Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2022] KEELC 2436 (KLR)

Nderitu v Gatiro & 3 others (Environment & Land Case 823 of 2013) [2022] KEELC 2436 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
27 April 2022
5,542 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~22 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff sued the 1st-4th defendants seeking a declaration of ownership of Plot No. A/102 Komarock Estate Market, a permanent injunction against the 1st-3rd defendants, compensation of Kshs. 7,644,000 for a demolished two-storey commercial building, loss of anticipated rental income, and general and exemplary damages. She alleged she was allocated the plot by the City Council of Nairobi in 2003, obtained beacon certificates, building approvals and a clearance certificate, and that on 5/07/2013 the defendants demolished her building using a bulldozer, with a second demolition on 28/03/2014 despite a court order. The 1st-3rd defendants did not enter appearance despite substituted service; the 4th defendant (contextually Nairobi County) filed a defence and submissions but called no evidence. The plaintiff testified and called five witnesses, including an eyewitness, a gazetted police photographer, an expert valuer and her son, whose evidence was uncontroverted. The court framed three issues: ownership, entitlement to the orders sought, and costs. Applying sections 107, 108 and 109 of the Evidence Act, and following Republic v City Council of Nairobi on the effect of an allotment letter, the court held the plaintiff proved her root of title and was the absolute and indefeasible owner. It found the defendants jointly and severally trespassed and illegally demolished the building without affording her a hearing, in egregious disregard of court orders. The claim for lost rental income failed for want of documentary proof, and the valuation figure of Kshs. 7,644,000 was discounted to Kshs. 5,000,000. The court awarded general damages of Kshs. 1,000,000, exemplary and aggravated damages of Kshs. 2,000,000, costs, and interest. The claim was thus partially allowed.

Key legal issues

#
01

Ownership of the suit property

Holding

The plaintiff proved her root of title through an allotment letter, beacon certificate, certificate of confirmation of ownership, approved plans and payment receipts, unrebutted by any defence evidence, and was declared the absolute and indefeasible owner

Reasoning

The plaintiff produced an allotment letter dated 17/07/2003, beacon certificate, approved building plans and receipts for rates. PW3, PW4 and PW5 corroborated her possession. Citing Republic v City Council of Nairobi, the court held a letter of allotment confers absolute ownership once conditions are met unless validly cancelled. No cancellation was evidenced and no defence evidence was adduced.

p. 8
02

Liability for the demolition

Holding

The defendants jointly and severally trespassed and illegally demolished the plaintiff's building; uncontroverted evidence including photographs, police reports and eyewitness testimony established this

Reasoning

The 1st-3rd defendants never entered appearance; the 4th defendant filed a defence but called no evidence. Photographic forensic evidence, police abstracts and eyewitnesses established that Nairobi City Council machinery demolished the building on 5/07/2013 and again on 28/03/2014 despite a court order, without notice to the plaintiff.

p. 9
03

Quantum of damages

Holding

Special damages of Kshs. 7,644,000 as per the valuation report was discounted to Kshs. 5,000,000; general damages of Kshs. 1,000,000 and exemplary/aggravated damages of Kshs. 2,000,000 awarded; the loss of rental income claim failed for want of proof

Reasoning

The court accepted the valuation report as uncontroverted proof of special damages but noted the valuers' assumptions about rebuilding and income projections were uncertain, so the figure was discounted. General damages for trespass did not require proof of loss, but no evidence supported the rent claim. Exemplary damages were warranted given the defendants ignored court orders.

p. 10

Legal principles established

#
  • A letter of allotment confers an absolute right of ownership once the allottee meets the conditions therein, unless challenged, cancelled by the allotting authority, or procured by fraud, mistake or misrepresentation
  • Whosoever asserts a legal right or liability bears the burden of proving the facts asserted
  • Coercive power of the State, including county government demolition powers, must be used legitimately and not without affording the affected person a hearing

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that the plaintiff Jane Muthoni Nderitu is the legal owner of the parcel of land known as Plot Number A/102 Komarock Estate Market
  2. 2.A permanent injunction restraining the 1st, 2nd and 3rd Defendants from trespassing on, wasting, alienating, selling, transferring, dealing with or interfering with Plot Number A/102 Komarock Estate Market
  3. 3.Kshs. Five Million (Kshs. 5,000,000) being the value of the demolished and destroyed building/property
  4. 4.General damages in the sum of Kshs. One Million (Kshs. 1,000,000)
  5. 5.Exemplary and aggravated damages in the sum of Kshs. Two Million (Kshs. 2,000,000)
  6. 6.Costs of the suit
  7. 7.Interest on items (iii), (iv) and (v) from the date of delivery of the judgment

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Evidence Act (Cap 80 Laws of Kenya)Section 107
  • Evidence Act (Cap 80 Laws of Kenya)Section 108
  • Evidence Act (Cap 80 Laws of Kenya)Section 109
  • Evidence Act (Cap 80 Laws of Kenya)Section 78
  • Civil Procedure ActSection 27
  • Survey ActNot specified (beacon certificate)

Cases cited (4)

  • Livingstone vs Rawards Coal Co. (1880) 5 App Cases 25
    (1880) 5 App Cases 25
  • Chase International Corporation & Anor vs Laxma Kshs.ra & Others
    (1978) KLR 143; (1976-80) 1 KLR
  • Republic versus City Council of Nairobi & 3 Others (2014) eKLR
    (2014) eKLR
  • Ephantus Gathua Muiyuro –v- Kenya Power Company Ltd (2016) eKLR
    (2016) eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
First-instance civil suit in land matters under the Environment and Land Court's jurisdiction (not expressly stated in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Nderitu v Gatiro & 3 others (Environment & Land Case 823 of 2013) [2022] KEELC 2436 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2022). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2022/2436/eng@2022-04-27

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.