Gilbert Kiptoo Cheruiyot t/a Gilchery Ltd v Family Bank Ltd & another [2022] KEELC 497 (KLR)
The bottom line
#A Kapsabet court allowed a bank to proceed toward auctioning charged land because the borrower failed to prove its statutory notices were defective.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Prima facie case for injunction
Not established - the statutory notices under Sections 90 and 96(2) of the Land Act were issued and served, and the redemption notice complied with Rule 15(d) of the Auctioneers Act
The court found the loan and default undisputed, held the bank restructured the loan as proved by annexure FBL-5, and found the statutory notices dated 10th March 2021 and 10th July 2021 contained all matters required by Section 90(2) of the Land Act. Service by registered post complied with clause 15 of the letter of offer, and the 45-day redemption notice contained the amount needed to stop the sale.
Mode of service of statutory notices
Service by registered post was valid despite the email notice clause
Clause 13 of the letter of offer merely provided an email address sufficient to prove service; it did not exclude other modes. Clause 15 expressly permitted service by hand, email, fax or post, with service by post deemed effected five business days after posting. The notices were posted to the borrower's undisputed postal address.
Legal principles established
#- The Giella -vs- Cassman Brown conditions for temporary injunction are applied sequentially; failure at the first step ends the inquiry
- Service by registered post to the borrower's address on the letter of offer and charge constitutes valid service; an email clause providing an address for proof of service does not limit the modes of service
Court orders
#- 1.The Plaintiff's Notice of Motion dated 26th November 2021 is dismissed with costs
- 2.The interim orders issued on 16th December 2021 are discharged
- Jurisdiction invoked
- Original jurisdiction under the Environment and Land Court Act over land charges and statutory power of sale (specific provision not stated)
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "Gilbert Kiptoo Cheruiyot t/a Gilchery Ltd v Family Bank Ltd & another [2022] KEELC 497 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2022). Not stated in the excerpt. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2022/497/eng@2022-03-24
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.