Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in judgment (Machakos ELC)· [2022] KEELC 158 (KLR)

Kanan Dairy Limited v Kyatha (Sued as the personal legal representative of the Estate of the late Beatrice Nzakwa Makau) & another (Environment & Land Case 132 B of 2019) [2022] KEELC 158 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
5 May 2022
3,891 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~16 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
Kanan Dairy Limited (the Plaintiff) sued for a declaration that its Letters of Allotment claim could not override its title, a permanent injunction, and costs in respect of LR Athi River/Athi River Block 1/1139, which it purchased in 2014 for Kshs 3,400,000 from Joseph Muthama, who had bought it from Agnes Mutindi Makau, personal representative of one John Makau (deceased). The 1st Defendant, legal representative of Beatrice Nzakwa Makau, counterclaimed, asserting that plot No. 519 (now the suit land) had been allocated to her late husband John Makau, a member of the 2nd Defendant cooperative society, and sought a declaration of ownership, cancellation of the Plaintiff's title, rectification of the register and an injunction. The 2nd Defendant filed no defence. The court framed five issues. It held the suit was not fatally defective for want of a board resolution, since the point was raised only in submissions and Order 4 rule 1(4) was not intended as a technicality to strike out suits (following Spire Bank Ltd v Land Registrar). On the merits, relying on sections 24, 25 and 26(1) of the Land Registration Act, the court found the Plaintiff's certificate of title conclusive and prima facie evidence of absolute ownership; the Taskforce proceedings on which the 1st Defendant relied had been quashed in Machakos ELC Judicial Review Application No. 69 of 2020, estopping the 1st Defendant from relying on them; no proof of marriage or letters of administration was tendered for Beatrice Nzakwa Makau; and there were two John Makaus in the society's register, both deceased in 1999. Fraud was not proved. The Plaintiff's suit was allowed; the counterclaim was dismissed; costs were awarded to the Plaintiff.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the suit was fatally defective for want of a board resolution/authority to plead

Holding

No - failure to file a company resolution with the Plaint is a procedural technicality and does not render the suit defective, absent proof PW1 was unauthorized; the point was also raised too late, not in pleadings

Reasoning

The 1st Defendant did not raise the issue in the Defence and Counterclaim but only in submissions, yet points of law cannot be raised at submissions stage. Relying on Spire Bank Ltd v Land Registrar, the court held Order 4 rule 1(4) was meant to safeguard corporations, not to strike out suits as a technicality where no evidence demonstrates the officer was unauthorized.

p. 5
02

Who is the registered proprietor of the suit land

Holding

The Plaintiff, whose certificate of title is conclusive and prima facie evidence of absolute ownership under sections 24, 25 and 26(1) of the Land Registration Act

Reasoning

The Plaintiff purchased from Joseph Muthama who held title, conducted due diligence, paid Kshs 3,400,000 and took possession. The Taskforce proceedings relied on by the 1st Defendant had been quashed in Machakos ELC Judicial Review Application No. 69 of 2020, estopping the 1st Defendant from relying on them. The 1st Defendant held only Letters of Allotment whose authenticity the 2nd Defendant did not confirm, and produced no proof of marriage or administration for Beatrice Nzakwa Makau.

03

Whether the 1st Defendant proved fraud and was entitled to counterclaim relief

Holding

No - fraud was not proved and the counterclaim was dismissed

Reasoning

The burden lay on the 1st Defendant to demonstrate the nexus between the documents he presented and how the Plaintiff's title emanated therefrom. He did not call the 2nd Defendant to prove the averments in the documents presented, and produced no Letters of Administration or proof of marriage. The omission of the word 'Limited' in the Plaintiff's title was a minor rectifiable error under section 79(1) of the Land Registration Act.

p. 6

Legal principles established

#
  • A certificate of title is prima facie evidence of absolute and indefeasible ownership, challengeable only on fraud/misrepresentation to which the proprietor is party or where the title was acquired illegally, unprocedurally or through a corrupt scheme
  • Letters of allotment cannot supersede a certificate of title held by a registered proprietor
  • Order 4 rule 1(4) of the Civil Procedure Rules was not intended to be used as a procedural technicality to strike out suits where no evidence shows the officer was unauthorized
  • Points of law cannot be raised for the first time at submissions stage

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that all that parcel of land known as Athi River/Athi River Block 1/1139 belongs to KANAN DAIRY LIMITED
  2. 2.An order that the Letters of Allotment held by the 1st Defendant (if any) cannot override the title deed held by the Plaintiff
  3. 3.A permanent injunction restraining the Defendants by themselves or through their directors, employees, servants, agents or otherwise howsoever from entering, trespassing, interfering or otherwise threatening the Plaintiff's ownership and quiet possession of property known as LR Athi River/Athi River Block 1/1139
  4. 4.The 1st Defendant's Counterclaim be and is hereby dismissed with costs
  5. 5.Costs of the suit awarded to the Plaintiff

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 4 Rule 1(4)
  • Land Registration ActSections 24, 25, 26(1), 28, 79(1)(a) and (c)

Cases cited (14)

  • Spire Bank Limited v Land Registrar & 2 others
    [2019] eKLR
  • Willy Kipsongok Morogo v Albert K. Morogo
    (2017) eKLR
  • Christopher Kitur Kipwambok vs Vipulratilal Dodhia & 3 others
    (2013) eKLR
  • David Peterson Kiengo & 2 Others v Kariuki Thuo
    (2012) eKLR
  • Boniface Awuor & Another Vs Victor Otieno Nyadimo & 2 Others
    (2017) eKLR
  • Dr. Joseph N. K Arap Ngok Vs Justice Moijo Ole Keiwua & 5 Others
    CA No. 60 of 1997
  • Don Woods Company Limited V Eric Mumo Mutisya & 3 Others
    (2021) eKLR
  • Mavuno Industries Limited & 2 Others Vs Keroche Industries Limited
    (2012) eKLR
  • Zacharia Wambugu Gathimu & Another V John Ndungu Maina
    (2019) eKLR
  • Njuwangu Holdings Ltd V Langata KPA Nairobi & 5 Others
    (2014) eKLR
  • Falcon Global Logistics Co. Limited V Management Committee of Eldama Ravine Boarding Primary School
    (2018) eKLR
  • Alice Chemutai Too V Nickson Kipkurui Korir & 2 Others
    (2015) eKLR
  • Propwa Company Limited V Justus Nyamo Gatondo & Another
    (2020) eKLR
  • Benson Wandera Okuku V Israel Were Wakho
    (2020) eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land disputes (Article 162(2)(b) of the Constitution, not expressly cited in judgment)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Kanan Dairy Limited v Kyatha (Sued as the personal legal representative of the Estate of the late Beatrice Nzakwa Makau) & another (Environment & Land Case 132 B of 2019) [2022] KEELC 158 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2022). Not stated in judgment (Machakos ELC). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2022/158/eng@2022-05-05

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.