Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment (Notice of Motion dated 19th May 2021)· [2022] KEELC 2294 (KLR)

Maina & another v Nairobi City County & another (Environment & Land Case E167 of 2021) [2022] KEELC 2294 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
12 May 2022
1,991 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~8 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Kenya's Environment and Land Court confirmed it can hear disputes over public toilet management contracts and protected the operators with a temporary injunction.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiffs, through a self-help group, managed the OTC Jack & Jill public toilets under a management agreement dated 5th October 2018 with the 1st Defendant (Nairobi City County). They moved the court by Notice of Motion dated 19th May 2021 seeking a temporary injunction restraining the Defendants from closing, taking over, interfering with or transferring the management of the toilets, and seeking police enforcement of the orders, alleging harassment and intimidation despite valid agreements and licences. The 1st Defendant admitted the agreement but deponed that management of public toilets was transferred to the 2nd Defendant by a deed of transfer gazetted in February 2020, and argued the 3-year contract had expired and not been renewed. The 2nd Defendant filed a preliminary objection contending the dispute was purely contractual and outside the ELC's jurisdiction under Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution and Section 13 of the Environment and Land Court Act, relying on the predominant purpose test. The court, L. Komingoi J, framed three issues: the preliminary objection, the injunction threshold, and costs. It held the toilet management contracts substantially concern the use of land and are not mere commercial contracts, following the Court of Appeal's reasoning in Co-operative Bank v Kangethe Njuguna, so the preliminary objection failed. On the application, applying Giella v Cassman Brown, Mrao and Nguruman, the court found a prima facie case, a valid 4-year contract, heavy investment and continued harassment, and granted the temporary injunction with OCS Kamukunji Police Station to ensure compliance. Costs of the application were ordered to abide the outcome of the main suit.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the ELC has jurisdiction over a dispute concerning a public toilet management contract

Holding

The preliminary objection lacked merit; the toilet management contracts relate to the use of land as contemplated by Section 13 of the ELC Act, so the ELC has jurisdiction

Reasoning

Relying on the Court of Appeal's explanation in Co-operative Bank of Kenya Ltd v Patrick Kangethe Njuguna, the court examined the context of the toilet management contracts. The contracts permitted the Applicants to use the suit land and substantially concerned use of land, not mere commercial transactions. The predominant purpose was use of land, bringing the dispute within the ELC's jurisdiction under Section 13 of the ELC Act and Article 162(2) of the Constitution.

p. 4
02

Whether the Applicants met the threshold for a temporary injunction

Holding

The Applicants established a prima facie case and demonstrated loss, warranting a temporary injunction

Reasoning

Applying Giella v Cassman Brown as reiterated in Nguruman Limited v Jan Bonde Nielsen, the court found the Applicants had a valid management contract dated 5th October 2018 with a 4-year term, constituting a prima facie case. They had heavily invested in the management contract and demonstrated continued harassment. The 1st Defendant's claim that it had transferred functions to the 2nd Defendant did not defeat the application, guided by Ecotact Limited v Nairobi City County.

p. 4
03

Whether the expiry of the contract affects the continuation of the suit

Holding

The court found the 4-year term of the contract still valid, rejecting the 1st Defendant's submission that the subject matter no longer existed

Reasoning

The 1st Defendant relied on Julius K. Atunga v Naumy Jebyegon Kemboi to argue that since the 3-year contract expired on 4th October 2021 and was not renewed, the matter could not proceed. The court instead found the contract term to be 4 years and still valid, effectively rejecting the contention that the suit was rendered otiose by expiry of the contract.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • Toilet management contracts permitting occupation and use of land substantially concern the use of land and fall within the jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court under Section 13 of the ELC Act
  • Where a preliminary objection fails, the court proceeds to consider the interlocutory application on its merits using the Giella v Cassman Brown principles

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A temporary injunction restraining the Defendants/Respondents, their officers, agents, or anybody claiming any right or interest through them from closing, entering, occupying, dealing, developing, transferring, leasing, granting any other person the right to run and/or occupy or in any way interfering with the Plaintiffs/Applicants management of OTC Jack & Jill Toilets pending the hearing and determination of the suit
  2. 2.The OCS Kamukunji Police Station to ensure compliance of the orders
  3. 3.Costs of the application to abide the outcome of the main suit

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Constitution of Kenya (2010)Article 40
  • Constitution of Kenya (2010)Article 162(2)(b)
  • Constitution of Kenya (2010)Article 162(2)(i) (as pleaded by Applicants' counsel)
  • Civil Procedure ActSections 1A, 3A & B
  • Civil Procedure Rules (2010)Order 40
  • Environment and Land Court ActSection 13

Cases cited (9)

  • Ecotact Limited t/a Iko Toilets v Nairobi City County
    [2018] eKLR
  • Giela v Cassman Brown & Co. Ltd
    [1975] EA 558 (also cited as Giella vs Cassman Brown & Co. Ltd [1973] EA 358)
  • Mrao Limited v First American Bank of Kenya Limited
    [2003] eKLR (also cited as Mrao Ltd vs First American Bank of Kenya Ltd & 2 Others [2003] KLR 125)
  • Julius K. Atunga v Naumy Jebyegon Kemboi
    [2014] eKLR
  • Co-operative Bank Limited Vs. Patrick Kangethe Njuguna & 5 Others
    (2017) eKLR
  • Suzanne Butler & 4 Others v Redhill Investments & Another
    [2017] eKLR
  • Sinai Vision Limited & another v Nairobi County Government & another
    (2018) eKLR
  • Gregory Kitonga Wambua & 2 others v County Government of Kiambu
    (2019) eKLR
  • Nguruman Limited v Jan Bonde Nielsen & 2 others
    CA No.77 of 2012 (2014) eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution and Section 13 of the Environment and Land Court Act

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Maina & another v Nairobi City County & another (Environment & Land Case E167 of 2021) [2022] KEELC 2294 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2022). Not stated in the judgment (Notice of Motion dated 19th May 2021). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2022/2294/eng@2022-05-12

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.