Skip to content
AI-generated case briefs sourced from Kenya Law · Not legal advice
AI-generated case brief
Case Brief · caselaw.co.ke
ELCAllowedNot stated in judgment (Notice of Motion dated 23rd July, 2018)· [2021] KEELC 2370 (KLR)

County Government of Tana River v Farah Ali Ibrahim & 3 others [2021] KEELC 2370 (KLR)

Environment and Land Court
30 July 2021
3,086 words in judgment
View original judgmentRead on Kenya Law Watch case
AI-assisted case brief
·~12 min to read original · ~4 min brief

The bottom line

#

A Kenyan court blocked the sale and fencing of unregistered community land, confirming that long occupation never turns it into private property.

What this practically means

#

Executive summary

#
The County Government of Tana River, as Plaintiff/Applicant, moved the Environment and Land Court at Garissa by Notice of Motion dated 23rd July, 2018 seeking a temporary injunction restraining the Respondents from clearing, fencing, transferring, disposing of or otherwise interfering with an unsurveyed parcel of land at Faf Bare Village, Tana River County, allegedly held in trust for the local community. The Applicant, through its County Attorney Isaiah Ndisi Munje, asserted the land was unregistered community land held in trust under Section 6 of the Community Land Act, and that the 2nd-4th Respondents had purported to sell it to the 1st Respondent under a sale agreement dated 12th March, 2018. The 1st Respondent opposed, claiming he had bought a surveyed private portion from the Bitacha family, owners for over 80 years, registered as a self-help group, and that an injunction would ruin his crops. The court applied the Giella v Cassman Brown principles. It found the Respondents' sketch map unauthenticated and of no evidentiary value, and no proof of any registration process. Relying on Section 10(3) of the Community Land Act and Article 63 of the Constitution, the court held that until community land is registered it remains community land held in trust by the County Government, and that mere occupation does not crystallise private title. A prima facie case, irreparable harm to the Munyoyaya Community's ancestral land, and the balance of convenience all favoured the Applicant. The Notice of Motion was allowed, the interim orders of 23/7/2018 were confirmed pending determination of the suit, with costs to the Respondents jointly and severally.

Key legal issues

#
01

Whether the suit property is unregistered community land held in trust by the County Government

Holding

Yes; the land is un surveyed and unregistered community land held by the County Government in trust for the Munyoyaya Community

Reasoning

The court applied Section 10(3) of the Community Land Act and Article 63 of the Constitution, which provide that until community land is registered it remains community land held in trust by the County Government. The Respondents' sketch map was not authenticated by the Director of Survey under the Survey Act, and no evidence of a registration process was produced. Long occupation by the 2nd-4th Respondents did not convert the land into private land.

p. 4
02

Whether the Applicant met the Giella principles for an interlocutory injunction

Holding

All three principles satisfied: prima facie case established, irreparable harm shown as ancestral land is not adequately compensable by damages, and balance of convenience favours the Applicant

Reasoning

Applying Giella v Cassman Brown, the court found a prima facie case from the trust status of the land. Irreparable harm was established because ancestral community land passed between generations and used for livelihoods and cultural sites cannot be compensated by damages; the averments were uncontroverted. The court additionally held the balance of convenience tilted in favour of granting the injunction.

p. 5

Legal principles established

#
  • Until community land is registered under the Community Land Act, it remains community land held in trust by the County Government on behalf of the communities
  • Long occupation of unregistered community land does not crystallise into private proprietorship or confer a right of disposal

Court orders

#
  1. 1.The interim orders issued on 23/7/2018 are confirmed pending hearing and determination of the suit
  2. 2.Temporary injunction restraining the Respondents from clearing bushes, dealing in, trespassing, fencing, transferring, disposing, erecting structures or otherwise interfering with the suit property pending determination of the substantive suit
  3. 3.The costs of the application to be borne by the Respondents jointly and severally

Authorities

#

Legislation

  • Constitution of Kenya, 2010Article 63(2)(d)
  • Constitution of Kenya, 2010Article 61(2)
  • Constitution of Kenya, 2010Article 63(3)
  • Constitution of Kenya, 2010Article 40
  • Community Land Act No. 27 of 2016Section 6
  • Community Land Act No. 27 of 2016Section 12
  • Community Land Act No. 27 of 2016Section 10(3)
  • Community Land RegulationsRegulation 12
  • Survey Act, 2010Section 2

Cases cited (7)

  • Giella –Vs- Cassman Brown Co. Limited
    (1973) EA 358
  • MRAO LTD –VS- FIRST AMERICAN BANK OF KENYA LTD & 2 OTHERS
    (2003) KLR 125
  • NGURUMAN LIMITED –VS- JAN BONDE NIELSEN & 2 OTHERS
    (2014) eKLR
  • HABIB BANK AG ZURICH –VS- EUGENE MARION ENERGY KENYA LIMITED –VS- MALOBA PETROL STATION LIMITED & 3 OTHERS
    (2015) eKLR
  • American Cyanamid –Vs- Ethicon Limited
    (1975) AC 396
  • Bahola Mkalindi Rhigho & 9 Others –Vs- Michael Seth Kaseme & 3 Others
    (2016) eKLR
  • Naftali Ruth Kinyua –Vs- Patrick Thuita Gachure & Another
    (2015) eKLR
Jurisdiction invoked
Original civil jurisdiction of the Environment and Land Court over disputes relating to community land within Tana River County (Article 162(2)(b) context; land held in trust by the County Government under Section 10(3) of the Community Land Act and Article 63(3) of the Constitution)

Key timeline

#

Practical implications

#

Frequently asked questions

#

Cite this brief

#

Cite this brief

Caselaw, "County Government of Tana River v Farah Ali Ibrahim & 3 others [2021] KEELC 2370 (KLR)", Case Analysis (2021). Not stated in judgment (Notice of Motion dated 23rd July, 2018). Source: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/keelc/2021/2370/eng@2021-07-30

Suggested citation format for research notes or client memos. Always verify the original judgment before relying on any point.