Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment· [2022] KEELC 2193 (KLR)

Omolo v Family Bank Limited & another (Environment & Land Case 76 of 2021) [2022] KEELC 2193 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
2 June 2022
984 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~4 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kajiado court refused to stop Family Bank from auctioning charged land because the borrower's widow offered no proof of loan repayment or expert evidence of forgery.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a ruling by the Environment and Land Court at Kajiado (M.N. Gicheru, J) on a Notice of Motion dated 17 November 2021 by Caroline Mwichesa Omolo, the plaintiff, seeking interim injunctions against Family Bank Limited and Nairobi Channels Auctioneers, the first and second defendants. She sought to restrain them from selling by auction, alienating or interfering with property known as Kajiado/olekasasi/1105 at Acacia Estate, Ongata Rongai, advertised for sale on 18 November 2021 pursuant to a charge created by her late husband through Xerotech Systems Limited. She argued the land was matrimonial property, her consent to the charge was never obtained, statutory notices were not served, and the family home would be lost. The first defendant, through its legal officer Sylvia Wambani, produced loan applications and a spousal consent form allegedly signed by the plaintiff both as co-director and as spouse, and evidence that statutory notices were issued by registered post and that she continued repaying the loan after her husband's death. Both counsel agreed the application turned on the three prerequisites to an injunction. The court found the plaintiff proved none: she produced no evidence of being up to date on repayments or discharging the charge; her denial of the signatures was unsupported by a documents examiner; and any loss was compensable in damages. The balance of convenience was not considered. The motion dated 17/11/2021 was dismissed with costs in the cause, the court delivering its ruling virtually at Kajiado on 2 June 2022.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff established a prima facie case with a probability of success

Holding

The plaintiff failed to prove a prima facie case; she produced no evidence of recent loan repayment, discharge of the charge, or clearance of obligations under the agreement, and her denial of signatures was unsupported by expert evidence.

Reasoning

The court held that to demonstrate a prima facie case on a charged property, the plaintiff had to show she was current on repayments. She annexed no bank statement or proof of payment. She also denied signing the loan documents, but the burden lay on her to prove forgery through a documents examiner; her bare denial could not displace the defendant's documentary and oath evidence that she signed as co-director and spouse.

p. 2
02

Whether the plaintiff would suffer irreparable loss not adequately compensable by damages

Holding

No irreparable loss was proved; any loss could be compensated by a monetary award should she eventually prove her case.

Reasoning

The court found that even if the plaintiff ultimately succeeded at trial, she could be compensated in money. Since land with a dwelling is capable of valuation and monetary compensation, the second Giella prerequisite failed, and the third (balance of convenience) need not be considered.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • A party denying signatures on a document bears the burden of proving forgery, and mere denial is insufficient without expert evidence of a documents examiner
  • A plaintiff seeking an injunction over a charged property must prove she is up to date on loan repayment to establish a prima facie case

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Notice of motion dated 17/11/2021 dismissed
  2. 2.Costs in the cause

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 22
  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 23
  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 40
  • Civil Procedure ActSection 1A
  • Civil Procedure ActSection 1B
  • Civil Procedure ActSection 3A
  • Civil Procedure ActSection 63(e)
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 40 Rules 1, 2, 3 and 4
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 51 Rule 1
Jurisdiction invoked
Articles 22, 23 and 40 of the Constitution of Kenya; Sections 1A, 1B, 3A and 63(e) of the Civil Procedure Act; Order 40 Rules 1, 2, 3 and 4 and Order 51 Rule 1 Civil Procedure Rules

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Omolo v Family Bank Limited & another (Environment & Land Case 76 of 2021) [2022] KEELC 2193 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2022). Not stated in the judgment. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2022/2193/eng@2022-06-02

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.