Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNotice of Motion dated 25.5.2021 in the main suit (suit number not stated in the judgment)· [2022] KEELC 999 (KLR)

Abraham Muthee M’ethaiba (Suing as legal representative of Ethaiba M’tuoroi (Deceased) v Land Adjudication Settlement Officer Igembe/ Tigania West & 20 others [2022] KEELC 999 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
9 March 2022
2,685 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~11 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan land claimant lost because he had no documents proving his father owned the land—registered titles and evidence win, delay kills.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The applicant, by a notice of motion dated 25.5.2021 in the Environment and Land Court at Meru, sought permanent orders of maintenance of status quo over land formerly known as No. 1056 Uringu 1 adjudication section and, in the alternative, temporary injunctions restraining the 4th–21st respondents from evicting him and his family and restraining the 10th defendant from quarrying. His claim was that his late father gathered and settled on the parcel during adjudication, and that its 2018 subdivision and registration of the respondents was fraudulent and unprocedural. The respondents opposed, asserting they held valid titles following successful adjudication objections, had long been in occupation with developments, and challenged the applicant's locus standi, delay and the genuineness of his documents. The court identified a single issue: whether the applicant had made out a case for the prayers sought. Applying the agreed Giella/Nguruman principles, it found the applicant had produced no adjudication or search record proving his father's ownership or any demonstrable right, had not controverted the replying affidavits, and had not explained the three-year delay since registration in 2014 and the dismissal of judicial review applications in 2017. The respondents' title deeds under Section 25 of the Land Registration Act were prima facie evidence of ownership. The court further held the suit would not be rendered nugatory since ownership remains reversible, and that status quo refers to the present state of things, with occupation shown as far back as 2008. The application was disallowed with costs to the respondents, and parties were directed to comply with Order 11 within 45 days.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the applicant established a prima facie case with a probability of success

Holding

He did not; he produced no adjudication or search record showing his father's ownership of Parcel No. 1056 or any demonstrable right breached by the respondents

Reasoning

The applicant relied on Mrao Ltd v First American Bank for the definition of a prima facie case. He failed to attach documents showing his late father was recorded as owner of Parcel 1056, produced no adjudication record or search evidencing interest or occupation, did not controvert the replying affidavits, and the respondents demonstrated valid titles and occupation. The delay since the 2014 registration and the 2017 dismissal of the judicial review applications was unexplained.

p. 4
02

Whether the suit would be rendered nugatory if the orders were not granted

Holding

No, because ownership of the suit properties remains reversible depending on the circumstances and applicable law

Reasoning

Relying on Registered Trustees of Faith Mission Church v Ngaruiya, the court held that ownership of suit property is reversible, so the applicant could not claim the suit would be rendered nugatory given his delay from 2014 registration and the 2017 judicial review dismissal to filing in 2021.

p. 4
03

The meaning of status quo for the purposes of a permanent status quo order

Holding

Status quo refers to the existing state of things when the order is made, not the past

Reasoning

The court adopted Shimmers Plaza Ltd v National Bank of Kenya, holding status quo cannot relate to past or future events. Since the respondents were shown to have been in occupation since at least 2008 per the objection proceedings, restoring a supposed pre-2018 position in the applicant's favour was not possible.

p. 4

Legal principles established

#
  • A certificate of title under the Land Registration Act is prima facie evidence of ownership unless impeached on account of illegality or invalidity
  • Status quo means the existing state of things at the time the order is made, not a past or future state

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The application dated 25.5.2021 is disallowed with costs to the respondents
  2. 2.Parties to comply with Order 11 within 45 days from the date of the ruling

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land Consolidation ActSections 19 and 26(3)
  • Constitution of Kenya, 2010Article 40
  • Evidence ActSections 107, 108, 109 and 112
  • Land Registration ActSection 25
  • Civil Procedure Rules (Cap 283 and 284 referenced by parties as internal mechanisms)Order 11

Cases cited (11)

  • Nguruman Ltd –vs- Jan Bonde Nielsen & 2 Others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Giella –vs- Cassman Brown
    [1973] E.A 358
  • Mrao Ltd –vs- First American Bank of Kenya & 2 Others
    [2003] KLR 125
  • Moses C. Muhia Njoroge & 2 Others –vs- Jane W. Lesaloi & 5 Others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Pius Kipchirchir Kogo –vs- Frank Kimei Tenai
    [2018] eKLR
  • Kenya Commercial Finance Co. Ltd –vs- Afraha Education Society (as cited in Win Njoki Kori –vs- James Kianja Karanja & Another [2017] eKLR)
  • Charter House Investments Ltd –vs- Simon K. Sang & 2 Others
    Civil Appeal No. 315 of 2004
  • Nehemiah Charles Omwoyo –vs- Attorney General & 2 Others
    [2021] eKLR
  • Gladys Mumbi Irungu –vs- David Gikaria & 2 Others
    [2017] eKLR
  • Registered Trustees of Faith Mission Church and 10 Others –vs-Ngaruiya
    [2022] KECA 57 KLR
  • Shimmers Plaza Ltd –vs- National Bank of Kenya Ltd
    [2015] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over the suit parcels of land (interlocutory application under the Civil Procedure Rules); no specific constitutional provision invoked

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Abraham Muthee M’ethaiba (Suing as legal representative of Ethaiba M’tuoroi (Deceased) v Land Adjudication Settlement Officer Igembe/ Tigania West & 20 others [2022] KEELC 999 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2022). Notice of Motion dated 25.5.2021 in the main suit (suit number not stated in the judgment). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2022/999/eng@2022-03-09

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.