Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2022] KEELC 77 (KLR)

Muema & 23 others v Mutuku & 20 others (Environment & Land Case 24 of 2020) [2022] KEELC 77 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
6 June 2022
1,881 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~8 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Machakos court blocked land transactions and construction in Mlolongo, confirming that title certificates beat unproven claims of long-term occupation.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This is a ruling of the Environment and Land Court at Machakos (Christine Ochieng, J) on the Plaintiffs' Notice of Motion dated 21st September 2020, brought under Order 40 Rule 1(a) of the Civil Procedure Rules and Section 13(7) of the Environment and Land Court Act, seeking a temporary injunction restraining the Defendants from selling, constructing on, alienating, entering upon or interfering with some thirty parcels of land in the Mlolongo area pending the hearing of the main suit. The Plaintiffs, sworn for by the 1st Plaintiff Alexander Makau Muema, asserted they were registered absolute proprietors holding Certificates of Title, and that the Defendants were trespassers excavating the ground and erecting structures and had blocked the Plaintiffs' access. The 1st to 10th, 13th, 14th and 19th Defendants opposed through John Nzioka's affidavit, arguing the application was defective for want of an authority to plead, that the Plaintiffs' titles were fraudulently obtained under repealed land regimes, and that they themselves had lived on and developed the land for over twenty years under government allocation. The court framed a single issue: entitlement to a temporary injunction. Applying Giella v Cassman Brown, Mrao Ltd v First American Bank and Nguruman Limited, it found Certificates of Title are prima facie evidence of ownership absent proved fraud; the Defendants produced only Letters of Allotment not bearing their names. It found a prima facie case, irreparable harm, and balance of convenience favouring the Plaintiffs, rejected the technicality objection under Article 159(2)(d), allowed the application, and ordered costs to abide the outcome of the suit.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Plaintiffs established a prima facie case with a probability of success

Holding

Yes - the Plaintiffs produced Certificates of Title which were not controverted, while the Defendants only produced Letters of Allotment that did not bear their names

Reasoning

The court applied Giella v Cassman Brown and the Mrao definition of a prima facie case. The Plaintiffs annexed Certificates of Title and Deed Plans. The Defendants, claiming ownership, produced only Letters of Allotment issued to different parties on diverse dates and not bearing their names. Fraud in the Plaintiffs' titles was not demonstrated, so the Certificates of Title stood as prima facie evidence of ownership, establishing a prima facie case warranting injunction.

p. 5
02

Whether the Plaintiffs would suffer irreparable harm not compensable by damages

Holding

Yes - their injuries are not speculative as they were restrained from accessing land they own

Reasoning

Relying on Nguruman Limited v Jan Bonde Nielsen, the court found the Plaintiffs are registered proprietors who produced Certificates of Title; the Defendants did not deny blocking access to the land. Interference with registered ownership and denial of access was held to be irreparable harm that could not adequately be compensated in damages.

p. 5
03

Balance of convenience

Holding

It tilts in favour of the Plaintiffs who own the suit lands

Reasoning

Having found the Plaintiffs hold Certificates of Title and a prima facie case, the court held that the balance of convenience favours preserving the status quo by restraining interference with the suit lands pending trial.

p. 5
04

Whether the Supporting Affidavit was fatally defective for want of authority to plead

Holding

No - the affidavit was sworn and signed; no prejudice was demonstrated

Reasoning

The deponent expressly swore for himself and on behalf of co-Plaintiffs with their permission. The court held the affidavit duly sworn and signed was not fatally defective, the Defendants showed no prejudice, and reliance on such technicality is defeated by Article 159(2)(d) of the Constitution favouring substantive justice.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • Certificates of Title are prima facie evidence of ownership of land unless fraud in acquisition is proved
  • Omission of an authority to plead is a technicality that does not defeat a sworn affidavit where no prejudice is shown

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Temporary injunction restraining the Defendants, their agents, servants, surrogates or any other person acting on their behalf from selling, offering for sale, carrying out construction, alienating, entering upon or otherwise interfering with the Plaintiffs' properties pending the hearing and determination of the main suit
  2. 2.Costs to abide the outcome of the suit

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 40 Rule 1(a)
  • Environment and Land Court ActSection 13(7)
  • Constitution of Kenya, 2010Article 159(2)(d)

Cases cited (15)

  • Giella v Cassman Brown & Co. Ltd
    (1973) EA 358
  • Joel Kipkurui Arap Koech vs Alice Wambua Magandu & 2 others
    (2018) eKLR
  • Kevin K. Mwiti & Others v Kenya School of Law & others
  • Kenya Association of Manufacturers & 2 Others v Cabinet Secretary-Ministry of Environment & Natural Resources & 3 others
    [2017] eKLR
  • Showind Industries Ltd Vs Guardian Bank Ltd & Another
    [2002] IEA 284 (CCK)
  • Centre for Rights Education and Awareness (CREAW) & 7 others
    Petition No. 16 of 2011, Nairobi
  • Judicial Service Commission v Speaker of the National Assembly & Another
    [2013] eKLR
  • Gitirau Peter Munya v Dickson Mwenda Kithinji & 2 others
  • Simeon Kioko Kitheka & 18 Others v County Government of Machakos & 2 Others
    (2018) eKLR
  • Dream Camp Kenya Ltd v Mohammed Eltaff & 3 Others
    Civil Appeal No. 170 of 2012
  • Mrao Ltd v First American Bank of Kenya & 2 Others
    [2003] KLR 125
  • Pius Kipchirchir Kogo v Frank Kimeli Tenai
    (2018) eKLR
  • Kiama Wangai v John N. Mugambi & another
    [2012] eKLR
  • Karuri & Others vs Dawa Pharmaceuticals Company Limited & others
    [2007] 2 EA 235
  • Nguruman Limited v Jan Bonde Nielsen & 2 Others
    [2014] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Order 40 Rule 1(a) of the Civil Procedure Rules and Section 13(7) of the Environment and Land Court Act

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Muema & 23 others v Mutuku & 20 others (Environment & Land Case 24 of 2020) [2022] KEELC 77 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2022). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2022/77/eng@2022-06-06

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.