Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCDismissedNot stated in the judgment (plaint dated 30/9/2019)· [2021] KEELC 3029 (KLR)

United Care Limited v Roseline Njeri Macharia; National Land Commission (Interested Party) [2021] KEELC 3029 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
26 May 2021
1,917 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~8 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

Both sides asking a Kenyan court for urgent land protection lost because neither could produce conclusive proof of owning the property.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
This ruling of the Environment and Land Court at Nairobi (B M Eboso J) determined two competing applications for interlocutory injunctions in a dispute over Land Reference Number 209/12151 in Parklands, Nairobi, part of which was compulsorily acquired in December 2015 by the Kenya Urban Roads Authority through the National Land Commission for the Nairobi Eastern Missing Link Roads Project. The defendant, identified by the Commission as proprietor under Grant No 65237, received Kshs 31,826,480 as compensation. The plaintiff, claiming to be the genuine proprietor, sued for a permanent injunction, damages for trespass, refund of the compensation, accrued rent, interest and costs, and sought interlocutory relief by a notice of motion dated 30/9/2019. The defendant counter-applied on 27/4/2020 for injunctions against the plaintiff in respect of the suit property and a neighbouring parcel. Applying Giella v Cassman Brown as articulated in Mrao Ltd and Nguruman Limited, the court found the plaintiff's ownership documents doubtful: the certificate of title bore no grant number or registration evidence; the 1997 letter of allotment purportedly issued by the Nairobi City Commission, which ceased to exist in 1992; and the 1998 allotment referenced an unidentified county council though the land fell within the City Council of Nairobi. The plaintiff thus failed to discharge its burden under Section 107 of the Evidence Act to produce conclusive evidence of registration. The defendant's application failed because it was not anchored on a counter-claim, raised a new cause of action over a different property, and lacked conclusive evidence of ownership, she having admitted her interest was compulsorily acquired. Both applications were dismissed with each party bearing their own costs; the main suit remains pending.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the plaintiff established a prima facie case for interlocutory relief

Holding

No - the ownership documents presented (a certificate of title without grant number or registration evidence, and two letters of allotment) were doubtful, including a letter of allotment attributed to the Nairobi City Commission which ceased to exist in December 1992

Reasoning

The court examined the plaintiff's title documents and found the certificate of title bore no grant number nor evidence of registration. The 1997 letter of allotment was issued by a commission that had ceased to exist in 1992, and the 1998 allotment attributed the property to an unidentified county council when it fell within the City Council of Nairobi. Section 107 of the Evidence Act placed the burden of conclusive proof of registration on the plaintiff, which was not discharged.

p. 2
02

Whether the defendant's application could be granted absent a counter-claim

Holding

No - the application was not anchored on any pending claim, and its first prayer raised a new cause of action over a different property

Reasoning

While a court may grant injunctive relief to a defendant without a counter-claim under Order 40(1)(a) of the Civil Procedure Rules, the defendant must still lay a basis for such relief. The defendant filed no counter-claim; prayer 4 concerned LR 209/12150, a different parcel; and she admitted her interest in 209/12151 had been compulsorily acquired, producing no conclusive evidence of ownership of either parcel.

p. 3
03

The applicable principles for interlocutory injunctions

Holding

The Giella v Cassman Brown principles apply: prima facie case with probability of success, irreparable damage not compensable by damages, and balance of convenience in case of doubt

Reasoning

The court restated the settled principles from Giella v Cassman Brown, Mrao Ltd v First American Bank of Kenya and Nguruman Limited, adopting the Mrao definition of a prima facie case as one showing an apparent infringement of a right with probability of success at trial, higher than an arguable case. Because both applicants failed the first limb, the court did not consider the second and third limbs.

p. 2

Legal principles established

#
  • An applicant seeking protection of a registered interest in land whose registration is challenged must place conclusive evidence of registration (official search and certified copy of title) before the court under Section 107 of the Evidence Act
  • At interlocutory stage the court makes no conclusive findings on the substantive suit

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The plaintiff's application dated 30/9/2019 is dismissed for lack of merit
  2. 2.The defendant's application dated 27/4/2020 is, similarly, dismissed for lack of merit
  3. 3.Parties shall bear their respective costs relating to the two applications

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Evidence ActSection 107
  • Civil Procedure RulesOrder 40(1)(a), Order 40 rule 1(a)

Cases cited (3)

  • Giella v Cassman Brown Company Limited
    [1973] EA 358
  • Mrao Ltd. V First American Bank of Kenya Ltd & 2 others
    [2003] KLR 125
  • Nguruman Limited v Jan Bonde Nielson & Others
    [2014] eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over land disputes; interlocutory jurisdiction under Order 40(1)(a) of the Civil Procedure Rules

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "United Care Limited v Roseline Njeri Macharia; National Land Commission (Interested Party) [2021] KEELC 3029 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2021). Not stated in the judgment (plaint dated 30/9/2019). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2021/3029/eng@2021-05-26

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.