Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in judgment (E&L Court, Malindi)· [2022] KEELC 406 (KLR)

James Maina & 3 others v Attorney General & 4 others [2022] KEELC 406 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
20 April 2022
5,058 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~20 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

The court confirmed a self-help group as rightful owner of disputed government-allocated land and ordered the National Land Commission to issue their title deeds.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiffs, members of Kondoo Trading Centre Self Help Group, sued for a permanent injunction, a declaration of beneficial ownership of UASIN GISHU/KONDOO SCHEME/627, and orders compelling the National Land Commission to issue allotment letters and title deeds per the beneficiary list submitted when Physical Development Plan No. ELD/1805/2005/1 was approved, and directing the Attorney General to facilitate their settlement as persons displaced since the post-election violence. They traced occupation since 1972, registration of the group in 2004, advertisement of the development plan in newspapers and the Kenya Gazette, and approval by the Director of Physical Planning and the Minister of Lands with no objections. The process was disrupted by the 2007 post-election violence, after which the 3rd to 5th defendants formed a rival committee claiming part of the plots. The defence argued the land remained alienated government land and that no PDPs or allotment letters existed, only a local physical development plan. The court found that the plaintiffs complied with the planning process, their beneficiary list was authenticated by the National Land Commission without objection, and no competing list prevailed. Applying Nguruman, the court held the plaintiffs proved their claim on a balance of probabilities and met the threshold for a permanent injunction. Judgment was entered for the plaintiffs on all heads, with the NLC directed to issue allotment letters and title deeds per the authenticated list and to desist from allocating to the rival defendants, and costs awarded to the plaintiffs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiffs are the rightful beneficial owners of the suit land

Holding

Yes - the court found the plaintiffs proved entitlement to a declaration of beneficial ownership, the plan having been approved without objection and the beneficiary list authenticated by the NLC

Reasoning

The court found the property undisputedly government land reserved for Kondoo trading centre. The plaintiffs complied with the process of preparing and advertising the development plan, which was approved by the Director of Physical Planning and Minister of Lands with no objections. Their beneficiary list was authenticated by the National Land Commission with no contrary written objection, while competing groups never merged with them.

p. 6
02

Whether the plaintiffs met the threshold for a permanent injunction

Holding

Yes - the injunction conditions in Nguruman were satisfied on the evidence

Reasoning

Relying on Nguruman, the court treated the three injunction requirements as distinct hurdles. Having answered affirmatively the question whether the plaintiffs proved a right to the property, and finding the evidence sufficient, the court held the plaintiffs established a case for injunction as prayed in the plaint against all defendants.

p. 6
03

Status of the plan relied on by the plaintiffs (PDP vs local physical development plan)

Holding

DW3 confirmed the plan in file ELD 1805/2005/1 was approved as required, though the list of beneficiaries remained to be generated via stakeholder engagement

Reasoning

DW3, the Deputy Director Physical Planner, testified that the development plan in file ELD 1805/2005/1 was advertised and approved by the Minister on 15 October 2007 with no objections, and never amended. His only concern was that no beneficiary list existed on file, which should be generated through stakeholder engagement; however, the plaintiffs' list was later authenticated by the NLC.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • Under the repealed Government Lands Act, a Part Development Plan must be drawn and approved before unalienated Government land can be allocated, and a letter of allotment based on the approved PDP is then issued
  • A permanent injunction is granted upon hearing of the suit and fully determines the rights of the parties

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Permanent injunction restraining the defendants and anyone taking title from them from evicting, trespassing, alienating, repossessing, leasing or interfering with the plaintiffs' quiet enjoyment of UASIN GISHU/KONDOO SCHEME/627 as captured in PDP No. ELD/1805/2005/1
  2. 2.Declaration that the plaintiffs and its members/nominees/legal representatives/assigns are entitled to possession and ownership of UASIN GISHU/KONDOO SCHEME/627
  3. 3.Order directing the 2nd defendant to process and issue letters of allotment and title deeds to the plaintiffs per the list submitted when PDP No. ELD/1805/2005/1 was approved, and to stop processing allotments/title deeds to the 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th defendants and their members
  4. 4.Order directing the 1st defendant to facilitate through the Kenya Police Service the settlement of the plaintiffs' members
  5. 5.Costs to the Plaintiffs

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Constitution of KenyaArticle 40; Article 43; Article 62
  • Physical Planning ActSections 3, 22, 24(3), 27
  • Land Actallocation provisions
  • Civil Procedure ActSection 27
  • Government Lands Act (repealed)Part Development Plan provisions
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 21 [1]

Cases cited (10)

  • Gitwany Investment Limited v Tajmal Limited & 3 Others
    [2006] eKLR
  • Nguruman Limited v Jan Bonde Nielsen & 2 others
    [2014] eKLR
  • Giella v Cassman Brown
  • Chase International Investment Corporation & another v Laxman Keshra & others
    [1978] KLR 143
  • Lucy Mirigo & 550 others v Minister for Lands & 4 others
    [2014] eKLR, Eldoret HCCA No. 40 of 1995
  • The Committee Nyakinyua Jogoo Usalama Farm v Joseph K Mwangi & 17 others
  • Wreck Motors Enterprises v Commissioner of Lands & 3 others
    [1997] eKLR
  • Nelson Kazungu Chai & 9 Others v Pwani University College
    (2014) eKLR
  • African Line Transport Company Limited v The Hon. Attorney General
    Mombasa HCCC No. 276 of 2013
  • Kenya Power & Lighting Co. Limited v Sheriff Molana Habib
    [2018] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil suit by plaint (Environment and Land Court jurisdiction over land disputes)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "James Maina & 3 others v Attorney General & 4 others [2022] KEELC 406 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2022). Not stated in judgment (E&L Court, Malindi). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2022/406/eng@2022-04-20

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.