Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment as provided· [2021] KEELC 3058 (KLR)

Patricia Mwethya v First Community Bank & 3 others [2021] KEELC 3058 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
27 May 2021
2,579 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~10 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Once your land is sold at a lawful public auction in Kenya, you generally cannot sue to get it back—your only remedy is claiming damages.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The Plaintiff moved the court by Notice of Motion dated 6th April 2021 seeking a stay of orders issued in Kajiado CMCC Miscellaneous Application No. 17 of 2020 and an injunction restraining the Defendants from evicting her from land parcel Kajiado/Kaputiei North/39930, pending the hearing of her suit. She contended that the 1st Defendant, a bank holding a charge over the land, unlawfully exercised its statutory power of sale through a staged, private-arrangement auction, with fabricated attendance records and defective statutory notices, culminating in an irregular transfer of title to the 2nd Defendant. The Defendants opposed, asserting the loan had defaulted, statutory notices were served, the auction was properly advertised and conducted, eviction orders had issued in the miscellaneous cause, and the suit was res judicata; they also raised a Preliminary Objection. The court framed two issues: entitlement to an interim injunction and res judicata. Applying Giella v Cassman Brown, it held the Plaintiff had no prima facie case: the 2nd Defendant was already the registered proprietor following the public auction, and upon exercise of the statutory power of sale the equity of redemption was extinguished, leaving her remedy in damages against the 1st Defendant if the sale was irregular. It declined to consider the remaining Giella limbs, citing Nguruman. On res judicata, applying section 7 of the Civil Procedure Act and the cited authorities, the court found the issues of title, the auction and the statutory notices had already been determined in the miscellaneous cause on 29th October 2020, and the Plaintiff had merely re-clothed the same cause of action. The application was dismissed with costs, the Preliminary Objection was allowed, and the entire suit was dismissed with costs.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the Plaintiff established a prima facie case for interim injunction

Holding

No prima facie case was established; the 2nd Defendant is the registered proprietor following the public auction and the Plaintiff's remedy, if any, is damages against the 1st Defendant.

Reasoning

The court found the loan facility and charge existed, the Plaintiff defaulted, and the sale was advertised in the newspaper. Relying on Bomet Beer Distributors and David Mburu Githere, once the statutory power of sale was exercised and the property sold by public auction, the equity of redemption was extinguished. Irregularity in the sale, if proved, sounds only in damages, so no prima facie case with probability of success was shown and the remaining Giella limbs were not addressed.

p. 3
02

Whether the suit is res judicata

Holding

The suit is res judicata because the issues of title, the auction and the statutory notices were already determined in Kajiado CMCC Miscellaneous Application No. 17 of 2020, whose judgment was delivered on 29th October 2020.

Reasoning

Applying section 7 of the Civil Procedure Act and the authorities cited, the court found the issue of title to the suit land was substantially the same as in the miscellaneous cause, which the Plaintiff never appealed or sought to review. Her re-assertion that the auction was not conducted and notices were defective merely clothed the same cause of action in different apparel.

p. 3

Legal principles established

#
  • Once property has been sold in a public auction by a chargee exercising its statutory power of sale, the chargor's equity of redemption is extinguished and the remedy is a claim for damages.
  • A purchaser of charged land at auction is protected under section 99 of the Land Act and is not obliged to inquire into default or regularity of notices, absent fraud.
  • Parties cannot evade res judicata by re-packaging the same cause of action in a subsequent suit.
  • Where no prima facie case is established, the court need not consider the remaining Giella limbs.

Court orders

#
  1. 1.Dismissal of the Notice of Motion application dated 6th April 2021 with costs
  2. 2.Allowance of the Defendants' Preliminary Objection
  3. 3.Dismissal of the entire suit with costs

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Land ActSection 90(1)
  • Land ActSection 90(3)
  • Land ActSection 99
  • Civil Procedure ActSection 7

Cases cited (12)

  • Wairimu Ngure (Suing as administratrix Of the Estate of Peter Tharaon Ngure - Deceased) V National Bank of Kenya Limited & 2 Others
    (2019) eKLR
  • Maina Wanjigi & another V Bank of Africa Kenya Ltd & 2 Others
    (2015) eKLR
  • Giella Vs. Cassman Brown & Co. Ltd
    (1973) EA 358
  • Bomet Beer Distributors Ltd & Anor. v Kenya Commercial Bank Ltd & 4 Others
    (2005) eKLR
  • David Mburu Githere V Jamii Bora Bank Ltd
    (2017) eKLR
  • Riscillah Krobought Grant V Kenya Commercial Bank
  • Nguruman Ltd. Vs. Jan Bonde Nielsen
    CA No. 77 of 2012
  • Stephen Wanganga Njoroge Vs Stanley Ngugi Njoroge & Another
    (2017) eKLR
  • Uhuru Highway Development Ltd V Central Bank & Others
    CA No. 36 of 1996
  • Nancy Mwangi T/A Worthlin Marketers V Airtel Networks (K) Ltd (Formerly Celtel Kenya Ltd) & 2 Others
    (2014) eKLR
  • Omondi Vs National Bank of Kenya Limited and others
    (2001) EA 177
  • Njangu Vs Wambugu and another
    Nairobi HCCC No. 2340 of 1991 (unreported)
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over disputes relating to charged land and its alienation; not expressly stated in the judgment.

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "Patricia Mwethya v First Community Bank & 3 others [2021] KEELC 3058 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2021). Not stated in the judgment as provided. Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2021/3058/eng@2021-05-27

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.