifying the declaration and the injunction restraining further demands or collection.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • Registration of a person as proprietor of land vests absolute ownership in that person, but a certificate of title may be challenged on the ground of fraud or misrepresentation to which the proprietor is a party, or where it was acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme
  • A title in the hands of an innocent third party can still be impugned if proved to have been obtained illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that the defendants are not the lawful owners of plot No. 123 Section I Mainland South and have no capacity to demand and/or collect any ground rent from the plaintiffs
  2. 2.An order of injunction restraining the defendants by their servants and/or agents from demanding and/or collecting any ground rent from the plaintiffs
  3. 3.An order that the title of the suit property plot No. 123 Section I Mainland South be cancelled and the suit land be surveyed and subdivided to the plaintiffs as per the portions occupied by their respective houses upon payment of the requisite charges
  4. 4.Costs of the suit to the plaintiffs

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Registration ActSection 24(a)
  • Land Registration ActSection 26(1)

Cases cited (1)

  • Elijah Makeri Nyangw'ra v Stephen Mungai Njuguna & Another
    [2013] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over disputes relating to title and occupation of land (suit filed in 2004 and determined by the ELC)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Mwakondo & 6 others v Kudoka & 4 others (Environment & Land Case 261 of 2004) [2022] KEELC 2934 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2022). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2022/2934/eng@2022-06-29

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.