Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2022] KEELC 2777 (KLR)

Matoi v Kimau & another (Environment & Land Case E014 of 2021) [2022] KEELC 2777 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
6 July 2022
2,141 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~9 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A land buyer who waited nine years to sue and produced no translated sale agreement or title lost his bid to stop construction on the disputed parcel.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The applicant, Juma Matoi, moved the Environment and Land Court at Narok by notice of motion dated 13th May 2021 seeking an interlocutory injunction restraining the respondents from entering, constructing on, or interfering with parcel 1766/Mukuyuni Ukia pending hearing of the suit. He deposed that he bought the land from the 1st respondent, who after the applicant's accident resold it to the 2nd respondent, who erected structures on it; family elders had resolved the resale was illegal. The respondents, through a replying affidavit of Manthi Nthia, denied owning the claimed parcel, asserting they occupy Okia/Mukuyuni/2357 purchased in 2012 with the applicant as a witness, that the money paid was a loan, and that the claim was time-barred under the Limitation of Actions Act. Both sides filed written submissions canvassing the Giella v Cassman Brown principles. The court noted the applicant's sale agreement (JM-1) was not in the court's language and no translation was supplied, and that he exhibited no title document. Having bought allegedly in 2012 and sued in 2021, his contract claim was barred after six years, and he produced no medical documents to explain the delay. The respondents' title showed parcel 2357 was a subdivision of 1766, but it was impossible to tell whether the applicant bought the whole parcel or a portion, and he likely lacked Land Control Board consent. The court found no prima facie case with probability of success and, per the sequential Giella approach, declined to consider irreparable harm or balance of convenience. The application was dismissed with costs on 6th July 2022.

Key legal issues

#
01

Prima facie case with probability of success

Holding

Not established; the applicant exhibited no title document, the sale agreement was in a language not translated, and the claim appeared time-barred

Reasoning

The applicant alleged purchase in 2012 but filed suit in 2021. Contract claims are barred after six years and the applicant offered no medical evidence to excuse the delay. The agreement also lacked proof of Land Control Board consent, undermining specific performance. Accordingly, no prima facie case was shown.

p. 4
02

Identification of the suit property

Holding

Uncertain; the respondents' title (Okia/Mukuyuni/2357) resulted from subdivision of parcel 1766, but the record did not show whether the applicant bought the whole parcel or a portion

Reasoning

The title deed exhibited by the respondents showed parcel 2357 was a subdivision of parcel 1766. The application did not clarify whether the applicant purchased the entire parcel 1766 or a portion, making it impossible to determine whether the subdivided portion sold to the 2nd respondent was the applicant's portion.

p. 4
03

Consideration of remaining Giella principles

Holding

Not reached, since the first limb failed

Reasoning

Having found no prima facie case, the court declined to examine irreparable injury and balance of convenience, following the sequential approach in Kenya Commercial Finance Co. Ltd v Afraha Education Society that the second condition arises only if the first is satisfied.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • Where the applicant fails to establish a prima facie case, the court need not consider the remaining Giella principles
  • Actions founded on contract must be brought within six years under the Limitation of Actions Act

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The application dated 13th May 2021 is dismissed with costs

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 40 Rule 1(a), 2 & 4(1)
  • Environment & Land Court ActSection 13(7)(a)
  • Civil Procedure Act, Cap 21 Laws of KenyaSections 1A, 1B & 3A
  • Limitation of Actions ActNot specified (six-year bar on contract actions)

Cases cited (7)

  • Giella –vs- Cassman Brown
    (1973) EA
  • Hoffman la Roche & Co. Industry –vs- Secretary of State for the Trade and Industry
    (1975) AC 295 (H.L)
  • Kenya Commercial Finance Co. Ltd –vs- Afraha Education Society
    (2001) Vol. 1 EA 86
  • Mrao Ltd –vs- First American Bank of Kenya Ltd & 2 Others
    (2003) KLR 125 at 138
  • Raila Amolo Odinga & Anor. –vs- IEBC & 2 Others
    (2017) eKLR
  • Nguruman Ltd –vs- Jan Bonde Nielsen & 2 Others
    CA No. 77 of 2012
  • Paul Gitonga Wanjau –vs- Gathuthis Tea Factor Co. Ltd & 2 Others
    (2016) eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Section 13(7)(a) of the Environment & Land Court Act; Order 40 Rule 1(a), 2 & 4(1) of the Civil Procedure Rules; Sections 1A, 1B & 3A of the Civil Procedure Act

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Matoi v Kimau & another (Environment & Land Case E014 of 2021) [2022] KEELC 2777 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2022). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2022/2777/eng@2022-07-06

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.