Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment excerpt (Notice of Motion dated 8th April 2019, amended 9th December 2019, and Notice of Motion dated 11th December 2019)· [2022] KEELC 1609 (KLR)

Tuesday Gichuki & 3 others v South-End Properties Limited & 3 others [2022] KEELC 1609 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
10 February 2022
2,683 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~11 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Nairobi court dismissed flat owners' bid to block construction and subdivision on their estate because they could not prove they owned more than their individual units.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The court determined two applications: a Notice of Motion dated 8th April 2019 (amended 9th December 2019) by the Plaintiffs, owners of sectional properties on LR NO 209/10775 (South End Flats, Popo Road, South C, Nairobi), and a Notice of Motion dated 11th December 2019 which was abandoned. The Plaintiffs sought a temporary injunction restraining trespass, construction, dumping and subdivision of the suit property, a mandatory injunction compelling the 1st and 4th Defendants to demolish structures erected on the property, police assistance to enforce compliance, amendment of the ex parte orders of 11th April 2019 to include the new subdivisions LR NO 209/21709 and LR NO 209/21710, and costs. The 1st and 4th Defendants opposed: the 1st Defendant denied the Plaintiffs had any interest beyond subleases of phase one flats, while the 4th Defendant asserted registered ownership of LR NO 209/21709 since 7th December 2017 as an innocent purchaser for value without notice. Framing three issues - the temporary injunction threshold, the mandatory injunction threshold, and costs - the court applied Giella vs Cassman Brown and Mrao Ltd, found the Plaintiffs had failed to establish a prima facie case because their claim of ownership of the entire parcel was unsupported by title documents and uncontroverted evidence showed they only held subleases, and found no special circumstances or clear case warranting a mandatory injunction. The application was dismissed with liberty to amend the Plaint to reflect the new Land Reference Numbers, and costs were ordered to abide the outcome of the main suit.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Plaintiffs established a prima facie case for a temporary injunction

Holding

They did not. Their averments that they purchased the entire LR NO 209/10775 were not supported by documents of title and the 1st Defendant's contrary averments were not controverted.

Reasoning

The Plaintiffs claimed ownership of sectional properties under subleases and asserted rights over the whole parcel LR NO 209/10775. The 1st Defendant deponed that the Plaintiffs never had any proprietary or enforceable right over the entire property and only acquired subleases of flats in phase one. Those averments went uncontroverted, and the Plaintiffs produced no title documents or endorsement of their leases on the head title, so no prima facie case was established.

p. 4
02

Whether a mandatory injunction to demolish structures erected by the 4th Defendant should issue

Holding

No. No special circumstances were demonstrated and the case was not clear enough to be decided at once.

Reasoning

Citing Locabail International Finance Ltd vs Agroexport as approved in Kenya Breweries Ltd vs Washington O. Okeyo and Nation Media Group vs John Harun Mwau, the court held that a mandatory interlocutory injunction requires special circumstances and a higher degree of assurance than a prohibitory injunction. The Plaintiffs failed to demonstrate any special circumstances and their case was not one that ought to be decided at once.

p. 4
03

The 4th Defendant's position as registered proprietor of LR NO 209/21709

Holding

The court found the 4th Defendant to be the registered owner of the subdivision, consistent with the Plaintiffs' own confirmation of the subdivision.

Reasoning

The 4th Defendant exhibited a certificate of title showing registration as lessee from the Government of Kenya on 7th December 2017 and claimed to be an innocent purchaser for value without notice. The Plaintiffs themselves confirmed that the suit property had been subdivided and a Deed Plan registered, which the court found consistent with the 4th Defendant's assertion of registered ownership of LR NO 209/21709.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • An applicant for an interlocutory injunction must establish a prima facie case with a probability of success, per the Giella vs Cassman Brown principles.
  • An applicant for an injunction must make full disclosure of relevant facts and show a legal or equitable right requiring protection.
  • A mandatory interlocutory injunction requires special circumstances and a higher degree of assurance than a prohibitory injunction.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The Notice of Motion dated 8th April 2019 (as amended on 9th December 2019) is dismissed for lack of merit.
  2. 2.The Plaintiffs/Applicants are at liberty to amend the Plaint to reflect the Land Reference Numbers upon sub-division.
  3. 3.Costs of the application to abide the outcome of the main suit.

Authorities

#

Cases cited (11)

  • Giella vs Cassman Brown & Co. Ltd
    [1973] EA 358
  • Angela Kageni vs Susan Adhiambo Odongo & Another
    [2019] eKLR
  • Mrao Ltd vs First American Bank Ltd & 2 Others
    [2003] KLR 125
  • Nguruman Ltd vs Jan Bonde Nielsen & 2 Others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Savings & Loan (K) Ltd vs Kanyenje Karangaita Gakombe & Another
    [2015] eKLR
  • Microsoft Corporation vs Mitsumi Garage Ltd
    [2001] 1 EA 129
  • Pius Kipchirchir Kogo vs Frank Kimeli Tenai
    [2018] eKLR
  • Kenya Breweries Ltd vs Washington O. Okeyo
    [2002] eKLR
  • Nation Media Group & 2 Others vs John Harun Mwau
    [2014] eKLR
  • Kenleb Cons Ltd vs New Gatitu Services Station Limited & Another
    [1990] KLR 557
  • Locabail International Finance Ltd vs Agro export and Others
    [1986] 1 ALL ER 901
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over the suit property LR NO 209/10775 and its subdivisions (specific statutory basis not stated in the judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Tuesday Gichuki & 3 others v South-End Properties Limited & 3 others [2022] KEELC 1609 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2022). Not stated in the judgment excerpt (Notice of Motion dated 8th April 2019, amended 9th December 2019, and Notice of Motion dated 11th December 2019). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2022/1609/eng@2022-02-10

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.