William Odongo Guya v George Otiato Mbaye & Land Adjudication & Settlement Officer Bondo Sub County (Environment and Land Appeal 54 of 2019) [2021] KEELC 3541 (KLR)
The bottom line
#The Environment and Land Court confirmed that 26 years of peaceful possession, a valid title and time-barred claims defeat a family's bid to cancel land sold in 1990.
What this practically means
#Executive summary
#Key legal issues
#Compliance with section 3(3) of the Law of Contract Act
The sale agreement satisfied section 3(3): it was in writing, signed by vendor and purchaser (by thumbprint) and attested by a witness
The court examined the agreement produced as DEXH-1 and found it in writing, signed by both vendor (by left-hand thumbprint, unchallenged) and purchaser, witnessed by an advocate and two other witnesses. On certainty, the agreement identified parcel Uyawi/Central Sakwa/1018, with evidence unchallenged that a portion later registered as 4768 was sold. The agreement was therefore valid.
Land Control Board consent
Though the transaction arguably required consent, the land was under adjudication and the 1st respondent had acquired a valid title and been in possession for about 26 years
The suit land was under the Bondo/Nyangoma Adjudication section and still under adjudication in 2015. The 1st respondent testified he obtained consents but did not produce minutes or consent documents. The court presumed registration would not have occurred without consents, and in any event, following Jeremiah Kiilu Maitha, long possession of about 26 years sustained the title.
Limitation of actions
The claim founded on contract and for recovery of land was statute barred under sections 4(1)(a) and 7 of the Limitation of Actions Act
The sale agreement was executed in 1990 and the suit filed in 2016, 26 years later, far beyond the six-year period for contract claims. The right to recover land accrued when the 1st defendant took possession in 1990, not on the vendor's death, so the twelve-year period under section 7 had also expired. The court adopted the approach in David Oteba Ooko v Peter Joe Emongor.
Fraud
Fraud was not proved; the claim based on fraud was itself not statute barred as it was discovered around July 2016 and the suit filed in August 2016
Section 26 of the Limitation of Actions Act meant the fraud claim accrued on discovery, which the court placed around July 2016 from a letter by the land adjudication officer. However, on the merits, the plaintiff bore the burden of proving fraud to the elevated intermediate standard and failed; the 1st respondent proved he followed the correct procedure in obtaining title.
Legal principles established
#- On a first appeal the court must reconsider and evaluate the evidence afresh while making due allowance for not having seen or heard the witnesses
- An appellate court will not normally interfere with a finding of fact by the trial court unless it is based on no evidence or a misapprehension of the evidence
- The right of action to recover land accrues from the time the defendant took possession, not from the date of death of the deceased vendor
- The burden of proving fraud lies on the party alleging it, to a standard higher than a balance of probabilities but lower than beyond reasonable doubt
- A purchaser under a sale agreement void for want of Land Control Board consent may still succeed by proving continuous, exclusive and peaceful possession for twelve years with the owner's knowledge
Court orders
#- 1.The appeal is dismissed
- 2.Costs of the appeal to the 1st defendant
- On appeal from
- Magistrates' Court (trial court not named in judgment)
- Suit filed 11/08/16 (number not stated)
- Jurisdiction invoked
- First appellate jurisdiction over the subordinate court's judgment (appeal against the whole judgment of 13th December 2019)
Key timeline
#Practical implications
#Frequently asked questions
#Later judgments citing this (3)
#Judgments in the corpus that rely on this one. Where the Court said how it treated the authority, that is shown.
- John Mwangi Wanjohi v Patrick Macharia Wanjohi[2024] KEELC 5852 (KLR)26 Aug 2024applied
- Manji & another v Sedona Limited & 2 others (Environment & Land Case 279 of 2014) [2024] KEELC 5599 (KLR)[2024] KEELC 5599 (KLR)17 Jul 2024
- Republic v Cabinet Secretary for Land Housing and Urban Development & 2 others; Musili & 2 others (Exparte); Maundu (Interested Party)[2022] KEELC 15591 (KLR)20 Dec 2022applied
Cite this brief
#Cite this brief
Caselaw, "William Odongo Guya v George Otiato Mbaye & Land Adjudication & Settlement Officer Bondo Sub County (Environment and Land Appeal 54 of 2019) [2021] KEELC 3541 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2021). Not stated in the judgment (Environment and Land Court appeal from dismissal of suit filed 11/08/16). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2021/3541/eng@2021-04-29
Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.