Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment text (suit filed 23.4.2009, Environment and Land Court)· [2022] KEELC 2387 (KLR)

Kiniu v Ann Wairimu Ndung’u and Stanley Ndung’u Murigi Both t/a Annrose Nursery & Primary School & another (Environment & Land Case 179 of 2009) [2022] KEELC 2387 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
23 June 2022
5,621 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~22 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The Environment and Land Court confirmed a buyer's 1976 documentary paper trail beat later title holders, canceling titles issued mid-suit and awarding Ksh. 7 million.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiff sued, claiming that having purchased shares in the 2nd defendant (Embakasi Ranching Company Ltd) in 1976 and holding share certificate No. 2874, he was allotted plots A69 and A70 in November 1982, later demarcated as Nairobi Block 105 (Embakasi Ranching) 1927 and 1928. In February 2008 he discovered the 1st defendants constructing a school and rental houses on the land. He sought a declaration of ownership, permanent injunction, eviction, mesne profits and revocation of any titles issued to the defendants. The 1st defendants asserted ownership of different plots, V4510 and V4511 (now Nairobi Block 105/1916 and 1917), allegedly allocated to Stanley Ndungu Murigi. The 2nd defendant did not enter appearance. The court, applying section 107 of the Evidence Act and the principle that ownership of unregistered land must be traced through an unbroken documentary chain to the root of title, found the plaintiff's documentary history (share certificate, allotment letter, receipts, beacon confirmations) corroborated and sustained. The 1st defendants' evidence was hearsay, lacking any chronology of acquisition. Although leases were issued to Stanley Ndungu Murigi on 16th May 2019 during the pendency of the suit, the court found no basis for their issuance, invoking the doctrine of lis pendens and the requirement that a registered proprietor prove the legality of acquisition beyond the title instrument. The court declared the plaintiff the rightful owner, issued a permanent injunction, ordered eviction, cancelled the 1916 and 1917 registrations, awarded mesne profits of Ksh. 7,000,000 (less than the Kshs. 13,120,000 sought, factoring in the 1st defendants' defiance of the interim orders of 4th February 2011), declined to order direct issuance of titles to the plaintiff, and awarded the plaintiff costs against the 1st defendants with interest from the date of judgment.

Key legal issues

#
01

Who is the bona fide owner of the suit property?

Holding

The plaintiff, having proved an unbroken documentary chain from share purchase in 1976 through share certificate No. 2874, allotment of plots A69 and A70, payment of survey fees and beacon identification, is the rightful owner; the 1st defendants produced no cogent evidence of how they acquired their interest.

Reasoning

The plaintiff produced a share certificate, letter of allotment dated 28.11.1982 for plots A69 and A70, receipts for survey and site visits, and beacon confirmation documents, corroborated by PW2. The 1st defendants relied on hearsay evidence of an allocation to Stanley Ndungu Murigi, with no chronology or documents showing how the land was acquired from the 2nd defendant, and so failed to rebut the plaintiff's evidence.

p. 8
02

Whether the certificate of leases issued to Stanley Ndungu Murigi during the pendency of the suit should be revoked

Holding

Yes. The leases were issued during the pendency of the suit in breach of the doctrine of lis pendens and without proof of a lawful root of title; the registration is cancelled.

Reasoning

The certificate of leases for Nairobi/Block 105/1916 and 1917 were issued on 16th May 2019 while this suit was pending. Citing authorities on lis pendens and on the requirement that a registered proprietor prove the legality of acquisition beyond the instrument of title, the court found no basis for the issuance of the leases, rendering the prayer for revocation merited.

p. 10
03

Whether the plaintiff is entitled to mesne profits

Holding

Yes. The 1st defendants, in defiance of the court order of 4th February 2011, utilised the suit land for over ten years without proving ownership; global damages of Ksh. 7,000,000 were awarded.

