Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCPartially AllowedNot stated in the judgment (Plaint dated 13th September 2019, Nakuru)· [2021] KEELC 4099 (KLR)

Hebisiabah Moraa Ondieki & 3 others v Edward O. Okul & another [2021] KEELC 4099 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
4 March 2021
4,925 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~20 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A family that bought land in 1985, paid in full and occupied it openly for over 30 years won ownership in Kenya through adverse possession, despite never holding the title.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The plaintiffs, administrators of the estate of Manoah Kisame Aradi (deceased), sued the administrators of the estate of Barrack Deya Okul (deceased), seeking a declaration that land parcel Nakuru Municipality Block 1/744 (Langa langa) belonged to them by contractual conduct, promissory estoppel and adverse possession, together with discharge of the title from any Thabiti Finance Company Limited encumbrance, registration in their favour, or alternatively compensation at market value, and costs. The suit followed a succession dispute in which the probate court (Ndungu J) declined jurisdiction, holding the claim contractual and for the Environment and Land Court. The defendants admitted the 1985 sale agreement but denied full payment, asserting the sale failed and any claim was statute-barred. The court found the sale agreement proved, that Aradi paid the full purchase price, and that his family took open, uninterrupted and exclusive possession for over 30 years, developing a godown and collecting rent. Applying Wambugu v Njuguna, possession became adverse upon payment of the last installment, and the defendants' title was extinguished after 12 years from 1st December 1985 under section 7 of the Limitation of Actions Act. The court held the suit sounded in possession, not contract, so section 4(1)(a) did not bar it, and entertained the adverse possession claim in a plaint under the overriding objective despite Order 37 Rule 7. Judgment was entered for the plaintiffs: a declaration of title by adverse possession, and an order that the Land Registrar Nakuru register them as owners once the 1998 prohibitory order was lifted; each party was to bear their own costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Existence of the sale agreement and taking of possession

Holding

The court found a sale agreement dated 30th October 1985 existed and the Aradi family took possession, developed the property and collected rents

Reasoning

Both parties exhibited the sale agreement and conceded its existence. PW1 testified the full purchase price was paid and possession taken. PW2, a tenant since before Aradi's death in 2006, and PW3, the rent collection agent, corroborated continuous occupation. DW1 acknowledged the agreement and the long possession but did not particularise any default by Aradi, so his evidence did not dislodge the plaintiffs' case.

p. 3
02

Applicability of adverse possession

Holding

The plaintiffs' possession was adverse; the defendants' title was extinguished after 12 years from 1st December 1985, i.e. by December 1997

Reasoning

The plaintiffs entered possession under the sale agreement after paying the full price, erected structures they rented out, and occupied openly for over 30 years without any eviction action by the registered owner. The 2009 complaint to the council did not stop time running. Following Wambugu v Njuguna, possession became adverse upon payment of the last installment, and the owner's right to recover was extinguished under section 7 of the Limitation of Actions Act.

p. 4
03

Whether the claim is founded on contract and statute barred

Holding

The suit is founded on possession, not contract, so section 4(1)(a) of the Limitation of Actions Act does not apply

Reasoning

The plaintiffs were not seeking enforcement of the 1985 sale agreement; they pleaded it only to show how possession was entered. Their claim was framed as a declaration by contractual conduct, promissory estoppel and adverse possession, resting on possession. The six-year contractual limitation period under section 4(1)(a) was therefore inapplicable, while the twelve-year period under section 7 operated in the plaintiffs' favour.

p. 5
04

Pleading and procedure: claim not originated by originating summons

Holding

Adverse possession can be proved in a plaint notwithstanding Order 37 Rule 7, since the court must administer substantive justice

Reasoning

The court acknowledged the plaintiffs had not specifically pleaded adverse possession as the basis of the claim and that such claims should ordinarily be brought by originating summons under Order 37 Rule 7. However, the plaintiffs had pleaded exclusive possession and sought a declaration of ownership as adverse possessors, and Article 159(2)(d) of the Constitution and sections 1A/1B of the Civil Procedure Act and section 19 of the ELC Act enjoined substantive justice over technicalities.

p. 6

Legal principles established

#
  • Where a claimant pleads right to land under a sale agreement and possession follows payment of the purchase price, possession becomes adverse after the last payment and title by adverse possession accrues after twelve years
  • An action to recover land may not be brought after twelve years from when the right of action accrued (section 7, Limitation of Actions Act)
  • Adverse possession may be proved even in a suit not commenced by originating summons under Order 37 Rule 7, as the court must do substantive justice without undue regard to technicalities

Court orders

#
  1. 1.A declaration that the plaintiffs as administrators of the estate of Manoah Kisame Aradi (deceased) have acquired title to land parcel Nakuru Municipality Block 1/744 (Langa langa) by virtue of being in adverse possession for a period of 12 years
  2. 2.Subject to the prohibitory order registered on 26th March 1998 (HCCC No.242 of 1992) being lifted, the Land Registrar Nakuru is ordered to register the plaintiffs jointly as the owners of land parcel Nakuru Municipality/Block 1/744 (Langa langa) in place of Barrack Deya Okul (deceased)
  3. 3.Each party to bear their own costs of the suit

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Limitation of Actions Act, Cap 22 Laws of KenyaSection 7
  • Limitation of Actions Act, Cap 22 Laws of KenyaSection 4(1)(a)
  • Environment and Land Court Act, 2011 (No. 19 of 2011)Sections 3 and 19
  • Civil Procedure Act, Cap 21 Laws of KenyaSections 1A(1) and 1B(1)
  • Constitution of Kenya, 2010Article 159(2)(d)
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 37 Rule 7

Cases cited (1)

  • Wambugu -vs- Njuguna
    (1983) KLR 172
Jurisdiction invoked
Article 159(2)(d) of the Constitution and the Environment and Land Court Act, 2011 (Section 19)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Later judgments citing this (1)

#

Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Hebisiabah Moraa Ondieki & 3 others v Edward O. Okul & another [2021] KEELC 4099 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2021). Not stated in the judgment (Plaint dated 13th September 2019, Nakuru). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2021/4099/eng@2021-03-04

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.