Reasoning

There is no mathematical formula for assessing mesne profits; the guiding factor is the circumstances of each case. The 1st defendants ignored the interim injunction of 4th February 2011 and continued to derive profits from the suit land for over ten years while establishing no evidence of ownership. The court, guided by the Willesden Investments approach, awarded Ksh. 7,000,000.

p. 8

Legal principles established

#
  • A party asserting a legal right must prove the facts on which it depends; ownership of unregistered land is established by tracing an unbroken chain of documents to the root of title
  • Where a registered proprietor's root of title is challenged, the mere production of a title instrument is insufficient; the proprietor must prove the legality of the acquisition
  • Titles procured during the pendency of a suit, contrary to the doctrine of lis pendens, are liable to cancellation

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Declaration that the plaintiff is the owner of the suit land being plots Nos. A69 and A70 mapped out and demarcated as L.R. No. Block 105 (Embakasi Ranching) 1927 and 1928 respectively
  2. 2.Permanent injunction against the defendants, their servants or agents from trespassing, alienating or dealing with the suit property and from further construction thereon
  3. 3.Eviction of the defendants, their servants, agents, relatives and/or employees from plots Nos. A69 and A70 (LR No. Block 105 (Embakasi Ranching) 1927 and 1928)
  4. 4.Cancellation of the registration of the properties bearing particulars of plot Nos. V4510 and V4511 and/or Nairobi Block 105 (Embakasi Ranching) 1916 and 1917 in the names of Stanley Ndungu Murigi or the 2nd defendant
  5. 5.Mesne profits awarded to the plaintiff in the sum of Ksh. 7,000,000 as against the 1st defendants
  6. 6.Plaintiff awarded costs of the suit against the 1st defendants plus interest at court rates from the date of delivery of the judgment

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land ActSection 7(a)
  • Evidence ActSection 107
  • Trespass ActSections 2 & 3

Cases cited (23)

  • Danson Kimani Gacina & Another v Embakasi Ranching Company Ltd
    [2014] eKLR
  • Julius Kamau Karanja v Elvis Melita Suyianka & Another
    [2021] eKLR
  • Prafulla Enterprises Limited v Norlake Investments Limited & Another
    [2014] eKLR
  • Rhoda S. Kiilu v Jianxi Water and Hydropower Construction Kenya Limited
    [2019] eKLR
  • Nakuru industries Limited v S.S. Mehta & Sons
    [2016] eKLR
  • Susan Njoki Njuguna v Juja Constituency Development Fund Committee & 3 Others
    [2020] eKLR
  • Samuel M.N. Mweru & Others v National Land Commission & 2 Others
    [2020] eKLR
  • Mistry Valji v Janendra Raichand & 2 others
    [2016] eKLR
  • Rachel Njoki Mucina & Another v John Mwaura
    [2020] eKLR
  • Palace Investment Limited vs Geoffrey Kariuki Mwenda & Anor
    [2015] eKLR
  • Eastern Produce (K) Ltd – Chemoni Tea Estate vs Bonfas Shoya
    [2018] eKLR
  • Beatrice Wambui Maina v Embakasi Ranching Company Ltd & another
    [2022] eKLR
  • Caroline Awinja Ochieng & another vs Jane Anne Mbithe Gitau & 2 others
    [2015] eKLR
  • Naftali Ruthi Kinyua v Patrick Thuita Gachure & another
    [2015] eKLR
  • Willesden Investments Limited v Kenya Hotel properties limited
    NBI H.C.C. NO. 367 of 2000
  • Rhoda S Kiilu v Jiangxi Water and Hydropower Construction Kenya Limited
    [2019] eKLR
  • Rose Wakanyi Karanja & 3 others v Geoffrey Chege Kirundi & another
    [2016] eKLR
  • Bellamy v Sabince
    I DeG & J 566
  • Esther Ndegi Njiru & another v Leornard Gatei
    [2014] eKLR
  • Munyu Maina v Hiram Gathiha Maina
    Civil Appeal number 239 of 2009
  • Samuel Kamere v Lands Registrar, Kajiado
    [2015] eKLR
  • Rebecah Njeri Kariuki v Elizabeth Ng’endo & another
    [2015] eKLR
  • Daudi Kiptugen v Commissioner of Lands Nairobi Lands & 4 others
    [2015] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over ownership, trespass and title disputes relating to land

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kiniu v Ann Wairimu Ndung’u and Stanley Ndung’u Murigi Both t/a Annrose Nursery & Primary School & another (Environment & Land Case 179 of 2009) [2022] KEELC 2387 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2022). Not stated in the judgment text (suit filed 23.4.2009, Environment and Land Court). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2022/2387/eng@2022-06-23

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.